Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2000두6268

Revocation of Disposition Suspending Disability Pension Payment (장해연금지급중지처분취소)장해연금지급중지처분취소

Decided2001. 07. 13. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) — ruling in favor of the worker's right to receive the full disability pension
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker who was receiving a disability pension (장해연금) under industrial accident compensation insurance won a separate civil lawsuit for damages against a third party, in which the equivalent of a lump-sum disability benefit (장해일시금) was deducted from his compensation. The Supreme Court (대법원) ruled that because the pension and lump-sum benefit have equal overall value, the deduction of the lump-sum amount in the civil suit should be treated as if the full value of the pension had already been deducted—meaning the worker was still entitled to receive his full disability pension going forward, not a reduced amount. The Court reversed the lower court's decision, which had wrongly held that only a partial pension should be paid, and remanded the case.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker injured on the job received a disability pension, then won a civil lawsuit against a third party for damages, in which the lump-sum equivalent of the disability benefit was subtracted from his award.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court held that since the pension and lump-sum benefit are equal in value, the deduction in the civil case was equivalent to deducting the full pension amount—so the worker must still receive his full pension going forward.
  • LessonWorkers who receive third-party damages after an industrial accident should know that having a lump-sum benefit deducted from that award does not permanently reduce their ongoing pension entitlement.
Issues
  • Scope of continued disability pension (장해보상연금) payments when a recipient has already had the equivalent lump-sum benefit (장해보상일시금) deducted from civil damages for lost earnings
  • Whether the disability pension and the disability lump-sum benefit have equal overall economic value
  • Proper interpretation of the proviso to Article 48(3) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) regarding prevention of double compensation
Key reasoning

The disability pension (장해보상연금) and the disability lump-sum benefit (장해보상일시금) under Korea's Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) differ only in their method of payment—one paid periodically, the other paid at once—but their total value is equivalent. Therefore, when a worker who receives a civil damages award has had the lump-sum equivalent deducted from that award (to prevent double compensation), this should be treated as equivalent to having deducted the full value of the pension itself. Consequently, to properly implement the statute's anti-double-payment rule under Article 48(3) proviso, the full disability pension must continue to be paid thereafter, rather than only a reduced portion. The lower court's reasoning—that only part of the pension should be paid because only the lump-sum amount was deducted—improperly treated the two benefit types as having different values, which was a legal error.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Considering the purport of each provision under Article 4 Subparagraph 1, Article 38 Paragraph 1 Subparagraph 3, Article 42 Paragraphs 1 and 2, and Article 48 Paragraphs 2 and 3 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before amendment by Act No. 6100 of December 31, 1999), and in particular, in light of the fact that the distinction between disability compensation pension and lump-sum payment is nothing more than a difference in the method of paying disability benefits; that, except in special cases, the choice between pension and lump-sum payment depends on the intention of the person entitled to receive the benefit; and that, in the case of a pension beneficiary, the amount equivalent to the lump-sum payment is deducted from the damages, it is reasonable to view that, under the said Act, the disability compensation pension and the disability compensation lump-sum payment are equal in value as a whole. Accordingly, where, in calculating damages under the Civil Act (민법) or other laws arising from the same cause with respect to a disability compensation pension beneficiary, an amount equivalent to the lump-sum payment has been deducted, it should be deemed that an amount equivalent to the entire pension has been deducted, and therefore, in order to conform with the purport of the prohibition on duplicate payment, the disability compensation pension as insurance benefit under the said Act must be paid in full. It is reasonable to interpret that the proviso of Article 48 Paragraph 3 of the said Act, corresponding to the latter part of Paragraph 2 of the same Article, provides for this purport as a cautionary provision.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,659 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Daejeon High Court Decision 99Nu1227 delivered on June 23, 2000

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Daejeon High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

Under Article 4, Item 1, Article 38, Paragraph 1, Item 3, and Article 42, Paragraphs 1 and 2 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (Sanjaeoje Bosang Bohum-beop) (before amendment by Act No. 6100 of December 31, 1999), a worker who has suffered a disability due to an occupational accident is to receive, as disability benefits under industrial accident compensation insurance, either a disability compensation pension or a disability compensation lump-sum payment in accordance with the standards for disability grades prescribed by Presidential Decree, and, except in cases where a pension is paid to a worker with a disability grade corresponding to complete loss of working capacity as prescribed by Presidential Decree, the beneficiary is entitled to choose between the pension and the lump-sum payment. In addition, under the first sentence of Article 48, Paragraph 2, and the main text of Paragraph 3, of the same Act, a beneficiary of insurance benefits under this Act may not receive, in duplication for the same cause, both insurance benefits under this Act and damages under the Civil Act (Minbeop) or other statutes from the insured employer.

