Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 92누17181

Case Seeking Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취소)요양불승인처분취소

Decided1993. 04. 13. Court대법원Reversed and remanded (worker's case sent back for further proceedings in the worker's favor)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case establishes that even if a prior decision revoking industrial accident medical care benefits (요양급여) has become final and unappealable, the underlying right to claim such benefits is not extinguished. A worker may file a new claim for medical care benefits within the statute of limitations, and if that new claim is denied, the worker can challenge the denial as a new, separate administrative disposition.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker's industrial accident medical care benefits were revoked, and this revocation became final after the appeal period passed without challenge.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the worker could still file a new claim for benefits within the limitation period, and any refusal of that new claim could be separately contested in court.
  • LessonWorkers should know that a final administrative decision denying benefits does not permanently bar future claims—new applications remain possible until the statute of limitations runs out.
Issues
  • The scope and effect of finality of an administrative disposition once the appeal period has expired
  • Whether a worker may file a new claim for medical care benefits after a prior disposition revoking such benefits has become final
Key reasoning

The Supreme Court held that the finality (확정력) of an administrative disposition only means that the disposition itself can no longer be contested through appeal; it does not, unlike the res judicata effect (기판력) of a court judgment, permanently fix the underlying facts or legal relationships on which the disposition was based. Because the earlier revocation of benefits did not conclusively settle the worker's underlying right to compensation, a new application for medical care benefits remains possible as long as the statutory limitation period has not expired. If the new application is again refused, this refusal constitutes a fresh administrative disposition that can be independently challenged in court, regardless of the earlier final decision.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

a. Where an administrative disposition or an administrative appeal ruling (재결) becomes final due to the expiration of the period for objection, such finality merely means that the person whose legal interests were infringed by the disposition can no longer contest the effect of the disposition or ruling; it does not mean that res judicata, such as that recognized for judgments, arises. Accordingly, the factual relationship or legal determination underlying the disposition does not thereby become fixed so as to bind the parties or the court and preclude them from making contradictory assertions or determinations.

b. Even if a prior disposition revoking industrial accident medical care compensation benefits (산업재해요양보상급여취소처분) has become final due to the expiration of the period for objection, this does not mean that the legal relationship to the effect that there is no right to claim medical care benefits has thereby become fixed. As long as the claim is not barred by the statute of limitations, the claimant may again request medical care benefits, and if such request is denied, this constitutes a new refusal disposition whose illegality may be challenged in court.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,051 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant]

[Defendant, Appellee] Head of the Seoul Dongbu Regional Labor Office
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 92Gu13105, decided October 8, 1992

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

(1) According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below noted that Article 3 of the Act on Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Affairs and Examination (산업재해보상보험업무및심사에관한법률) provides that a person who has an objection to insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) may request an examination from the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Examiner, and a person who has an objection to the decision thereon may request a re-examination from the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Examination Committee, and a person who has an objection to the ruling thereon may file an administrative litigation (Paragraph 1); and that the request for examination under Paragraph 1 is governed by Article 18 of the Administrative Appeals Act (행정심판법), while a request for re-examination may be filed within 60 days from the date on which the person became aware of the decision on the request for examination (Paragraph 2). In light of these provisions, the court below premised that where a person who has received a decision on insurance benefits from the head of a local labor office fails to pursue remedies such as a request for examination within the prescribed period, or, even having pursued remedies such as requests for examination and re-examination, fails to file an administrative litigation within the prescribed period, the decision on insurance benefits becomes final, and the party can no longer dispute the insurance benefit relationship based on the same grounds. On this premise, with respect to the plaintiff's action in this case seeking revocation of the disposition of November 28, 1991 disapproving re-treatment, the court below dismissed the action as unlawful, reasoning that since the plaintiff had requested examination and re-examination of the prior disposition of November 27, 1989 revoking approval of re-treatment, received a decision of dismissal, and failed to file an administrative litigation, the disposition revoking approval of re-treatment—to the effect that the plaintiff had no right to claim re-treatment benefits—had become final, and therefore the plaintiff could no longer dispute the re-treatment benefit relationship based on the same grounds.

