Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 97누13016

Revocation of Disapproval of Workers' Compensation Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취소)요양불승인처분취소

Decided1997. 11. 14. Court대법원Employer (the association) won; the disapproval of the workers' compensation claim was upheld as lawful.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved a person who donated his privately-owned bus to a bus operators' association (사단법인), joined as a member, and then managed and operated the bus. The issue was whether he qualified as an 'employee' covered under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). The Supreme Court ruled that since there was no relationship of employment subordination (사용종속관계) between him and the association, he was not an employee but rather an independent business operator, and therefore the association's disapproval of his workers' compensation claim was lawful.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA bus owner donated his vehicle to an association, joined as a member, and worked managing/operating the bus, then filed for industrial accident compensation.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court held he was an independent business operator, not an employee, so the denial of his workers' compensation claim was valid.
  • LessonOwning your own work equipment and operating independently—without real direction and control from another party—can disqualify you from employee status and industrial accident insurance protection.
Issues
  • Whether the claimant qualified as an 'employee' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법)
  • Whether a relationship of employment subordination (사용종속관계) existed between the claimant and the incorporated association (사단법인)
Key reasoning

Under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), whether a person qualifies as an 'employee' must be determined by comprehensively considering factors such as: whether the employer directed and supervised the work, whether working hours and location were fixed by the employer, whether the work could be delegated to others, who owned the tools/equipment used for work (in this case, the bus), the nature of the compensation received, and the degree of exclusivity of the working relationship. Applying these factors, the Court found that the claimant owned and registered his own vehicle under a commissioned operation arrangement (지입) and ran his transportation business independently, rather than being subject to the association's direction and control. Accordingly, he was properly classified as a self-employed business owner (사업주), not a subordinate employee entitled to industrial accident insurance coverage.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Article 49(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) provides that insurance benefits under Articles 40 through 44 of the same Act shall be paid to the worker concerned or his/her bereaved family, and Article 4(2) of the same Act provides that "worker" under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act means a worker under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). Therefore, in order to be a person eligible for insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, one must have been a worker under the Labor Standards Act at the time of the accident. In determining whether a person falls under the category of worker under the Labor Standards Act, the following factors must be comprehensively considered: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and is subject to employment rules, service regulations, personnel regulations, etc.; whether, in the course of performing the work, the person is subject to specific and individual direction and supervision by the employer; whether working hours and place of work are designated by the employer and the person is bound thereby; whether there is substitutability of work, such as the worker himself/herself hiring a third person to perform the work on his/her behalf; the ownership relationship regarding equipment, raw materials, work tools, etc.; matters concerning remuneration, such as whether the remuneration has the character of consideration for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed wage is set, and whether income tax is withheld at source; the continuity of the labor supply relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation to the employer; whether the person's status as a worker is recognized under other statutes, such as those concerning the social security system; and the economic and social conditions of both parties.

[2] The nonprofit corporation ○○○ Transportation Association (사단법인 ○○○수송협회), to which the deceased belonged at the time of the accident in question, was established with permission from the Minister of National Defense as a nonprofit corporation for the purpose of enrolling owners of private buses as members and using their buses to transport personnel of state agencies, such as reservists, defense servicemen, and police forces; it obtained a limited license for automobile transportation business and thereby engaged in the chartered bus transportation business within a limited scope, and thereafter changed its name to △△ Transport Co., Ltd. (사단법인 △△수송), and, upon the enforcement of the amended Automobile Transport Business Act (자동차운수사업법) in February 1995, converted into a stock company. The deceased donated his own privately owned bus to the said corporation, joined it as a member, was designated as the manager of the bus, and directly managed and operated it, engaging in tasks such as transporting defense servicemen to and from work, until he suffered the accident in question. The said corporation received requests for transportation services from military units, etc., and assigned the transportation services to be handled by each member, but did not separately establish remuneration regulations for its members; each member, including the member in question, directly collected the income from the transportation services he performed from the military units, etc., and deposited it with the said corporation through the treasurer designated for each unit or region, whereupon the said corporation, after deducting taxes, public charges, and the corporation's own expenses and other costs, paid the remaining full amount to the member who had performed the transportation. Considering these circumstances comprehensively, it is held that it is difficult to view the member of the said corporation as having been, at the time of the accident, a worker who provided labor for wages under the subordination and control of the said nonprofit corporation, ○○○ Transportation Association; rather, it is reasonable to view him as a business owner who operated his own business by registering (지입) his vehicle with the said corporation.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,620 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant]

[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단)

[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Judgment 96Gu32975, decided July 8, 1997

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds of appeal.

