Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 91누10466

Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취소)요양불승인처분취소

Decided1992. 05. 12. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) - the lower court's decision denying recognition of the work-related injury was overturned, and the case was sent back for reconsideration in the worker's favor.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A bus driver who had worked at multiple workplaces developed liver cirrhosis and was denied recognition of it as a work-related injury/illness (업무상 재해) under industrial accident compensation insurance. The Supreme Court reversed the lower court's decision, holding that the worker's entire employment history across all workplaces must be considered together, and that aggravation of a pre-existing disease due to overwork can also qualify as a work-related injury.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA bus driver who worked at several different companies developed liver cirrhosis, but his claim for work-related injury benefits was denied.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that his full work history at all employers, not just his most recent job, had to be considered, and that overwork-induced aggravation of a pre-existing disease can count as a work-related injury.
  • LessonWhen evaluating occupational disease claims, employers and insurers must account for a worker's cumulative work history across all past employers, not just the current job.
Issues
  • The standard for determining substantial causation (상당인과관계) in recognizing a work-related injury or illness
  • The scope of consideration required when assessing an occupational disease claim by a worker who has worked at multiple workplaces
  • Whether a right to industrial accident insurance benefits can be recognized for a disease that manifests after the worker has already left employment
Key reasoning

The Supreme Court held that work-related injury or illness must be assessed based on the specific worker's individual circumstances, not those of an average person. For workers who have moved between multiple workplaces, all periods of employment and cumulative work conditions across those workplaces must be considered together in determining causation, rather than looking only at the most recent job. The Court further held that even a pre-existing disease, if aggravated by work-related overexertion or overwork, can constitute a compensable work-related injury under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. Applying an overly narrow, single-workplace analysis without considering the cumulative effect of the worker's full occupational history was therefore an error of law.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

a. The term “occupational injury” under Article 3(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to an injury, disease, physical disability, or death of a worker that arises from and is caused by the worker's business duties in the course of performing such duties; therefore, there must be a proximate causal relationship between the business duties and the occurrence of the accident. However, even where the injury is a pre-existing disease not directly related to the business duties, if mental and physical overwork from the business duties compounds the primary cause of the disease and thereby induces or aggravates it, such causal relationship should be deemed to exist. Furthermore, disease caused by overwork includes cases where a pre-existing disease, which would normally permit normal work, rapidly worsens beyond the natural course of the disease due to excessive workload. Whether a proximate causal relationship exists between the business duties and the disease should be determined not on the basis of an ordinary average person but on the basis of the health and physical condition of the worker concerned.

b. Where a worker who has worked while moving between several places of business contracts an occupational disease, and was engaged, at two or more places of business, in duties that carried a risk of causing the disease in question, then in recognizing the occupational disease, all duties experienced by the worker concerned under multiple employers must be included and used as material for the determination.

c. In light of the purpose set forth in Article 1 of the same Act, the grounds for payment set forth in Article 9 of the same Act, and the nature of the industrial accident compensation insurance system, a worker's right to receive insurance benefits (수급권, the right to benefits) under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act arises automatically when an occupational accident occurs, premised on the existence of an employment relationship with the business owner who is the insured party of the industrial accident compensation insurance. Moreover, since Article 16(1) of the same Act provides that the right to benefits does not extinguish by reason of retirement, even a disease newly arising after the termination of the employment relationship shall be deemed to give rise to a right to benefits if its cause is found to lie within the period of the employment relationship.

Full text (English, AI translation) 13,472 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant]

[Defendant, Appellee] Head of Seoul Seobu Regional Labor Office
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 90Gu16780 delivered on August 30, 1991

