Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 94다43351

Confirmation of Invalidity of Dismissal해고무효확인

Decided1995. 12. 05. Court대법원Case remanded to the lower court (worker's position favored; the automatic retirement was found potentially invalid as an unfair dismissal)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A regional medical insurance cooperative placed employees who had participated in a collective monthly leave (월차휴가) protest on suspension from duty (직위해제), and after three months automatically processed them as retired (당연퇴직). The Supreme Court held that this automatic retirement was, in substance, a dismissal (해고) and therefore subject to the restrictions of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), even though the initial suspension from duty may have been valid.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA regional medical insurance cooperative suspended from duty employees who had participated in a collective monthly leave protest, and after three months treated them as automatically retired.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that automatic retirement following suspension from duty is, in substance, a dismissal subject to the Labor Standards Act, and that failing to reassign employees without reasonable grounds constitutes an abuse of personnel authority.
  • LessonEmployers must promptly reassign employees to a position once the grounds for suspension from duty no longer exist; failing to do so and instead treating the employee as retired can amount to unfair dismissal (부당해고).
Issues
  • Whether automatic retirement processing following a suspension from duty (직위해제) is subject to the restrictions of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법)
  • Whether automatic retirement processing constitutes an abuse of personnel authority (인사권 남용) even when the initial suspension from duty was valid
Key reasoning

The Court reasoned that treating an employee as automatically retired following a suspension from duty is, in practical effect, equivalent to a dismissal, and thus must satisfy the requirements of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) rather than being treated as a mere administrative formality. Even if the original suspension from duty (직위해제) was lawful, once the grounds for suspension no longer existed, the employer was obligated to reassign the employee to a position. If the employer failed to do so without reasonable justification and instead allowed the employee to be automatically retired, this constitutes an abuse of the employer's personnel authority (인사권 남용). Therefore, the automatic retirement processing could be found invalid as an unfair dismissal despite the initial suspension being justified.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Where an employee received a suspension from duty (직위해제) disposition on the ground of falling under a cause prescribed in the operating regulations (운영규정) of a regional medical insurance union (지역의료보험조합), and thereafter, on the ground that the employee had not been assigned a position even after three months had elapsed, was treated as having automatically retired pursuant to the same operating regulations, then such automatic retirement treatment following the suspension from duty disposition, when observed as an integrated whole, constitutes termination of the employment contract relationship by the unilateral intent of the employer against the will of the employee, and thus in substance amounts to dismissal; accordingly, such disposition is subject to the restrictions under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법).

[2] Examining the relationship between the suspension from duty disposition and the automatic retirement treatment under the operating regulations of a regional medical insurance union, a person who has received a suspension from duty disposition, by the effect of the suspension from duty disposition itself, comes to bear a substantial probability of being subjected to automatic retirement treatment under certain conditions; on the other hand, the automatic retirement treatment is a disposition made because the state of suspension from duty continues for three months without the employee being assigned a position. Therefore, once a suspension from duty disposition has been legitimately rendered, unless there exist circumstances such that, during the subsequent three-month period, the grounds for suspension from duty have ceased to exist—due to, for example, recovery of the ability to perform duties or improvement of work attitude—such that a position ought to have been assigned, and yet the employer, without reasonable grounds, fails to assign a position, the automatic retirement treatment itself cannot be deemed to constitute an abuse of the authority over personnel matters or disciplinary authority.

Full text (English, AI translation) 14,432 chars

[Plaintiffs, Appellees]

[Defendant, Appellant] Daegu Metropolitan City Jung-gu Medical Insurance Cooperative (Litigation Representative: Dongyang General Law Firm, Attorneys Kim Seong-gi and 4 others)

[Judgment Below]

Daegu High Court Judgment 1994. 7. 7., 93Na4213

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Daegu High Court.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds for appeal.