Article 49, Paragraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) provides that insurance benefits under Articles 40 through 44 of the Act shall be paid to the relevant worker or his/her bereaved family, and Article 4, Item 2 of the same Act provides that "worker" under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act means a worker as defined under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). Accordingly, in order to be a person eligible for insurance benefits under the provisions of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, one must have been a worker under the provisions of the Labor Standards Act at the time of the accident. In determining whether a person falls under the category of "worker" under the Labor Standards Act, the following matters must be comprehensively considered: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and whether the person is subject to work rules, service regulations, personnel regulations, etc.; whether the person is subject to specific and individual direction and supervision by the employer in the course of performing the work; whether working hours and place of work are designated by the employer and whether the person is bound thereby; whether the work is substitutable, such as whether the worker himself may hire a third party to perform the work on his behalf; the ownership relationship of equipment, raw materials, work tools, etc.; matters concerning remuneration, such as whether the remuneration has the character of consideration for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed wage is set, and whether income tax is withheld at source; the continuity of the labor-provision relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation with the employer; whether the person's status as a worker is recognized under other statutes, such as those concerning the social security system; and the economic and social conditions of both parties (see this Court's Decisions 96Nu1504, decided June 11, 1996; 96Do732, decided July 30, 1996; 96Nu1795, decided February 14, 1997, etc.).

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found, based on the evidence cited, as follows: the ○○○ Transport Association (사단법인 ○○○수송협회), a non-profit corporation to which the Plaintiff belonged at the time of the accident in this case, was established on November 2, 1981, with permission for establishment from the Minister of National Defense, for the purpose of admitting as members persons owning private buses and using such buses to transport personnel of state agencies, such as reservists, security corps soldiers, and police forces; that on December 30, 1990, it obtained a limited license for automobile transport business and thereby came to operate a chartered bus transport business within a limited scope; that on August 2, 1994, it changed its name to ○○ Transport Co., Ltd. (사단법인 △△수송); and that when the amended Automobile Transport Business Act (자동차운수사업법) came into force in February 1995, it was converted into a stock company. The court below further found that on November 30, 1989, the Plaintiff donated his own private bus to the said corporation, joined it as a member, was designated as the manager of the said bus, and directly managed and operated it himself, engaging in work such as transporting security corps soldiers belonging to the 72nd Division of the Army to and from work, until he suffered the accident in this case on February 3, 1993; that the said corporation, upon receiving requests for transport services from military units, etc., assigned to each member the transport service to be handled, but did not separately establish remuneration regulations for its members; that the Plaintiff and other members each directly collected the fares for the transport services they performed from the military units, etc., and deposited them with the said corporation through a treasurer designated for each unit or region, whereupon the corporation, after deducting taxes, public charges, the corporation's own expenses, and other costs, paid the entire remaining amount to the member who performed the relevant transport; and that, in addition, on Saturday afternoons, Sundays, and other holidays when no transport assignment was designated, each member, without being subject to the control of the said corporation, offered the bus under his management as a chartered bus for picnics, group tours, weddings, sixtieth birthday celebrations, etc., thereby earning personal income.

Having synthesized the above findings, the court below determined that it was difficult to view the Plaintiff, at the time of the accident, as a worker who was subordinate to and under the control and management of the said ○○○ Reservist Transport Association and who provided labor for the purpose of receiving wages; rather, it was proper to view the Plaintiff as a business owner who operated his own business by placing his vehicle under the name of the said corporation ("jiip"). Accordingly, the court below determined that the Plaintiff was not a person eligible for insurance benefits under the provisions of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act at the time of the accident, and thus the Defendant's disposition disapproving the Plaintiff's application for medical care benefits was lawful, and dismissed the Plaintiff's claim in this case seeking revocation of the said disposition.

Upon examination of the record, the above fact-finding by the court below is justified, and, in light of such facts, the determination by the court below that the Plaintiff cannot be regarded as a worker of the said ○○○ Transport Association is likewise justified, being consistent with the view of this Court set forth above. There is no illegality therein, such as a violation of the rules of evidence or a misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the concept of "worker," as alleged in the grounds of appeal. The argument is without merit.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices as set forth in the Order.