(2) The Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act provides only that the right to receive insurance benefits shall be extinguished by prescription if not exercised within three years, and contains no other provision restricting the exercise of that right. The Act on Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Affairs and Examination was enacted for the purpose of ensuring fairness in insurance benefits by providing for matters concerning the examination of objections to insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. This Act merely provides special rules, different from the Administrative Appeals Act applicable to general administrative dispositions, regarding the period and procedure for objection and the examination (re-examination) authorities that a person who has an objection to a decision on insurance benefits must go through; it contains no special provision, different from the Administrative Appeals Act, concerning the effect of a disposition relating to insurance benefits or of an examination (re-examination) decision on such disposition. Accordingly, there is no indication that a disposition relating to industrial accident compensation insurance benefits, or an examination (re-examination) decision thereon, which has become final due to the expiration of the period for objection, has any special finality different from that which attaches when a general administrative disposition or an administrative appeal ruling becomes final.

(3) However, in general, when an administrative disposition or an administrative appeal ruling becomes final due to the expiration of the period for objection, such finality merely means that the person whose legal interests were infringed by the disposition can no longer dispute the effect of the disposition or ruling; it does not go so far as to grant res judicata effect as in the case of a judgment, such that the factual relationship or legal determination underlying the disposition becomes fixed and the parties or the court are bound thereby and precluded from making contradictory assertions or determinations.

(4) Therefore, even if the prior disposition revoking approval of industrial accident treatment benefits became final due to the expiration of the period for objection, this does not mean that the legal relationship to the effect that there is no right to claim treatment benefits has thereby become fixed. The plaintiff may, so long as the claim is not barred by extinctive prescription, again request treatment benefits, and if such request is refused, this constitutes a new refusal disposition, the illegality of which may be challenged in litigation. Nevertheless, the court below denied this and dismissed the action, and such judgment below contains an error of misapprehending the legal principles concerning the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act or the Act on Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Affairs and Examination, and the legal principles concerning the effect of a final general administrative disposition or administrative appeal ruling, and it is clear that this error affected the judgment. The argument is well-founded.

(5) Accordingly, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below. This judgment is rendered by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices, as stated in the Order.

Justice Choi Jae-ho (Presiding Justice), Bae Man-un, Kim Seok-su (Justice in charge), Choi Jong-yeong

【판결요지】

가. 행정처분이나 행정심판 재결이 불복기간의 경과로 인하여 확정될 경우 확정력은 처분으로 인하여 법률상 이익을 침해받은 자가 처분이나 재결의 효력을 더 이상 다툴 수 없다는 의미일 뿐 판결에 있어서와 같은 기판력이 인정되는 것은 아니어서 처분의 기초가 된 사실관계나 법률적 판단이 확정되고 당사자들이나 법원이 이에 기속되어 모순되는 주장이나 판단을 할 수 없게 되는 것은 아니다.

나. 종전의 산업재해요양보상급여취소처분이 불복기간의 경과로 인하여 확정되었더라도 요양급여청구권이 없다는 내용의 법률관계까지 확정된 것은 아니며 소멸시효에 걸리지 아니한 이상 다시 요양급여를 청구할 수 있고 그것이 거부된 경우 이는 새로운 거부처분으로서 위법 여부를 소구할 수 있다.

【참조조문】

행정심판법 제37조, 산업재해보상보험업무및심사에관한법률 제3조

【참조판례】

나. 대법원 1991.6.11. 선고 91누10292 판결(공1991,1935), 1992.10.27. 선고 92누1643 판결(공1992,3314), 1992.12.8. 선고 92누7542 판결(공1993,470)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,153자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】

【피고, 피상고인】 서울동부지방노동사무소장

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1992.10.8. 선고 92구13105 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

(1) 원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심은 산업재해보상보험업무및심사에관한법률 제3조에 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 보험급여에 이의가 있는 자는 산업재해보상보험 심사관에게 심사를 청구하고 그 결정에 이의가 있는 자는 산업재해보상보험 심사위원회에 재심사를 청구하고 그 재결에 이의가 있는 자는 행정소송을 제기할 수 있으며( 제1항), 제1항의 규정에 의한 심사의 청구는 행정심판법 제18조에 의하고 재심사의 청구는 심사의 청구에 대한 결정이 있음을 안 날로부터 60일 이내에 제기할 수 있는 것으로( 제2항) 규정되어 있음에 비추어 볼 때, 지방노동관서의 장으로부터 보험급여에 관한 결정을 받은 자가 이에 대하여 소정의 기간 내에 심사청구 등의 불복절차를 취하지 아니한 경우 또는 심사청구와 재심청구 등의 불복절차를 취하였다 하더라도 소정의 기간 내에 행정소송을 제기하지 아니한 경우에는 보험급여에 관한 결정이 확정되고, 당사자로서는 동일한 사유를 원인으로 하는 보험급여관계에 대하여는 더 이상 다툴 수 없다고 전제하고, 이 사건 1991. 11. 28.자 재요양불승인처분의 취소를 구하는 원고의 이 사건 소에 대하여, 원고가 이 사건 처분이 있기 전의 1989. 11. 27.자 재요양승인취소처분에 대하여 심사청구와 재심사청구를 하여 기각결정을 받고도 행정소송을 제기치 아니하여 재요양급여청구권이 없다는 내용의 재요양승인취소처분이 확정되었으므로 원고로서는 동일한 사유를 원인으로 하는 재요양급여관계에 대하여는 더 이상 다툴 수 없다는 이유로 이 사건 소를 부적법하다 하여 각하하였다.