1. Summary of Facts Found by the Court Below

The Plaintiffs were staff members of the Defendant Cooperative and, at the same time, Plaintiff 2 served as the Head of the Department of the Daegu Regional Medical Insurance Labor Union (hereinafter "Daegu Regional Union"), and Plaintiff 1 served as the Branch Head of the Daegu Regional Union. At a meeting of the chairpersons of the National Medical Insurance Labor Union held on May 8, 1990, in protest against the Ministry of Health and Social Affairs' 1990 policy of reducing overtime allowances for employees of medical insurance cooperatives and its policy of recovering the December 1989 meal expenses, the members of the regional medical insurance labor unions nationwide resolved to collectively take monthly leave on May 23, 1990. The Daegu Regional Union also resolved, at a countermeasures meeting held on May 22, 1990, attended by the department heads of the regional union, including the Plaintiffs, and the branch heads under its jurisdiction, to participate in this action. Upon learning of this, the Defendant Cooperative notified that it could not approve the collective monthly leave, as it was an unlawful act that would cause substantial disruption to its operations, and that any union member who carried it out regardless would be dealt with according to law. Nevertheless, the Plaintiffs and Non-party 1, the Department Head of the Daegu Regional Union, encouraged union members to participate in the collective monthly leave, resulting in 40 out of the 45 union members of the Defendant Cooperative submitting leave requests and not reporting to work the following day, instead gathering at the Hwawon Amusement Park in the city, thereby causing disruption to the Defendant Cooperative's business operations.

Article 40 of the Defendant Cooperative's Operating Regulations then in effect provided, as a general duty of employees, that employees must comply with the various regulations concerning medical insurance and faithfully perform their duties, and in performing their duties, must obey the official orders of their superiors, and prohibited leaving one's post during working hours without justifiable cause or the permission of a superior, or engaging in collective action that results in infringement of the rights and interests of the insured. In addition, Article 35, Paragraph 1 provided that the Representative Director may, after resolution by the Personnel Committee, decline to assign a position to a person who lacks the ability to perform duties or whose work performance is poor, or whose work attitude is extremely unfaithful (Item 1), a person for whom disciplinary action is pending (Item 2), or a person who has been indicted for a criminal case (Item 3). Paragraph 2 provided that, where a position has not been assigned pursuant to Paragraph 1, the position shall be assigned without delay once the grounds therefor have ceased to exist. Paragraph 3 provided that a person whose position has been withheld pursuant to Item 1 of Paragraph 1 shall be automatically retired if such person has not been assigned a position even after three months have elapsed from the date the position was withheld. The Defendant Cooperative held a Personnel Committee meeting on May 28, 1990, and determined that the Plaintiffs and the above Non-party 1, by disobeying the official orders of their superiors as provided in Article 40 of the Operating Regulations, leaving their posts without permission, and engaging in collective action infringing upon the rights and interests of the insured, fell under the category of persons with an extremely unfaithful work attitude under Article 35, Paragraph 1, Item 1 of the Operating Regulations, and accordingly imposed a position-withholding disposition on each of them.

On July 30, 1990, the Daegu Regional Labor Relations Commission proposed a settlement condition to the Plaintiffs and the above Non-party 1, whereby the persons whose positions had been withheld would acknowledge the position-withholding that had occurred and endeavor to comply with the Operating Regulations, and the Defendant Cooperative would assign the original position to the persons whose positions had been withheld. The above Non-party 1 accepted this proposal, whereas the Plaintiffs rejected it and did not respond to the request to withdraw the lawsuit already filed seeking confirmation of the invalidity of the position-withholding disposition. Accordingly, the Defendant Cooperative assigned a position to the above Non-party 1 but did not assign positions to the Plaintiffs. At the Personnel Committee meeting held on August 27, 1990, on the grounds that the Plaintiffs continued to refuse the settlement and did not withdraw the lawsuit, it was resolved to treat the Plaintiffs as automatically retired pursuant to Article 35, Paragraph 3 of the Operating Regulations, and on August 28, 1990, this fact was notified to them.

Meanwhile, on April 4, 1991, the Defendant Cooperative amended Article 35, Paragraph 3 of the Operating Regulations to provide that a person whose position has been withheld shall be ordered to stand by for a period not exceeding three months, during which necessary measures such as education and training or the assignment of special research tasks for the recovery of ability or improvement of attitude shall be taken, and newly established Article 33, Item 6, providing that a person whose position remains withheld, if found, after the lapse of such period, to show no improvement in ability or no sign of repentance, may be dismissed ex officio with the consent of the Personnel Committee. The lawsuit seeking confirmation of invalidity of the above position-withholding disposition filed by the Plaintiffs was dismissed by the final judgment of the Supreme Court, which held that the disposition was lawful.