Furthermore, as a means of avoiding such duplicate payment where a worker is receiving a disability compensation pension, the latter part of Article 48, Paragraph 2 of the Act provides that where a person receiving a disability compensation pension receives damages under the Civil Act or other statutes, such person shall be deemed to have received a disability compensation lump-sum payment, and the amount equivalent to such lump-sum payment shall be deducted from the damages. Correspondingly, the proviso to Paragraph 3 of the same Article provides that, where the amount equivalent to the disability compensation lump-sum payment has been deducted in the calculation of damages for a pension beneficiary in this manner, the portion of the pension corresponding to that lump-sum amount shall nonetheless be paid.

Considering the purport of these provisions—in particular, the fact that the distinction between the disability compensation pension and the lump-sum payment is merely a difference in the method of payment of disability benefits; that, except in special cases, the choice between the pension and the lump-sum payment depends on the beneficiary's own intention; and that, in the case of a pension beneficiary, the amount equivalent to the lump-sum payment is to be deducted from the damages—it is reasonable to conclude that, under the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, the disability compensation pension and the disability compensation lump-sum payment are of equal value as a whole. Accordingly, where, in calculating damages under the Civil Act or other statutes for the same cause with respect to a disability compensation pension beneficiary, an amount equivalent to the lump-sum payment has been deducted, this should be regarded as equivalent to a deduction of an amount corresponding to the entire pension; and it is only when the entire amount of the disability compensation pension as insurance benefit under this Act is paid that this accords with the purport of the prohibition on duplicate payment as discussed above. It is proper to construe the proviso to Article 48, Paragraph 3 of the Act as merely restating, for clarification, this purport in correspondence with the latter part of Paragraph 2 of the same Article.

According to the reasoning of the judgment below and of the first-instance judgment cited therein, the court below determined as follows: where a beneficiary who suffered an occupational accident and was receiving a disability compensation pension received damages with the amount equivalent to the lump-sum payment deducted therefrom, the amount of disability compensation pension corresponding to the disability compensation lump-sum payment that the disability compensation pension beneficiary is deemed to have received under the proviso to Article 48, Paragraph 3 of the Act (this amount being the pension amount for the period converted, into a pension period, from the number of days corresponding to the disability compensation lump-sum payment deducted upon receipt of damages in the civil action) shall be paid; and that, as for the period of disability compensation pension corresponding to the portion of the damages equivalent to lost income, received after deduction of the amount equivalent to the disability compensation lump-sum payment, the right to claim the pension is extinguished pursuant to the main text of the same paragraph. However, this determination by the court below is erroneous in that it misapprehends the legal principles concerning the prohibition on duplicate payment of insurance benefits and damages, and the nature of the disability compensation pension, as discussed above, and it is clear that this error affected the judgment. The part of the grounds of appeal pointing this out is well-founded.

Therefore, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination, this Decision being rendered by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices, as set forth in the Order.

Justice Lee Kyu-hong (Presiding Justice), Song Jin-hoon (Justice in charge), Yoon Jae-sik, Son Ji-yeol

【판결요지】

구 산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호, 제38조 제1항 제3호, 제42조 제1항, 제2항, 제48조 제2항, 제3항의 각 규정의 취지, 특히 장해보상연금과 일시금의 구별은 장해급여의 지급방법상 차이에 따른 것에 불과한 점, 특별한 경우를 제외하고는 연금과 일시금의 선택은 수급권자의 의사에 달려 있는 점과 연금수급권자의 경우에는 손해배상금에서 그 일시금 상당액을 공제하도록 한 점 등을 종합하면, 같은 법상 장해보상연금과 장해보상일시금은 그 전체로서 가치가 같다고 보는 것이 타당하고, 따라서 장해보상연금 수급권자에 대하여 동일한 사유로 인한 민법 등에 의한 손해배상금을 산정하면서 그 일시금 상당액을 공제한 경우에는 그 연금 전액에 상당한 금액이 공제된 것으로 보아 같은 법에 의한 보험급여로서의 장해보상연금은 그 전액이 지급되어야만 중복지급 금지의 취지에 부합되고, 같은 법 제48조 제3항 단서는 같은 조 제2항 후단에 대응하여 이러한 취지를 주의적으로 규정한 것이라고 해석함이 상당하다.