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. According to the reasoning of the judgment below, based on the evidence, the court below found the following facts: the Plaintiff joined the non-party ○○ Bus Transportation Co., Ltd., which operates a bus passenger transport business, as a driver on November 1, 1988, and worked as a driver of bus No. 146, which runs back and forth between Suchaek, Seoul and Seongnae-dong, Songpa-gu; the drivers of bus No. 146 were divided into a morning shift working from 04:30 to 14:30 and an afternoon shift working from 14:30 to 00:30, alternating between morning and afternoon shifts on consecutive days, with one day off per week, working 8 to 10 hours per day; the Plaintiff worked under the same conditions and content as other drivers of the non-party company; two days before the accident was the Plaintiff's day off, so he did not work; the day before the accident, he worked the morning shift; on February 21, 1989, the date of this accident, he was assigned to the afternoon shift and began work at 14:30, and while operating the assigned bus, he collapsed due to liver cirrhosis and rupture of esophageal varices and was hospitalized; when the Plaintiff joined the non-party company, he underwent a thorough physical examination including a liver function test and was found to have no abnormalities, and during his subsequent employment he never complained of any particular physical abnormality, so the exact cause and date of onset of the above disease could not be ascertained; and the above disease can be caused or aggravated by overwork, but can also be caused or aggravated by other factors. Based on these findings, the court below determined as follows: generally, bus driving work itself requires some degree of physical and mental tension, but in light of the working patterns of the drivers of the non-party company as described above, the degree of such tension does not appear to be so exceptionally excessive as to cause or aggravate a disease; moreover, the Plaintiff worked in the ordinary manner even around the time the onset of the disease was confirmed, without performing any particularly excessive work; and even if the driving work of the non-party company were of a nature to cause the drivers somewhat excessive fatigue, the Plaintiff had only been employed at the non-party company for a little over three months at the time the onset of the disease was confirmed, so it is difficult to view the work during that period alone as having caused or aggravated the above disease. In light of these points, the court below found it difficult to conclude that the Plaintiff's disease arose from work-related overexertion while working as a bus driver for the non-party company, and thus rejected the Plaintiff's claim in this case.

2. "Occupational accident" as referred to in Article 3(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) means an injury, disease, physical disability, or death of a worker arising from the work performed by the worker in the course of carrying out his duties; therefore, there must be a proximate causal relationship between the work and the occurrence of the accident. However, even if the accident involves a pre-existing disease unrelated to the work, if mental or physical overexertion related to the work has combined with the main cause of the disease to induce or aggravate the disease, such causal relationship should be recognized. Furthermore, disease caused by overwork includes cases where a pre-existing disease, which would normally allow for regular work, rapidly worsens beyond its natural progression due to excessive workload (see Supreme Court Decision 91Nu476 delivered on April 12, 1991). The existence of a proximate causal relationship between work and disease should be determined not on the basis of an ordinary average person, but on the basis of the health and physical condition of the worker concerned (see Supreme Court Decisions 91Nu5433 delivered on September 10, 1991; 91Nu3314 delivered on November 8, 1991, etc.).

Furthermore, in cases where a worker who has moved between multiple workplaces contracts an occupational disease and was engaged, at that workplace, in work that carries a risk of causing the disease in question, in recognizing the occupational disease, all work experienced by the worker under multiple employers must be included and used as material for consideration. A worker's right to receive insurance benefits (entitlement) under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act arises automatically upon the occurrence of an occupational accident, premised on the existence of an employment relationship with the business owner who is an insured person under industrial accident compensation insurance, in light of the purpose set forth in Article 1 of the said Act, the grounds for payment set forth in Article 9 of the said Act, and the nature of the industrial accident compensation insurance system. Since Article 16(1) of the said Act provides that the entitlement shall not be extinguished by reason of retirement, even a disease newly arising after the termination of the contractual relationship shall be subject to entitlement if it is recognized that its cause lies within the employment relationship.