2. Summary of the Judgment Below

Based on the facts found as above, the court below determined as follows: Where the Defendant Cooperative imposes a position-withholding disposition on an employee and thereafter fails to assign a position, thereby treating the employee as automatically retired, this constitutes a type of dismissal that terminates the employment contract against the will of the employee and by the unilateral intent of the employer. Therefore, in effecting the automatic retirement treatment, the grounds and procedures established by the Defendant Cooperative must be followed, and there must be a justifiable reason for dismissal as provided in Article 27, Paragraph 1 of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). Examining the propriety of the measure taken against the Plaintiffs—namely, the position-withholding disposition followed by the failure to assign a position and the treatment as automatic retirement—the position-withholding disposition is not itself an independent type of disciplinary action but rather a disposition preceding the dismissal procedure of removal from office, the purpose of which is to restore order to the disrupted employment relationship and, during the period of position-withholding, to enable the employer and employee to jointly resolve the cause that gave rise to the position-withholding so as to return to a normal employment relationship. Accordingly, the content of Article 35, Paragraph 3 of the Operating Regulations as subsequently amended in this spirit may be regarded as a concretization of the inherent standard of "justifiable reason" provided in Article 27, Paragraph 1 of the Labor Standards Act, and, in addition, the gravity of the grounds for position-withholding, the employee's conduct during the period of position-withholding, and the reasonableness of the grounds for not assigning a position are also standards for determining the justifiability of the removal treatment. On this premise, the court below found that the Defendant Cooperative effected the removal treatment solely on the ground that the Plaintiffs did not withdraw the lawsuit contesting the justifiability of the position-withholding, and that no other measures, such as education and training or the assignment of special research tasks aimed at returning the Plaintiffs to a normal employment relationship, could be found to have been taken. In light of this, together with the circumstances set forth by the court below concerning the Plaintiffs' collective leave-taking conduct in this case, and the fact that it was unreasonable for the Defendant Cooperative to have set, as conditions for assigning a position, the Plaintiffs' acknowledgment of the justifiability of the position-withholding disposition and withdrawal of the lawsuit, and to have treated the Plaintiffs' refusal thereof as material for determining whether they had shown repentance, or to have presented an expression of intent to comply with the Operating Regulations as a condition for assigning a position, the court below concluded that the Defendant Cooperative's failure to assign positions to the Plaintiffs constituted an abuse of the right to discipline. Accordingly, the court below determined that the Defendant Cooperative's refusal to assign positions to the Plaintiffs and its treatment of them as removed from office did not fall under circumstances involving justifiable reason as provided in the Labor Standards Act, and that the Defendant Cooperative's removal treatment of the Plaintiffs in this case was therefore invalid.

3. Judgment of This Court

In this case, the automatic retirement treatment whose invalidity the Plaintiffs contest was effected on the basis of Article 35, Paragraph 3 of the same Article, on the ground that, after the Plaintiffs received a position-withholding disposition on the basis that they fell under the grounds set forth in Article 35, Paragraph 1, Item 1 of the Defendant Cooperative's Operating Regulations, they had not been assigned a position even after three months had elapsed thereafter. Such automatic retirement treatment, following the position-withholding disposition, when observed as an integrated whole, constitutes the termination of the employment contractual relationship against the will of the employee and by the unilateral intent of the employer, and thus is substantively equivalent to dismissal; accordingly, such disposition must be regarded as subject to the restrictions imposed by the Labor Standards Act.

However, examining the relationship between the position-withholding disposition and the automatic retirement treatment in this case, under the Defendant Cooperative's Operating Regulations, a person who has received a position-withholding disposition thereby acquires, by virtue of the effect of the position-withholding disposition itself, a considerable probability of being treated as automatically retired under certain conditions. On the other hand, the automatic retirement treatment is a disposition effected because the state of position-withholding continues for three months following the position-withholding without a position being assigned. Therefore, once a position-withholding disposition has been justifiably imposed, unless there exist circumstances such that, during the subsequent three-month period, the grounds for the position-withholding have ceased to exist—for example, through the recovery of the ability to perform duties or improvement in work attitude—such that a position ought properly to be assigned, and yet the position is not assigned without reasonable cause, the automatic retirement treatment itself cannot be regarded as constituting an abuse of the right of personnel management or the right to discipline.

