Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2005두7501

Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Compensation Pension장해보상연금부지급처분취소

Decided2007. 06. 15. Court대법원Worker lost (근로자 패소)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case addressed whether the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단)'s obligation to pay disability benefits is extinguished when an injured worker settles with the party who caused the industrial accident, receiving only partial compensation and waiving the remainder of the claim. The Korean Supreme Court ruled that if the total damages the worker could have received exceeded the amount of the disability benefit, the Service's payment obligation is entirely extinguished—regardless of whether the worker chose a lump-sum payment or a pension. As a result, the worker lost the case.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker injured in an industrial accident caused by a third party settled for partial compensation and waived the rest of the damages claim, then sought disability benefits from the Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court held that if the worker's total recoverable damages exceeded the disability benefit amount, the Service's obligation to pay was completely extinguished, regardless of the payment method chosen.
  • LessonWorkers should carefully calculate the full value of potential third-party damages before settling, as accepting partial compensation and waiving the remainder can eliminate their right to workers' compensation benefits entirely.
Issues
  • Scope of extinguishment of the Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service's benefit payment obligation when a worker waives part of a damages claim in an industrial accident caused by a third party's wrongful act
  • Whether a lump-sum disability compensation payment and a disability compensation pension should be treated equally under this rule
Key reasoning

Under Korean law, when a worker suffers an industrial accident caused by a third party's wrongful act, and the true amount of property damage recoverable from that third party exceeds the disability benefit amount, the Service's obligation to pay disability benefits is fully extinguished—even if the worker only recovers part of that amount through a settlement and gives up the rest of the claim. This is because the law aims to prevent double compensation for the same loss. The Court also clarified that a lump-sum disability compensation payment (장해보상일시금) and a disability compensation pension (장해보상연금) are treated identically for this purpose, since they represent the same underlying value and differ only in the method of payment (one-time payment vs. installments). Therefore, the worker's choice between the two payment methods does not affect the extinguishment analysis.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Where an insurance benefit payment obligation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) arises due to an accident caused by a third party's tortious act, in light of the legislative purpose and content of Article 54(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, which aims to prevent the beneficiary of insurance benefits from receiving duplicate compensation through both insurance benefits and damages from the third party, to prevent the liable third party from evading liability, and to secure the insurance finances, if the beneficiary of insurance benefits received a certain amount of money from the third party in relation to their own property damage and agreed to waive or release the remainder of the claim, or waived the third party's entire property damage compensation obligation without receiving any payment at all, then the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service is discharged from its obligation to pay insurance benefits within the limit of the true amount of property damage (limited to the scope related to the insurance benefit items) that the beneficiary could have recovered from the third party due to the accident. Since the disability compensation lump sum and the disability compensation pension, both of which are disability benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, differ only in their method of payment while being identical in their overall value, the two must be treated identically in determining the scope of extinguishment of the obligation to pay disability benefits.

[2] In a case where a worker who suffered an accident due to a third party's tortious act could have received damages equivalent to lost income exceeding the amount of the disability benefit lump sum from the third party, but received only a portion thereof and agreed to waive the remainder of the claim, the court held that the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service's obligation to pay disability benefits is entirely extinguished, regardless of which of the disability compensation lump sum or the disability compensation pension the worker chose.

Full text (English, AI translation) 4,788 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff (Attorney Han Gi-jun, Counsel for the Plaintiff)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 2004Nu10717 decided June 14, 2005

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

In light of the legislative purpose and the content of Article 54(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), which is intended to prevent a person entitled to receive insurance benefits from obtaining duplicate compensation through both insurance benefits and damages from a third party, to prevent a liable third party from evading liability, and to secure the insurance finances, in a case where an obligation to pay insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act arises due to an accident caused by the tortious act of a third party: if the person entitled to receive insurance benefits has received from the third party a certain amount of money in connection with his or her own property damages and has agreed to waive or release the remaining claim, or has released the third party from the entire obligation to compensate for property damages without receiving any payment at all, then the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) is relieved of its obligation to pay insurance benefits to the extent of the true amount of property damages (limited to the scope related to the items of insurance benefits) that the person entitled to receive benefits could have recovered from the third party as a result of the accident (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 76Da2119 delivered on February 14, 1978; Supreme Court Decision 2000Du918 delivered on August 18, 2000, etc.). Moreover, since the lump-sum disability compensation (장해보상일시금) and the disability compensation pension (장해보상연금), both of which constitute disability benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, differ only in their method of payment while being identical in overall value, the two must be treated identically in determining the scope of extinguishment of the obligation to pay disability benefits (see Supreme Court Decision 2000Du6268 delivered on July 13, 2001; Supreme Court Decision 2001Da666 delivered on November 30, 2001; Constitutional Court Decision 2004Hunba97 delivered on November 24, 2005, etc.).