3. According to the result of the factual inquiry to the director of △△ Hospital, which the court below cited as evidence, the cause of the Plaintiff's liver cirrhosis is unknown; patients with liver cirrhosis commonly develop esophageal varices which rupture from various causes, causing upper gastrointestinal bleeding; liver cirrhosis can be aggravated by overwork, and as liver cirrhosis worsens, the probability of esophageal variceal rupture may increase. Furthermore, considering the descriptions in Exhibit A No. 8-1 (medical certificate), Exhibit A No. 11 (duty schedule), Exhibit B No. 4 (written statement), and the testimony of Witness 1, it can be found that: generally, driving a city bus involves mental and physical tension; the drivers of bus No. 146, on which the Plaintiff worked, had only 5 to 10 minutes for meals during their shifts, and sometimes even skipped meals; three times a week, after finishing driving around 00:30, they slept at the dormitory located at the opposite terminal and resumed driving from 04:30, but since 15 drivers had to sleep together in the same dormitory and each driver returned at a different time after completing his run, they could not get proper sleep on the days they slept there; once a week, they had to work continuously for a day and a half, which would exhaust even a driver in normal health to the point of being unable to control his body; and the Plaintiff had continuously engaged in driving duties for a day and a half from the morning two days before this accident occurred (i.e., November 19) until the morning of the day before the accident (the court below found that the Plaintiff did not work two days before the accident because it was his day off, but it appears that "two days before" here refers to November 18). Furthermore, according to the description in Exhibit B No. 5-1 (written statement), which the court below did not reject, Non-party 1, who was the labor affairs manager of the non-party ○○ Bus Transportation Co., Ltd. at the time of this accident, stated that the Plaintiff submitted a medical certificate that did not include a liver health examination at the time of joining the company, so it was not possible to confirm whether there were any abnormalities; that he had heard from the dispatch supervisor that the Plaintiff occasionally received treatment because he was not feeling well; and that he had heard that when the Plaintiff received his initial diagnosis at □□□□ Hospital after this accident occurred, he told the attending physician, Non-party 2, that he had occasionally received blood transfusions; however, he stated that the Plaintiff had performed his driving duties according to his assigned working hours up until the time of this accident. According to the descriptions in Exhibit A Nos. 8-1, 2 (each a medical certificate) and the testimony of Witness 1, the Plaintiff received inpatient treatment until the 15th of the following month after this accident occurred, and his condition improved significantly, but thereafter esophageal variceal rupture and upper gastrointestinal bleeding symptoms recurred repeatedly, and he received inpatient treatment from December 12 to December 26, 1989, from February 27 to April 16, 1990, and from October 8 to October 20 of the same year, indicating that his health had significantly deteriorated. Meanwhile, in the brief dated July 26, 1991, which was stated at the 9th oral argument date in the court below, the Plaintiff also argued that even before this accident occurred, he had engaged in driving duties for city buses, etc., from August 1, 1974 to September 20, 1983 at the non-party ▼▼ Transportation, from September 25, 1983 to September 20, 1984 at the non-party ▲▲ Development Co., Ltd., for one year from April 1, 1985 at the non-party ◇◇ Transportation Co., Ltd., from September 1, 1986 to May 1, 1987 at the non-party ○○ Bus Transportation Co., Ltd., and for one year from August 1 of the same year at the non-party ☆☆ Transportation Co., Ltd.; that all of these transportation businesses were insured under industrial accident compensation insurance; and that the cumulative overexertion from working as a driver at these various bus transportation businesses was one of the causes of his vomiting blood and collapsing due to liver cirrhosis and esophageal variceal rupture.

If this is the case, then in the present case, the Plaintiff had a pre-existing disease of liver cirrhosis unrelated to the performance of his work duties, and although this occasionally caused bleeding symptoms, it does not appear that this condition was severe enough to interfere with the Plaintiff's normal performance of driving duties. Meanwhile, even if city bus driving is not excessively burdensome work for an ordinary average person, the driving work itself involves mental and physical tension. Therefore, if the Plaintiff continued to drive city buses while moving between various other bus transportation businesses as he claims, there is room to view that the fatigue accumulated therefrom, together with the fatigue accumulated from the poor working conditions in performing driving duties on the route he was engaged in at the time this accident occurred—such as irregularly alternating work and rest days and their time slots, uneven and short meal times, and severely insufficient sleep time—could, given the Plaintiff's health and physical condition, have been a cause of overexertion. Accordingly, unless there are other causes attributable to the Plaintiff apart from his driving duties, it could also be said that the above overexertion, combining with at least other principal causes, rapidly aggravated the Plaintiff's liver cirrhosis beyond its natural progression to a degree that made normal work impossible, and that this in turn accelerated and induced the rupture of the esophageal varices.