In this case, it has already been finally determined by judgment that the Plaintiffs' conduct in leading the collective monthly leave constituted an unlawful labor dispute act, the degree of misconduct involved being serious, and that the position-withholding disposition resulting therefrom was justified. Accordingly, even though the Defendant Cooperative proposed the settlement condition that it would assign positions if the Plaintiffs acknowledged the position-withholding disposition and withdrew the lawsuit, the Plaintiffs refused this; and inferring therefrom that their work attitude had not improved, the Defendant Cooperative's failure to assign positions cannot be deemed unreasonable. Moreover, no material can be found in the record showing that, during the aforementioned three-month period, there existed circumstances such as the cessation of the grounds for position-withholding with respect to the Plaintiffs, such that a position ought to have been assigned. Furthermore, the provision requiring the Defendant Cooperative to take measures such as education and training for persons whose positions have been withheld was introduced only in the Operating Regulations as amended after this case, and whether such provision was complied with is not appropriate material for determining whether the automatic retirement treatment in this case was unlawful. Accordingly, it is difficult, based solely on the circumstances relied upon by the court below, to conclude that the Defendant Cooperative's measure of treating the Plaintiffs as automatically retired constituted an abuse of the right of personnel management or the right to discipline.

Nevertheless, the court below's determination, for the reasons stated in its judgment, that the automatic retirement treatment in this case is invalid, constitutes an error of law affecting the judgment, arising from a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning automatic retirement resulting from position-withholding. Accordingly, the argument pointing out this error has merit.

Therefore, without rendering judgment on the remaining grounds of appeal, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below. This judgment is rendered by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices, as stated in the Order.

Justice Cheon Gyeong-song (Presiding Justice), Ji Chang-gwon, Shin Seong-taek (Justice in Charge)

【판결요지】

[1] 근로자가 지역의료보험조합의 운영규정에 정한 사유에 해당한다고 하여 직위해제 처분을 받은 다음 그 후 3월이 경과하도록 직위를 부여받지 못하였다는 이유로 같은 운영규정에 근거하여 당연퇴직 처리가 이루어진 것이라면, 이와 같은 직위해제 처분에 이은 당연퇴직 처리는 이를 일체로서 관찰할 때 근로자의 의사에 반하여 사용자의 일방적 의사에 따라 근로계약 관계를 종료시키는 것으로서 실질상 해고에 해당하고, 따라서 그 처분에 있어서는 근로기준법에 의한 제한을 받는다.

[2] 지역의료보험조합 운영규정에 의한 직위해제 처분과 당연퇴직 처리의 관계를 살펴보면, 그 운영규정상 직위해제 처분을 받은 자는 직위해제 처분 자체의 효력에 의하여 일정한 조건하에 당연퇴직 처리를 당할 수 있는 상당한 개연성을 가지게 되고, 반면 당연퇴직 처리는 직위해제 후 3월간 직위를 부여받음이 없이 직위해제 상태가 계속됨으로 인하여 이루어지는 처분이므로, 일단 직위해제 처분이 정당하게 내려진 경우라면 그 후 3월의 기간 동안 직무수행 능력의 회복이나 근무태도 개선 등 직위해제 사유가 소멸되어 마땅히 직위를 부여하여야 할 사정이 있음에도 합리적인 이유 없이 직위를 부여하지 아니하는 등의 경우가 아닌 한, 당연퇴직 처리 그 자체가 인사권 내지 징계권의 남용에 해당한다고 볼 수는 없다.

【참조조문】

[1] 근로기준법 제27조 제1항

[2] 근로기준법 제27조 제1항

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1993. 10. 26. 선고 92다54210 판결(공1993하, 3160) / [2] 대법원 1981. 1. 13. 선고 79누279 판결(공1981, 13649)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 4,865자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,피상고인】

【피고,상고인】 대구직할시 중구의료보험조합 (소송대리인 동양종합법무법인 담당변호사 김성기 외 4인)

【원심판결】 대구고등법원 1994. 7. 7. 선고 93나4213 판결

【주문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 대구고등법원에 환송한다.