【참조조문】

구 산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호, 제38조 제1항 제3호, 제42조 제1항, 제2항, 제48조 제2항, 제3항, 구 산업재해보상보험법시행령(2000. 2. 14. 대통령령 제16709호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제44조

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,855자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 대전고법 2000. 6. 23. 선고 99누1227 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 대전고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

구 산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호, 제38조 제1항 제3호, 제42조 제1항, 제2항의 규정에 의하면, 업무상 재해로 인하여 장해를 입은 근로자는 산업재해보상보험에 의한 보험급여인 장해급여로서 대통령령으로 정한 장해등급의 기준에 따라 장해보상연금 또는 장해보상일시금을 지급받고, 대통령령이 정하는 노동력을 완전히 상실한 장해등급의 근로자에 대하여 연금을 지급하는 경우를 제외하고는 그 수급권자가 연금과 일시금을 선택하도록 되어 있으며, 이 법 제48조 제2항 전단, 제3항 본문의 규정에 의하면, 이 법에 의한 보험급여의 수급권자는 동일한 사유에 대하여 이 법에 의한 보험급여와 보험가입자로부터의 민법 기타 법령에 의한 손해배상을 중복하여 지급받을 수 없도록 되어 있다.

또한, 근로자가 장해보상연금을 지급받고 있는 경우에 이러한 중복지급을 피하기 위한 방법으로써, 이 법 제48조 제2항 후단은 장해보상연금을 받고 있는 자가 민법 기타 법령에 의한 손해배상을 받게 되는 경우에는 장해보상일시금을 받은 것으로 보아 그 일시금 상당액을 손해배상금에서 공제하도록 하면서, 이에 맞추어 같은 조 제3항 단서에서는 이와 같이 연금의 수급권자가 손해배상금의 산정시에 장해보상일시금 상당액이 공제된 경우에는 그 일시금에 해당하는 연금액에 대하여는 이를 지급하도록 규정하고 있다.

이러한 각 규정의 취지, 특히 장해보상연금과 일시금의 구별은 장해급여의 지급방법상 차이에 따른 것에 불과한 점, 특별한 경우를 제외하고는 연금과 일시금의 선택은 수급권자의 의사에 달려 있는 점과 연금수급권자의 경우에는 손해배상금에서 그 일시금 상당액을 공제하도록 한 점 등을 종합하면, 구 산업재해보상보험법상 장해보상연금과 장해보상일시금은 그 전체로서 가치가 같다고 보는 것이 타당하고, 따라서 장해보상연금 수급권자에 대하여 동일한 사유로 인한 민법 등에 의한 손해배상금을 산정하면서 그 일시금 상당액을 공제한 경우에는 그 연금 전액에 상당한 금액이 공제된 것으로 보아 이 법에 의한 보험급여로서의 장해보상연금은 그 전액이 지급되어야만 앞서 본 바와 같은 중복지급 금지의 취지에 부합되고, 이 법 제48조 제3항 단서는 같은 조 제2항 후단에 대응하여 이러한 취지를 주의적으로 규정한 것이라고 해석함이 상당하다.

원심판결과 원심이 인용한 제1심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 업무상 재해를 입고 장해보상연금을 받고 있던 수급권자가 손해배상금을 지급받으면서 그 일시금 상당액을 공제한 경우에는 이 법 제48조 제3항 단서에 의하여 장해보상연금 수급권자가 지급받은 것으로 보게 되는 장해보상일시금에 해당하는 장해보상연금액(그 금액은 민사소송에서 손해배상금을 수령할 시에 공제된 장해보상일시금 상당 일수를 연금기간으로 환산한 기간 동안의 연금액이다.)은 지급되고, 장해보상일시금 상당을 공제하고 수령한 손해배상금 중 일실수입 상당에 해당하는 장해보상연금 기간 동안은 같은 항 본문에 의하여 연금청구권이 소멸한다고 판단하였는바, 이러한 원심의 판단은 앞서 본 바와 같은 보험급여와 손해배상의 중복지급 금지와 장해보상연금의 성격에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법을 저지른 것으로서, 이는 판결에 영향을 미쳤음이 분명하다. 상고이유 중 이를 지적하는 부분은 이유 있다.

그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 다시 심리·판단하게 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이규홍(재판장) 송진훈(주심) 윤재식 손지열

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2009누15953 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
장해연금지급정지결정처분취소
#2
2009구단501 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해연금지급정지결정처분취소
#3
2019구합85362 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해연금부지금처분취소
#4
2005두7501 · 대법원 2007-06-15
Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Compensation Pe
#5
2012두26142 · 대법원 2015-04-16
장해보상연금개시일자결정처분취소

Cases citing this decision

2024다210783 · 대법원 2024-06-13
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2016다41869 · 대법원 2018-10-04
Damages (Industrial Accident)
2015다253184, 253191 · 대법원 2018-10-04
채무부존재확인·손해배상(기)
2005두7501 · 대법원 2007-06-15
Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Compensation Pe
2000다3958 · 대법원 2001-09-25
Damages (Other)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)