Therefore, in determining whether there was a proximate causal relationship between the work and the Plaintiff's disease, namely the above liver cirrhosis and esophageal variceal rupture, the court below should have, based on the Plaintiff's health and physical condition, examined in more detail the content of the working patterns of the driving duties the Plaintiff performed during the period he worked at the non-party ○○ Bus Transportation Co., Ltd., with which he had an employment relationship at the time this accident occurred, and clarified whether such work involved excessive mental or physical burden that caused overexertion, and whether this acted together as a factor in aggravating the liver cirrhosis. The court below should also have examined and determined whether the Plaintiff had worked at other transportation businesses prior to that, whether those transportation businesses were insured under industrial accident compensation insurance, and, if he had worked there, whether, in light of the period and content of such work, it involved excessive mental or physical burden that caused overexertion, and whether this acted together as one of the causes aggravating the liver cirrhosis. However, without reaching such examination, the court below rejected the Plaintiff's argument based solely on the reasons stated in its judgment. This constitutes a misunderstanding of the legal principles regarding occupational accidents under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, a failure to exhaust the examination of evidence, and an omission of judgment, which cannot but be said to have affected the judgment. The argument pointing out this error has merit.

Therefore, without rendering judgment on the remaining grounds of appeal, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order, with the unanimous agreement of the Justices involved.

Presiding Justice Kim Yong-jun, Justice Choi Jae-ho, Justice Yoon Kwan, Justice Kim Ju-han

【판결요지】

가. 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항에서 말하는 “업무상 재해”라 함은 근로자가 업무수행 중 그 업무로 기인하여 발생한 근로자의 부상, 질병, 신체장해 또는 사망을 뜻하는 것이므로 업무와 재해발생과의 사이에 상당인과관계가 있어야 하는 것이지만 그 재해가 업무와 직접 관련이 없는 기존의 질병이더라도 업무상의 정신적, 육체적 과로가 질병의 주된 발생원인에 겹쳐서 질병을 유발 또는 악화시켰다면 그 인과관계가 있다고 보아야 할 것이고, 또한 과로로 인한 질병에는 평소에 정상적인 근무가 가능한 기존질병이 업무의 과중으로 그 질병의 자연진행 정도를 넘어 급속히 악화된 경우까지도 포함된다고 할 것이며 업무와 질병 사이의 상당인과관계의 유무는 보통 평균인이 아니라 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 판단하여야 할 것이다.

나. 여러 개의 사업장을 옮겨 다니며 근무한 근로자가 업무상의 질병에 걸리고 그 2 이상의 사업장에서 당해 질병이 발생할 우려가 있는 업무에 종사하고 있었던 경우에 있어서의 업무상 질병을 인정할 때는 당해 근로자가 복수의 사용자 아래서 경험한 모든 업무를 포함시켜 그 자료로 삼아야 한다.

다. 근로자가 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험급여를 받을 권리(수급권)는 같은 법 제1조가 정하고 있는 목적과 같은 법 제9조가 정하고 있는 지급사유 및 산업재해보상보험제도의 본질에 비추어, 산업재해보상보험의 보험가입자인 사업주와 근로계약관계의 존재를 전제로 하여 업무상 재해가 생겼을 때 자동적으로 발생하며, 같은 법 제16조 제1항은 수급권은 그 퇴직을 이유로 소멸되지 아니한다고 규정하고 있으므로 계약관계종료 후에 새로이 발생한 질병등도 근로계약관계 중에 그 원인이 있다고 인정되는 경우에는 수급권이 있다 할 것이다.

【참조조문】

가.나. 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 / 다. 같은 법 제16조 제1항

【참조판례】

가. 대법원 1991.4.12. 선고 91누476 판결(공1991,1391), 1991.9.10. 선고 91누5433 판결(공1991,2548), 1991.11.8. 선고 91누3314 판결(공1992,131)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 5,203자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】