Accordingly, where a worker who suffered an accident due to the tortious act of a third party has received from the third party a certain amount of money in connection with damages equivalent to lost income and has agreed to waive or release the remaining claim, or has released the third party from the entire obligation to compensate for damages equivalent to lost income without receiving any payment at all, if the true amount of damages equivalent to lost income that the worker could have recovered from the third party as a result of the accident exceeds the amount of disability benefits (equivalent to the lump-sum disability compensation) that the worker could receive, then the obligation of the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service to pay disability benefits is entirely extinguished, regardless of whether the worker chose the lump-sum disability compensation or the disability compensation pension. This conclusion is not altered merely because the proviso of Article 42(3) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act designates the disability compensation pension as the principal method of paying disability benefits.

The court below, in the same vein, determined that the amount of damages equivalent to lost income that the Plaintiff could have received from the tortfeasor, the non-party, at the time of the settlement in this case was calculated at KRW 288,995,873, whereas the lump-sum amount of disability benefits that the Plaintiff could receive from the Defendant was only KRW 147,290,702; and that, since the Plaintiff agreed to receive only KRW 120,000,000 from the non-party and not to claim the remainder of the damages, the Defendant's obligation to pay disability benefits was entirely extinguished. This determination is justified, and there is no error in the judgment below, as alleged in the grounds of appeal, based on a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning whether, or to what extent, the obligation to pay the disability compensation pension was extinguished. All of the grounds of appeal are rejected.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and it is so decided as stated in the Order by the unanimous consent of the Justices participating in the decision.

Justice Park Si-hwan (Presiding Justice), Kim Yong-dam, Park Il-hwan, Kim Neung-hwan (Justice in charge)

【판결요지】

[1] 제3자의 불법행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험급여 지급의무가 발생한 경우 보험급여의 수급권자가 보험급여와 제3자에 의한 손해배상에 의하여 중복전보를 받는 것과 유책의 제3자가 그 책임을 면탈하는 것을 방지하고 보험재정의 확보를 꾀하려는 데 목적이 있는 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제2항의 입법 취지와 그 규정 내용에 비추어 볼 때, 보험급여의 수급권자가 제3자로부터 자신의 재산상 손해배상과 관련된 일정한 금원을 지급받고 나머지 청구를 포기 또는 면제하기로 하였거나 혹은 이를 전혀 지급받지 않은 채 제3자의 재산상 손해배상의무 전부를 면제하여 주었다면, 수급권자가 그 재해로 인하여 제3자로부터 배상받을 수 있는 진정한 재산상 손해액(보험급여 항목과 관련된 범위에 국한된다)의 한도 내에서 근로복지공단은 보험급여의 지급의무를 면하게 되고, 산업재해보상보험법상 장해급여인 장해보상일시금과 장해보상연금은 지급방법에 차이가 있을 뿐 그 전체로서의 가치는 동일하므로 장해급여 지급의무 소멸 범위를 판단함에 있어 양자는 동일하게 취급되어야 한다.

[2] 제3자의 불법행위로 재해를 입은 근로자가 제3자로부터 장해급여일시금을 초과하는 액수의 일실수입 상당 손해배상금을 수령할 수 있었음에도 그 중 일부만을 수령하고 나머지 청구는 포기하기로 합의한 사안에서, 근로자가 장해보상일시금과 장해보상연금 중 어느 것을 선택하였는지와 무관하게 근로복지공단의 장해급여 지급의무가 전부 소멸한다고 한 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제48조(현행 제52조 참조), 제54조(현행 제58조 참조)

[2] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제42조(현행 제40조 참조), 제48조(현행 제52조 참조), 제54조(현행 제58조 참조)

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1978. 2. 14. 선고 76다2119 전원합의체 판결(공1978상, 10668), 대법원 2000. 8. 18. 선고 2000두918 판결(공2000하, 2018), 대법원 2001. 7. 13. 선고 2000두6268 판결(공2001하, 1866), 헌법재판소 2005. 11. 24. 선고 2004헌바97 전원재판부 결정(헌공110, 1222)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,655자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 변호사 한기준)

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 2005. 6. 14. 선고 2004누10717 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고가 부담한다.