【이유】 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원심이 인정한 사실의 요지

원고들은 피고 조합의 사무원이면서 동시에 원고 2은 대구지역 의료보험노동조합(이하 대구지역노조라 한다) 부장, 원고 1은 대구지역노조 지부장으로서, 1990. 5. 8. 개최된 전국의료보험노동조합 위원장단 회의에서 1990년도 보건사회부의 의료보험조합 직원에 대한 시간외근무수당 감축 및 1989. 12.분 급식비 환수 방침에 대한 항의의 표시로 전국 지역의료보험 노동조합원들이 1990. 5. 23. 집단 월차휴가를 실시하기로 하는 내용의 결의를 하였고, 대구지역노조에서도 1990. 5. 22. 원고들을 포함한 지역노조 부장들과 산하 각 지부장들이 참석한 대책회의에서 이에 동참하기로 결의하였던바, 이 사실을 알게 된 피고 조합은 집단 월차휴가는 업무에 막대한 지장을 초래하는 위법행위이므로 승인할 수 없으며 이를 강행하는 조합원은 의법조치할 것을 통고하였음에도, 원고들과 대구지역노조 부장 소외 1은 조합원들에게 집단 월차휴가에 참가할 것을 독려함으로써 피고 조합의 조합원 45명 중 40명이 휴가원을 제출하고 다음날 출근하지 아니한 채 시내 화원유원지에 집결하게 하여 피고 조합의 업무처리에 지장을 초래하였다.

당시의 피고 조합 운영규정 제40조는 직원의 일반적 의무로서 의료보험에 관한 제 규정을 준수하고 성실히 직무를 수행하되 직무수행에 있어서 소속 상관의 직무상의 명령에 복종하여야 하며 근무시간 중 정당한 사유나 소속 상관의 허가 없이 근무지를 이탈하거나 피보험자의 권익을 침해하는 결과를 초래하는 집단행위를 금하고 있고, 또 제35조 제1항은 대표이사는 직무수행 능력이 부족하거나 근무성적이 불량한 자 또는 근무태도가 심히 불성실한 자(제1호), 징계의결이 요구중인 자(제2호). 형사사건으로 기소된 자(제3호)에 대하여는 인사위원회 의결을 거쳐 직위를 부여하지 아니할 수 있다. 제2항은 제1항의 규정에 의하여 직위를 부여하지 아니한 경우에 그 사유가 소멸된 때에는 지체 없이 직위를 부여하여야 한다. 제3항은 제1항 제1호의 규정에 의하여 직위해제된 자는 직위해제된 날로부터 3월이 경과하여도 직위를 부여받지 못하였을 때에는 당연퇴직한다고 규정하고 있었는바, 피고 조합은 1990. 5. 28. 인사위원회를 열어 원고들과 위 소외 1은 운영규정 제40조에 정한 소속 상관의 직무상 명령에 불복종, 무단 근무지 이탈, 피보험자의 권익을 침해하는 집단행위를 함으로써 운영규정 제35조 제1항 제1호의 근무태도가 심히 불성실한 자에 해당한다고 하여 그들에게 각 직위해제 처분을 하였다.

대구지방노동위원회는 1990. 7. 30. 원고들과 위 소외 1에게 직위해제자는 그 간의 직위해제를 인정하고 운영규정을 준수하도록 노력하며 피고 조합은 직위해제자에게 원래의 직위를 부여하기로 하는 화해조건을 제시하였던바, 위 소외 1은 이를 받아들인 반면 원고들은 이를 거부하고 이미 제기한 직위해제 처분에 대한 무효확인 소송의 취하 요구에 응하지 아니하므로, 피고 조합은 위 소외 1에게는 직위를 부여하였으나 원고들에게는 직위를 부여하지 아니하였고, 1990. 8. 27. 열린 인사위원회에서도 원고들이 계속 화해에 불응하고 위 소송도 취하하지 아니한다는 이유로 위 운영규정 제35조 제3항에 따라 원고들을 당연퇴직처리할 것을 의결한 다음 1990. 8. 28. 그 사실을 통고하였다.