【피고, 피상고인】 서울서부지방노동사무소장

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1991.8.30. 선고 90구16780 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원심판결 이유에 의하면, 그 증거에 의하여 원고는 1988.11.1. 버스여객운송사업을 영위하는 소외 ○○여객자동차주식회사의 운전사로 입사하여 서울 수색과 송파구 성내동 사이를 왕복하는 146번 시내버스의 운전업무에 종사하여 왔고, 위 146번 시내버스운전사는 04:30부터 14:30까지 근무하는 오전반과 14:30부터 00:30까지 근무하는 오후반으로 나누어 하루는 오전반, 그 다음날은 오후반이 되고 1주일에 하루는 쉬는 형태로 근무를 함으로써 1일 8시간 내지 10시간 근무하였으므로 원고 역시 소외 회사의 다른 운전사와 동일한 조건과 내용으로 근로를 했는데 사고 이틀 전은 쉬는 날이라 근무를 하지 않았고 사고 전날은 오전반근무를 하였으며 이 사건 사고발생 당일인 1989.2.21.은 오후반근무에 해당되어 14:30부터 근무에 임하여 배차받은 버스를 운행하던 중 간경변증 및 식도정맥류파열로 졸도, 입원하게 된 사실, 원고는 소외 회사에 입사할 때 간기능검사를 포함한 정밀신체검사를 받았으나 아무런 이상이 없다는 판정을 받았고 그 동안의 근무 중에도 별다른 신체상의 이상을 호소한 일이 없어 위 질병의 정확한 발생원인과 발생일자 등을 알 수 없는 사실, 위 질병은 과로로 인하여 발병되거나 악화될 수도 있으나 다른 요인으로도 발병, 악화될 수 있는 사실 등을 각 인정한 다음 위 인정사실에 의하면, 일반적으로 버스운전 업무자체는 육체적, 정신적으로 다소 긴장을 요하는 업무라 할 것이지만 소외 회사운전사의 위와 같은 근무형태로 보아 그러한 정도는 그 업무가 질병을 유발 또는 악화시킬 정도로 특별히 과중한 것으로 보여지지 않는 데다가 원고는 위 발병확인 무렵에도 통상의 예에 따라 근무하였을 뿐 특별히 과중한 업무를 수행하지는 않았으며, 설령 소외 회사의 운전업무가 운전사에게 다소 과로를 줄 정도의 업무이었다 할지라도 원고는 위 발병확인 당시 소외 회사에 입사한지 3개월 남짓밖에 경과하지 않아 그 기간 동안의 업무만으로 위와 같은 질병이 유발 또는 악회되리라고 보기 어렵다 할 것이므로 그러한 점들에 비추어 볼 때 원고의 위 질병은 소외 회사의 버스운전사로 종사하던 중 업무상의 과로로 인하여 발생한 것으로 단정하기는 어렵다고 판단하여 원고의 이 사건 청구를 배척하였다.

2. 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항에서 말하는 “업무상 재해”라 함은 근로자가 업무수행중 그 업무로 기인하여 발생한 근로자의 부상, 질병, 신체장해 또는 사망을 뜻하는 것이므로 업무와 재해발생과의 사이에 상당인과관계가 있어야 하는 것이지만 그 재해가 업무와 직접 관련이 없는 기존의 질병이더라도 업무상의 정신적, 육체적 과로가 질병의 주된 발생원인에 겹쳐서 질병을 유발또는 악화시켰다면 그 인과관계가 있다고 보야야 할 것이고, 또한 과로로 인한 질병에는 평소에 정상적인 근무가 가능한 기존질병이 업무의 과중으로 그 질병의 자연진행 정도를 넘어 급속히 악화된 경우까지도 포함된다고 할 것이며 (당원 1991.4.12. 선고 91누476 판결 참조), 업무와 질병사이의 상당인과관계의 유무는 보통 평균인이 아니라 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 하여 판단하여야 할 것이다(당원 1991.9.10. 선고 91누5433 판결; 1991.11.8. 선고 91누3314 판결 등 참조).

그리고 여러 개의 사업장을 옮겨 다니며 근무한 근로자가 업무상의 질병에 걸리고 그 사업장에서 당해 질병이 발생할 우려가 있는 업무에 종사하고 있었던 경우에 있어서의 업무상 질병을 인정할 때는 당해 근로자가 복수의 사용자 아래서 경험한 모든 업무를 포함시켜 그 자료로 삼아야 하고 근로자가 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험급여를 받을 권리(수급권)는 같은 법 제1조가 정하고 있는 목적과 같은 법 제9조가 정하고 있는 지급사유 및 산업재해보상보험제도의 본질에 비추어, 산업재해보상보험의 보험가입자인 사업주와 근로계약관계의 존재를 전제로 하여 업무상 재해가 생겼을 때 자동적으로 발생하며, 같은 법 제16조 제1항은 수급권은 그 퇴직을 이유로 소멸되지 아니한다고 규정하고 있으므로 계약관계종료 후에 새로이 발생한 질병등도 근로계약관계 중에 그 원인이 있다고 인정되는 경우에는 수급권이 있다 할 것이다.