Justice Lee Yong-hun (Presiding Justice), Jeong Gwi-ho, Park Jun-seo (Justice in charge), Kim Hyeong-seon

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제49조 제1항은 같은 법 제40조 내지 제44조의 규정에 의한 보험급여는 당해 근로자나 그 유족에게 지급한다고 규정하고 있고, 같은 법 제4조 제2호는 산업재해보상보험법상 근로자라 함은 근로기준법에 의한 근로자를 말한다고 규정하고 있으므로 산업재해보상보험법의 규정에 의한 보험급여의 대상자가 되기 위해서는 재해 당시에 근로기준법의 규정에 의한 근로자이어야 한다고 할 것인바, 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당되는지를 판단함에 있어서는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙 또는 복무규정·인사규정 등의 적용을 받으며, 업무수행과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적이고 개별적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재·작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수가 근로 자체의 대상적 성격을 갖고 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제·사회적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 판단하여야 한다.

[2] 당해 재해 당시 소속하고 있던 사단법인 ○○○수송협회는 자가용 버스를 소유한 자들을 회원으로 가입시켜 그 버스로 예비군 및 방위병과 경찰병력 등 국가기관의 인력을 수송할 목적으로 국방부장관으로부터 설립허가를 받아 설립한 비영리법인인데 자동차운송사업 한정면허를 받아 한정된 범위 내에서 전세버스운송사업을 영위하게 되었고, 그 후 그 명칭을 사단법인 △△수송으로 변경하였으며, 1995. 2. 개정된 자동차운수사업법이 시행되자 주식회사로 전환한 점, 당해인이 그 소유의 자가용 버스를 위 법인에 기증하고 그 회원으로 가입하여 위 버스에 대한 관리자로 지정받아 이를 직접 관리·운행하여 방위병들을 출·퇴근시키는 등의 일을 하여 오다가 당해 재해를 당한 점, 위 법인은 군부대 등으로부터 운송용역의 의뢰를 받고 각 회원들에게 담당할 운송용역을 지정해 주었으나 회원들에 대한 보수규정을 따로 두지 않고 있었고, 위 법인 회원을 비롯한 각 회원들은 자신들이 한 운송에 따른 수입금을 군부대 등으로부터 직접 수금하여 각 부대 또는 지역별로 지정된 총무를 통하여 위 법인에 입금시키면 위 법인은 제세공과금과 위 법인의 경비 등 제비용을 공제하고 난 나머지 전액을 운송을 한 해당회원에게 지급하는 형태로 운영한 점 등을 종합하면, 위 법인 회원은 당해 재해 당시 위 사단법인 ○○○수송협회에 종속하여 그 지배·관리하에 임금을 목적으로 근로를 제공하는 근로자이었다고 보기 어렵고, 오히려 자신의 차량을 위 법인에 지입하여 자신의 영업을 영위하는 사업주에 해당하였다고 봄이 상당하다고 한 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제2호, 제40조, 제41조, 제42조, 제43조, 제44조, 제49조 제1항, 구 근로기준법(1997. 3. 13. 법률 제5309호로 제정되기 전의 것) 제14조

【참조판례】

[1][2] 대법원 1996. 6. 11. 선고 96누1504 판결(공1996하, 2211), 대법원 1996. 7. 30. 선고 96도732 판결(공1996하, 2754), 대법원 1997. 2. 14. 선고 96누1795 판결(공1997상, 786)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,370자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,상고인】

【피고,피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 1997. 7. 8. 선고 96구32975 판결

【주문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이유】 상고이유를 본다.

산업재해보상보험법 제49조 제1항은 법 제40조 내지 제44조의 규정에 의한 보험급여는 당해 근로자나 그 유족에게 지급한다고 규정하고 있고, 같은 법 제4조 제2호는 산업재해보상보험법상 근로자라 함은 근로기준법에 의한 근로자를 말한다고 규정하고 있으므로 산업재해보상보험법의 규정에 의한 보험급여의 대상자가 되기 위해서는 재해 당시에 근로기준법의 규정에 의한 근로자이어야 한다고 할 것인바, 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당되는지를 판단함에 있어서는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙 또는 복무규정·인사규정 등의 적용을 받으며, 업무수행과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적이고 개별적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재·작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수가 근로 자체의 대상적 성격을 갖고 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제·사회적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 판단하여야 할 것이다( 당원 1996. 6. 11. 선고 96누1504 판결, 1996. 7. 30. 선고 96도732 판결, 1997. 2. 14. 선고 96누1795 판결 등 참조).