한편 피고 조합은 1991. 4. 4. 운영규정 제35조 제3항을 개정하여 직위해제된 자에 대하여는 3개월 이내의 기간 대기를 명하고 능력 회복이나 태도 개선을 위한 교육훈련 또는 특별한 연구과제의 부여 등 필요한 조치를 취하여야 하도록 하였고, 제33조 제6호에서 직위해제 중인 자가 그 기간이 경과하여도 능력의 향상 또는 개전의 정이 없다고 인정된 때에는 인사위원회의 동의를 얻어 직권면직할 수 있다는 내용을 신설하였으며, 원고들이 제기한 위 직위해제처분 무효확인 소송은 대법원의 최종 판결에 의하여 그 처분이 적법하다고 하여 기각되었다.

2. 원심판단의 요지

원심은 위 인정 사실에 의하여, 피고 조합이 근로자에게 직위해제 처분을 한 다음 직위를 부여하지 아니하여 당연퇴직 처리하는 것은 근로자의 의사에 반하여 사용자의 일방적 의사에 따라 근로계약을 종료시키는 해고의 일종이라 할 것이므로, 당연퇴직 처리를 함에 있어서는 피고 조합이 정한 사유와 절차에 따라야 하고 근로기준법 제27조 제1항에서 정한 해고의 정당한 이유가 있어야 할 것인데, 이 사건에서 원고들에 대한 직위해제 처분에 이어 직위를 부여하지 아니하고 당연퇴직 처리한 조치의 당부를 살펴볼 때, 직위해제 처분은 그 자체가 독립한 징계 종류의 하나라기보다는 해고의 일종인 면직처리 절차에 선행되는 처분이고, 그 목적이 흐트러진 근로관계의 질서를 회복하고 직위해제 기간 동안에 사용자와 근로자가 합심하여 직위해제를 유발한 사유를 해소시켜 정상적인 근로관계로 복귀하게 하는 데 있다 할 것이므로 이러한 취지로 사후에 개정된 위 운영규정 제35조 제3항의 내용은 근로기준법 제27조 제1항에 규정한 정당한 사유의 내재적 기준을 구체화한 것이라 할 것이며, 그 밖에 직위해제 사유의 경중, 직위해제 기간 중의 근로자의 태도, 직위부여를 하지 아니하는 사유의 타당성 등도 면직처리의 정당성 여부의 판단기준이 된다고 전제하고, 피고 조합은 원고들이 직위해제의 정당 여부를 다투는 소송을 취하하지 아니한다는 사유로 면직처리를 하였을 뿐이며, 그 밖에 정상적인 근로관계에로의 복귀를 위한 교육훈련이나 특별연구과제의 부여 등의 조치를 취한 사실을 찾아볼 수 없는 점에다가, 원고들의 이 사건 집단휴가 행위에 관한 원심 설시의 사정을 참작하고 피고 조합측이 원고들에 대하여 직위해제 처분의 정당성 인정 및 그 소송의 취하를 직위부여의 조건으로 내걸고 그에 대한 거부행위를 반성 여부에 관한 판단 자료로 삼는다거나 운영규정을 준수하겠다는 의사표명을 직위부여의 조건으로 제시한 것은 부당한 점 등에 의하여 판단하면, 피고 조합이 원고들에게 직위부여를 하지 아니한 것은 징계권의 남용이라 할 것이고, 따라서 피고 조합의 원고들에 대한 직위부여 거부 및 면직처리는 근로기준법에 정한 정당한 이유가 있는 때에 해당하지 아니하므로 원고들에 대한 피고 조합의 이 사건 면직처리는 무효라는 취지로 판단하였다.

3. 이 법원의 판단

이 사건에서 원고들이 그 무효를 다투고 있는 당연퇴직 처리는 원고들이 피고 조합의 운영규정 제35조 제1항 제1호에 정한 사유에 해당한다고 하여 직위해제 처분을 받은 다음, 그 후 3월이 경과하도록 직위를 부여받지 못하였다는 이유로 같은 조 제3항에 근거하여 이루어진 것인바, 이와 같은 직위해제 처분에 이은 당연퇴직 처리는 이를 일체로서 관찰할 때 근로자의 의사에 반하여 사용자의 일방적 의사에 따라 근로계약 관계를 종료시키는 것으로서 실질상 해고에 해당하고, 따라서 그 처분에 있어서는 근로기준법에 의한 제한을 받는다고 보아야 할 것이다.