3. 원심이 증거로 든 △△병원장에 대한 사실조회결과에 의하면 원고에게 이환된 간경변증의 원인은 알 수 없고 간경변증 환자에게는 식도정맥류가 생겨 여러 원인으로 흔히 파열되어 상부위장관출혈을 일으키나 간경변증은 과로로 인하여 악화될 수 있고 간경변증이 악화됨으로써 식도정맥류파열이 발생할 확률이 더 많아질 수 있는 것으로 되어 있으며, 갑 제8호증의 1(진단서), 갑 제11호증(승무일정표), 을 제4호증(문답서)의 각 기재와 증인 1의 증언을 종합하면 일반적으로 시내버스운전중에는 정신적, 육체적으로 긴장이 될 뿐더러 원고가 종사한 146번 노선의 시내버스운전사들은 근무중 식사시간이 5분 내지 10분정도밖에 되지 않았고 그나마도 거르는 때도 있으며 1주일에 3회씩은 00:30경 운전을 끝내고 반대편 버스 종점 숙소에서 잠을 자고 04:30부터 또 다시 운전을 하는데 운전사 15명이 같은 숙소에서 함께 잠을 자야 하는데다 운전사마다 운행을 마치고 그곳에 돌아오는 시간이 서로 다르기 때문에 위 숙소에서 자는 날은 수면도 제대로 취할 수 없었고 1주일에 1회는 하루 반을 계속 근무하게 되어 건강이 정상인 운전사도 몸을 가누지 못할 지경으로 피곤한데 원고는 이 사건 재해가 발생하기 이틀전(즉 11.19.) 오전부터 사고 전날 오전까지 계속 하루 반을 운전업무에 종사한 사실(원심은 사고 이틀 전은 쉬는 날이라 근무를 하지 않았다고 인정하고 있으나 여기서 이틀전이란 11.18.을 두고 하는 말인 것 같다) 등을 인정할 수 있고, 원심이 배척하지 아니한 을 제5호증의 1(문답서)의 기재에 의하면 이 사건 재해발생 당시의 소외 ○○여객자동차주식회사 노무과장 소외 1은 원고가 입사시에 간에 대한 건강진단이 되어 있지 않은 진단서를 제출하여 그 이상 유무를 확인할 수 없었고, 원고는 몸이 좋지 않아서 가끔 치료를 받는다고 배차주임으로부터 들었으며 원고가 이 사건 재해발생 후 □□□□병원에서 최초진단을 받을 때 주치의 소외 2에게 가끔 수혈을 받은 적이 있다고 말하였다고 들었으나 원고가 이 사건 재해발생시까지 자기의 주어진 근무시간을 시켜서 운전업무를 수행하였다는것이고, 갑 제8호증의 1,2(각 진단서)의 기재와 증인 1의 증언에 의하면 원고는 이 사건 재해가 발생한 다음달 15.까지 입원치료를 받고 병세가 현저히 호전되었으나 그 후에도 식도정맥류파열과 상부위장관출혈 증세가 거듭발생하여 1989.12.12. 부터 같은 달 26. 까지, 1990.2.27. 부터 같은 해 4.16. 까지, 그리고 같은 해 10.8. 부터 해 10.20. 까지 입원치료를 받는 등 건강이 현저히 악화되었다는 것이며, 한편 원고는 원심 제9차 변론기일에진술된 1991.7. 26.자 준비서면에서 이 사건 재해가 발생하기 이전에도1974.8.1. 부터 1983.9.20. 까지 소외 ▼▼운수에서 1983. 9. 25.부터1984. 9. 20.까지 소외 ▲▲개발주식회사에서 1985.4.1. 부터 1년 간 소외 ◇◇운수주식회사에서 종사하였고 1986.9.1. 부터 1987.5.1. 까지 소외 ○○여객자동차주식회사에서 같은 해 8.1.부터 1년 간 소외 ☆☆운수주식회사에서 시내버스 등의 운전업무에 종사였는데 위 운송사업체들은 모두 산업재해보상보험의 보험가입자로서 위 여러 버스운송사업체의 운전사로 근무하여 오면서 누적된 과로도 간경변증 및 식도정맥류파열등으로 토혈을 하고 졸도를 하게 된 한 원인이 되었다는 취지로 주장하고 있다.