【이 유】상고이유를 판단한다.

제3자의 불법행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험급여 지급의무가 발생한 경우 보험급여의 수급권자가 보험급여와 제3자에 의한 손해배상에 의하여 중복전보를 받는 것과 유책의 제3자가 그 책임을 면탈하는 것을 방지하고 보험재정의 확보를 꾀하려는 데 목적이 있는 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제2항의 입법 취지와 그 규정 내용에 비추어 볼 때, 보험급여의 수급권자가 제3자로부터 자신의 재산상 손해배상과 관련된 일정한 금원을 지급받고 나머지 청구를 포기 또는 면제하기로 하였거나 혹은 이를 전혀 지급받지 않은 채 제3자의 재산상 손해배상의무 전부를 면제하여 주었다면, 수급권자가 그 재해로 인하여 제3자로부터 배상받을 수 있는 진정한 재산상 손해액(보험급여 항목과 관련된 범위에 국한된다)의 한도 내에서 근로복지공단은 보험급여의 지급의무를 면하게 된다고 볼 것이고(대법원 1978. 2. 14. 선고 76다2119 전원합의체 판결, 2000. 8. 18. 선고 2000두918 판결 등 참조), 산업재해보상보험법상 장해급여인 장해보상일시금과 장해보상연금은 지급방법에 차이가 있을 뿐 그 전체로서의 가치는 동일하므로 장해급여 지급의무 소멸 범위를 판단함에 있어 양자는 동일하게 취급되어야 한다(대법원 2001. 7. 13. 선고 2000두6268 판결, 2001. 11. 30. 선고 2001다666 판결, 헌법재판소 2005. 11. 24. 선고 2004헌바97 결정 등 참조).

따라서 제3자의 불법행위에 의하여 재해를 당한 근로자가 제3자로부터 일실수입 상당 손해배상과 관련하여 일정한 금원을 지급받고 나머지 청구를 포기 또는 면제하기로 하였거나 혹은 이를 전혀 지급받지 않은 채 제3자의 일실수입 상당 손해배상의무 전부를 면제해 준 경우, 근로자가 그 재해로 인하여 제3자로부터 배상받을 수 있는 진정한 일실수입 상당 손해배상액이 근로자가 지급받을 수 있는 장해급여액(장해보상일시금 상당액)을 초과한다면 근로자가 장해보상일시금과 장해보상연금 중 어느 쪽을 선택하였는가와는 무관하게 근로복지공단의 장해급여 지급의무는 모두 소멸한다고 할 것이고, 산업재해보상보험법 제42조 제3항 단서가 장해보상연금을 원칙적인 장해급여 지급방법으로 규정하고 있다고 하여 달리 볼 것은 아니다.

원심이 같은 취지에서, 원고가 이 사건 합의 당시 가해자인 소외인으로부터 지급받을 수 있었던 일실수입 상당 손해배상액은 288,995,873원으로 산정되는 반면, 피고로부터 수령할 수 있는 장해급여 일시금액은 147,290,702원에 불과한데도 원고가 소외인으로부터 120,000,000원만을 지급받고 나머지 손해배상을 청구하지 아니하기로 합의하였으므로 피고의 장해급여 지급의무는 모두 소멸하였다고 본 것은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유에서 주장하는 바와 같은 장해보상연금 지급의무 소멸 여부 또는 소멸 범위에 관한 법리오해 등의 위법은 없다. 상고이유는 모두 받아들이지 않는다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 박시환(재판장) 김용담 박일환 김능환(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2004누10717 · 서울고등법원 2005-06-14
장해보상연금부지급처분취소
#2
2022구단52914 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해급여일부부지급처분취소
#3
2017구합51783 · 춘천지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Benefits
#4
2019누57642 · 서울고등법원 2020-05-07
장해연금지급처분취소 청구의 소
#5
2007구단16564 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해보상금부지급처분취소

Cases citing this decision

2024다210783 · 대법원 2024-06-13
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2021다241618 · 대법원 2022-03-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2016다41869 · 대법원 2018-10-04
Damages (Industrial Accident)
2015다253184, 253191 · 대법원 2018-10-04
채무부존재확인·손해배상(기)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)