(2) 산업재해보상보험법은 보험급여를 받을 권리는 3년 간 행사하지 않으면 소멸시효가 완성된다고 규정하는 외 그 권리의 행사를 제한하는 별다른 규정을 두지 않고 있고, 산업재해보상보험업무및심사에관한법률은 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 보험급여에 관한 이의의 심사에 관한 사항을 규정함으로써 보험급여의 공정을 기함을 목적으로 하여 제정된 법률로서 보험급여에 관한 결정에 이의가 있는 자가 거쳐야 할 행정심판에 관하여 그 불복기간과 절차, 심사(재심사)기관 등에 대하여 일반 행정처분에 관한 행정심판법과 다른 특별규정을 두고 있을 뿐 보험급여에 관한 처분이나 그 처분에 대한 심사(재심사)결정의 효력에 대하여 행정심판법과 다른 어떤 특별규정을 두고 있지 않으므로, 산업재해보상보험금 관련 처분이라 하여 그 처분이나 그에 대한 심사(재심사)결정이 불복기간의 경과로 확정된 경우 그 확정력에 있어서 일반 행정처분이나 행정심판 재결이 확정된 경우와 다른 특별한 효력이 있는 것으로는 보이지 않는다.

(3) 그런데, 일반적으로 행정처분이나 행정심판 재결이 불복기간의 경과로 인하여 확정될 경우 그 확정력은, 그 처분으로 인하여 법률상 이익을 침해받은 자가 당해 처분이나 재결의 효력을 더 이상 다툴 수 없다는 의미일 뿐, 더 나아가 판결에 있어서와 같은 기판력이 인정되는 것은 아니어서 그 처분의 기초가 된 사실관계나 법률적 판단이 확정되고 당사자들이나 법원이 이에 기속되어 모순되는 주장이나 판단을 할 수 없게 되는 것은 아니다.

(4) 따라서 종전의 산업재해요양보상급여취소처분이 불복기간의 경과로 인하여 확정되었더라도 요양급여청구권이 없다는 내용의 법률관계까지 확정된 것은 아니며 원고로서는 소멸시효에 걸리지 아니한 이상 다시 요양급여를 청구할 수 있고 그것이 거부된 경우 이는 새로운 거부처분으로서 그 위법여부를 소구할 수 있다고 하여야 할 것인데도 원심은 이를 부인하여 소를 각하하고 말았는바 이러한 원심판결에는 산업재해보상보험법이나 산업재해보상보험업무및심사에관한법률에 관한 법리나 일반 행정처분이나 행정심판 재결이 확정된 경우의 효력에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다 할 것이고 이러한 위법은 판결에도 영향을 미친 것이 분명하다. 논지는 이유 있다.

(5) 이에 원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 최재호(재판장) 배만운 김석수(주심) 최종영

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2003구단9056 · 서울행법 2004-06-25
휴업급여부지급결정처분취소
#2
2008구단14121 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
휴업급여부지급결정처분취소
#3
2013구단515 · 광주지방법원 0001-01-01
요양급여일부부지급결정처분 취소
#4
2008구단5165 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
요양급여등부지급처분취소
#5
2013구합2765 · 인천지방법원 0001-01-01
휴업급여청구서불승인처분취소

Cases citing this decision

2006두20808 · 대법원 2008-07-24
산재보험료부과처분취소등
2001구13446 · 서울행법 2002-05-30
대체지급보험급여금지급청구서반려처분취소
2000다2023 · 대법원 2000-04-25
Damages (Motor Vehicle)
93다38826 · 대법원 1994-05-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금등)
93누5437 · 대법원 1993-08-27
체당보험금부지급결정취소

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)