그렇다면 이 사건의 경우에 원고에게는 업무수행과 관련이 없는 기존질병으로 간경변증이 있었고 이로 인하여 출혈증상이 더러 있기는 하였어도 이 질환으로 원고가 정상적으로 운전업무를 수행하는데 지장을 줄 정도는 아니었다고 보여지고, 한편 시내버스 운전이 보통 평균인에게는 과중한 업무가 아니라고 하더라도 그 운전업무 자체는 정신적, 육체적 긴장을 수반하는 것이므로 원고가 그 주장과 같이 종전에 다른 여러 버스운송사업체를 전전하면서 시내버스운전을 계속하여 왔다면 그로 인하여 축적된 피로와, 이 사건 재해발생 당시 종사한 노선의 시내버스 운전업무에 종사함에 있어서 불규칙적으로 교대되는 근무와 휴무의 일자 및 그 시간대, 고르지 못하고 짧은 식사시간, 숙면시간의 태부족 등 열악한 업무여건에서 축적된 피로가, 원고의 건강과 신체조건으로 보아서는 과로의 원인이 되었다고 볼 여지도 있다 할 것이고 따라서 원고에게 운전업무 이외에 다른 사유가 인정되지 않는 한 위 과로가 적어도 다른 주된 원인과 겹쳐서 정상근무를 불가능하게 할 정도로 원고의 간경변증을 그 자연진행정도보다 급속히 악화시켰고 이로 인하여 식도정맥류파열이 촉진 유발 되었다고 할 수도 있을 것이다.

따라서 원심이 업무와 원고의 질병인 위 간경변증 및 식도정맥류파열과 사이에 상당인과관계가 있는지의 여부를 판단함에 있어서는, 원고의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 하여 원고가 이 사건 재해발생 당시 근로관계를 맺고 있던 소외 ○○여객자동차주식회사에서 근무한 기간 동안 종사한 운전업무의 근무형태의 내용에 대하여 더 자세히 심리하여 위와 같은 업무가 과도의 정신적 또는 육체적 부담을 수반하는 것으로서 과로의 원인이 되고 이것이 간경변증을 악화시키는 요인으로 함께 작용하였는지의 점까지 밝혀보고 원고가 그 이전에 다른 운송사업체에서 근무하였는지의 여부와 그 운송사업체가 산업재해보상보험의 보험가입자였는지의 여부 및 근무하였다면 그 기간과 업무내용에 미루어 그것이 원고에게 과도의 정신적, 육체적 부담을 수반하는 업무로서 과로의 원인이 되고 이것이 간경변증을 악화시키는 한 원인으로 함께 작용하였는지의 여부에 관하여도 심리판단 하였어야 옳을 것임에도 불구하고 이에 이르지 아니한 채, 판시와 같은 이유만으로 원고의 주장을 배척한 것은 산업재해보상보험법상의 업무상 재해에 관한 법리를 오해하여 심리를 다하지 아니하고 판단을 유탈하므로써 판결에 영향을 미쳤다고 하지 않을 수 없다. 이 점을 지적하는 주장은 이유 있다.

그러므로 나머지 상고이유에 관한 판단을 생략한 채 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 원심법원에 환송하기로 관여 법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김용준(재판장) 최재호 윤관 김주한

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2022구단461 · 창원지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#2
2016구단31169 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
부당이득징수결정처분취소
#3
2014다22574, 22581 · 대법원 2017-06-29
사해행위취소·사해행위취소
#4
91누10022 · 대법원 1992-05-12
Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취
#5
95다45934 · 대법원 1996-12-06
퇴직무효등

Cases citing this decision

2016두56134 · 대법원 2017-04-28
요양·보험급여결정승인처분취소
2009두5794 · 대법원 2010-01-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
97누16459 · 대법원 1999-04-23
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits and Fune
95구12677 · 서울고법 1996-04-02
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
92구7810 · 서울고법 1993-12-03
요양불승인처분취소청구사건

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)