원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 거시 증거에 의하여 이 사건 재해 당시 원고가 소속하고 있던 사단법인 ○○○수송협회는 자가용 버스를 소유한 자들을 회원으로 가입시켜 그 버스로 예비군 및 방위병과 경찰병력 등 국가기관의 인력을 수송할 목적으로 1981. 11. 2. 국방부장관으로부터 설립허가를 받아 설립한 비영리법인인데, 1990. 12. 30. 자동차운송사업 한정면허를 받아 한정된 범위 내에서 전세버스운송사업을 영위하게 되었고, 1994. 8. 2. 그 명칭을 사단법인 △△수송으로 변경하였으며, 1995. 2. 개정된 자동차운수사업법이 시행되자 주식회사로 전환한 사실, 원고는 1989. 11. 30. 그 소유의 자가용 버스를 위 법인에 기증하고 그 회원으로 가입하여 위 버스에 대한 관리자로 지정받아 이를 직접 관리·운행하여 육군 제72사단 소속 방위병들을 출·퇴근시키는 등의 일을 하여 오다가 1993. 2. 3. 이 사건 재해를 당한 사실, 위 법인은 군부대 등으로부터 운송용역의 의뢰를 받고 각 회원들에게 담당할 운송용역을 지정해 주었으나 회원들에 대한 보수규정을 따로 두지 않고 있었고, 원고를 비롯한 각 회원들은 자신들이 한 운송에 따른 수입금을 군부대 등으로부터 직접 수금하여 각 부대 또는 지역별로 지정된 총무를 통하여 위 법인에 입금시키면 위 법인은 제세공과금과 위 법인의 경비 등 제비용을 공제하고 난 나머지 전액을 운송을 한 해당회원에게 지급하는 형태로 운영한 사실, 또한 각 회원들은 토요일 오후와 일요일 등 공휴일에 지정된 운송이 없는 경우 위 법인의 통제를 받지 않고 자신들이 관리하는 버스를 야유회, 단체관광, 결혼식, 회갑연 등에 전세버스로 제공하여 개인수입을 얻고 있었던 사실 등을 인정한 다음, 위 인정 사실을 종합하면 원고는 이 사건 재해 당시 위 사단법인 예비군수송협회에 종속하여 그 지배·관리하에 임금을 목적으로 근로를 제공하는 근로자이었다고 보기 어렵고, 오히려 자신의 차량을 위 법인에 지입하여 자신의 영업을 영위하는 사업주에 해당하였다고 봄이 상당하다고 판단하여, 원고는 이 사건 재해 당시 산업재해보상보험법의 규정에 의한 보험급여의 대상자가 아니었다고 할 것이므로 원고의 요양신청을 불승인한 피고의 이 사건 처분은 결국 적법하다 하여 위 처분의 취소를 구하는 원고의 이 사건 청구를 기각하였다.

기록에 의하여 살펴보면 원심의 위 사실인정은 정당하고, 그 사실관계에 의하면 원고가 위 사단법인 ○○○수송협회의 근로자에 해당한다고 볼 수 없다고 본 원심의 판단 역시 당원의 위 견해에 부합하는 것으로서 정당하며, 거기에 소론과 같은 채증법칙 위배, 근로자의 개념에 관한 법리오해 등의 위법이 있다 할 수 없다. 논지는 이유 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이용훈(재판장) 정귀호 박준서(주심) 김형선

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2017구단61112 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
요양불승인처분취소 청구의 소
#2
2012누17041 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
2021구단68813 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#4
2012구단19277 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#5
2018구단63351 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Cases citing this decision

2001도2778 · 대법원 2001-08-21
Violation of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법위반)
98두9219 · 대법원 2000-01-28
Revocation of Reexamination Decision on Unfair Dismissal Rel
97다17575 · 대법원 1997-12-26
Severance Pay (퇴직금) Case
97다7998 · 대법원 1997-11-28
Severance Pay (퇴직금) Case

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)