그러나 이 사건 직위해제 처분과 당연퇴직 처리의 관계를 살펴보면, 피고 조합의 운영규정상 직위해제 처분을 받은 자는 직위해제 처분 자체의 효력에 의하여 일정한 조건하에 당연퇴직 처리를 당할 수 있는 상당한 개연성을 가지게 되고, 반면 당연퇴직 처리는 직위해제 후 3월간 직위를 부여받음이 없이 직위해제 상태가 계속됨으로 인하여 이루어지는 처분이므로, 일단 직위해제 처분이 정당하게 내려진 경우라면 그 후 3월의 기간 동안 직무수행능력의 회복이나 근무태도 개선 등 직위해제 사유가 소멸되어 마땅히 직위를 부여하여야 할 사정이 있음에도 합리적인 이유 없이 직위를 부여하지 아니하는 등의 경우가 아닌 한 당연퇴직 처리 그 자체가 인사권 내지 징계권의 남용에 해당한다고 볼 수는 없다 할 것이다.

이 사건에 있어서, 원고들이 집단 월차휴가를 주도한 행위는 불법쟁의 행위로서 그 비위의 정도가 중하여 이로 인한 직위해제 처분은 정당한 것임은 이미 판결에 의하여 확정된 바 있고, 따라서 피고 조합이 원고들에게 직위해제 처분을 인정하고 소송을 취하하면 직위를 부여하겠다는 화해조건을 제시하였음에도 원고들이 이를 거부한 것으로 미루어 근무태도가 개선되지 아니하였다고 보고 직위를 부여하지 아니한 것이 부당하다고 볼 수 없을 뿐 아니라, 달리 위 3월의 기간 동안 원고들에게 직위해제 사유의 소멸 등 직위를 부여하였어야 할 사정이 있었다고 볼 자료를 기록상 발견할 수 없으며, 피고 조합이 직위해제자에게 교육훈련 등의 조치를 취하여야 한다는 규정은 이 사건 이후에 개정된 운영규정에 비로소 도입된 것으로서 그 이행 여부는 이 사건 당연퇴직 처리의 위법 여부를 판단하기 위한 자료로서는 적절하지 아니하다 할 것이므로, 원심이 든 사정만으로는 원고들을 당연퇴직 처리한 피고 조합의 조치가 인사권 내지 징계권의 남용이라고 보기 어렵다고 하여야 할 것이다.

그럼에도 불구하고 원심이 그 판시와 같은 이유로 이 사건 당연퇴직 처리가 무효라고 판단한 것은 직위해제로 인한 당연퇴직의 법리를 오해한 나머지 판결에 영향을 미친 위법을 범한 것이라 하겠으므로, 이 점을 지적하는 논지는 이유가 있다.

그러므로 나머지 상고이유에 대한 판단을 생략한 채 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 천경송(재판장) 지창권 신성택(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2009다63205 · 대법원 2011-11-10
Action to Confirm Invalidity of Dismissal
#2
90다4914 · 대법원 1991-11-26
Action to Confirm Invalidity of Dismissal
#3
90다카23912 · 대법원 1990-12-07
Confirmation of Invalidity of Dismissal, etc.
#4
2003나5543 · 대구고법 2004-02-04
Action to Confirm Invalidity of Dismissal
#5
2007다62840 · 대법원 2009-02-12
Action to Confirm Invalidity of Dismissal, etc.

Cases citing this decision

2006다25240 · 대법원 2007-09-21
직권면직무효확인등
2003두8210 · 대법원 2005-11-25
Revocation of Retrial Decision on Unfair Dismissal Remedy
2003두6665 · 대법원 2004-10-28
Revocation of Retrial Decision on Remedy for Unfair Dismissa
97다7790 · 대법원 1997-07-08
징계면직무효확인등
96다21065 · 대법원 1996-10-29
Confirmation of Invalidity of Dismissal, etc.

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)