Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 76다2119

Damages Claim Case손해배상

Decided1978. 02. 14. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송); the lower court's ruling favoring the recipient's full claim was overturned, effectively favoring the State's/Employer's position on liability limits.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This Supreme Court of Korea (대법원) ruling addresses a situation where a recipient of industrial accident insurance benefits (산재보험 수급권자) partially waived their damages claim against a third-party wrongdoer. The Court held that to the extent the recipient waived the claim against the third party, they simultaneously forfeited their right to claim industrial accident insurance benefits (산재보험금) for that same portion. Consequently, the State (represented by the Labor Office, 노동청) was found to have no obligation to pay insurance benefits corresponding to the waived amount.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker who was a beneficiary of industrial accident insurance settled with the third-party wrongdoer and agreed to waive a portion of the damages owed to them.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the waived portion of the third-party claim automatically reduced the worker's entitlement to insurance benefits by the same amount, exempting the state insurer from paying that portion.
  • LessonInjury victims receiving industrial accident insurance must be cautious when settling with third parties, as waiving damages claims can proportionally reduce their entitlement to insurance benefits from the state.
Issues
  • The effect of a recipient's waiver of a damages claim against a third party on their right to claim industrial accident insurance benefits.
  • The relationship between the State's right of subrogation (대위) against the third party and the recipient's authority to waive that claim.
Key reasoning

The Court reasoned that a recipient's right to claim insurance benefits and their right to claim damages from a third party exist in a complementary relationship, designed to prevent double recovery for the same injury. When the recipient voluntarily waives (면제) part of the damages claim against the third party through a settlement, this waiver directly reduces the scope of the insurance benefit obligation by an equivalent amount. As a result, the State is discharged from its payment obligation up to the limit of the waived amount, meaning the recipient cannot later demand insurance benefits exceeding what remains after accounting for the waiver made in the settlement with the third party.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

If a person entitled to receive insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) has waived, in whole or in part, the third-party tortfeasor's obligation to compensate for damages owed to him, then, absent special circumstances that would preclude recognizing such waiver, it must be deemed that he has forfeited his right to claim industrial accident insurance benefits to the extent of such waiver. (Majority Opinion)

Full text (English, AI translation) 16,577 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Republic of Korea

[Defendant, Appellee] Defendant 1 and 3 others

[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court, Judgment of July 22, 1976, Case No. 76Na1643

[Order]

The part of the judgment below against the Plaintiff is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

The Plaintiff's litigation representative's grounds of appeal are examined.

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found the following facts: the deceased Non-party, who worked as the chief of the ○○ factory of Korea Hwaseong Industrial Co., Ltd., a business establishment under the jurisdiction of the Masan Office of the Labor Office (노동청) under the Plaintiff, died on August 22, 1969 in an airplane crash while aboard an aircraft owned by non-party Segi Aviation Co., Ltd.; that the Defendants, as the bereaved family of the said deceased Non-party, filed a damages claim lawsuit against the said non-party aviation company, and on January 15, 1970 entered into a court settlement (법정화해) under which they were to receive KRW 3,011,788, and did in fact receive that amount; that thereafter, when the Defendants filed a claim with the Masan Office of the Labor Office under the Plaintiff for industrial accident compensation insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) for the said accident, they falsely reported that they had received only KRW 2,511,788 from the aviation company, an amount KRW 500,000 less than what they had actually received; and that as a result, on April 29, 1970, out of the KRW 6,126,454 recognized by the Masan Office of the Labor Office as the industrial accident compensation insurance benefit for the said deceased, the Defendants received KRW 3,614,666, being the amount remaining after deducting the KRW 2,511,788 reported as the amount received as the court settlement money.

The Plaintiff argued as follows: although the Defendants had obtained a favorable judgment of KRW 16,034,272 in the damages claim lawsuit against the said non-party aviation company, they entered into a court settlement for KRW 3,011,788 as described above, thereby waiving their right to claim the remainder of the damages for which they had prevailed; since this made it impossible for the Plaintiff to exercise subrogation of the right to claim damages against the third party, the Defendants' right to claim industrial accident insurance benefits corresponding to the waived portion exceeding the settlement amount should likewise be deemed extinguished as a matter of course; therefore, the Defendants' receipt of industrial accident insurance benefits in excess of the settlement amount constituted unjust enrichment without legal cause, and the Plaintiff sought its return.

As to this argument, the court below held as follows and rejected the Plaintiff's argument: under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, when an insured accident occurs, the State is subrogated, within the limit of the amount of the benefit paid, to the beneficiary's right to claim damages against a third party, and if the beneficiary receives damages from the third party for the same cause, the State is exempted from its obligation to pay the insurance benefit within the limit of the amount of such damages. In a case such as the present, where the beneficiary entered into a court settlement with the said non-party aviation company and waived the remainder of the right to claim damages, the portion of the damages claim exceeding the court settlement amount, which the State would have subrogated, is indeed extinguished; however, this does not mean that the scope of the Defendants', as beneficiaries', right to claim industrial accident insurance benefits against the State is thereby necessarily reduced to the amount of the court settlement. The Defendants still retain the right to receive the remainder of the industrial accident insurance benefit after deducting the amount received as the court settlement money.

Upon examination: where a beneficiary of compensation insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act suffers an injury due to a tortious act of a third party, the right to claim damages held against that third party is an ordinary tort claim, and the fact that insurance under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act has been taken out with respect to the accident does not affect the nature of the said right to claim damages. Accordingly, in general, in light of the principle of private autonomy, the beneficiary may release the third party from all or part of the damages obligation owed to the beneficiary. (Article 16(2) of the said Act provides that the right to receive insurance benefits may not be assigned or seized; however, considering this together with Article 9(2) of the said Act, which provides that insurance benefits are paid upon the beneficiary's claim, although the right to receive insurance benefits may not be assigned or seized, this cannot be interpreted to mean that the right to receive insurance benefits itself must necessarily be exercised by the beneficiary personally. Furthermore, although Article 15(1) of the said Act provides for the Director of the Labor Office's subrogation of the beneficiary's right to claim damages against a third party, this cannot be interpreted to mean that, prior to the exercise of such subrogation, the beneficiary's aforementioned right to release the obligation is restricted. Therefore, it cannot be said that Articles 16(2) and 15(1) of the said Act restrict the beneficiary's right to release the third party from all or part of the damages obligation owed to the beneficiary.)

The industrial accident compensation insurance system has as its purpose the compensation, upon claim, of the injury suffered by the beneficiary (Articles 1 and 9(2) of the said Act). Article 15(2) of the said Act provides that where the beneficiary receives damages from a third party for the same cause, the Director of the Labor Office (the State) shall not pay insurance benefits to the extent of the amount of such damages received by the beneficiary. Where the beneficiary's right to claim insurance benefits arises due to an injury caused by the act of a third party, the beneficiary's right to claim insurance benefits stands in a mutually complementary relationship with the beneficiary's right to claim damages against the third party, such that the amount of insurance benefits received by the beneficiary must be deducted from the amount of damages claimed against the tortfeasor third party (see Supreme Court Judgment of July 16, 1974, Case No. 74Da565). Moreover, in light of the purport of Article 15(2) of the said Act—that the Director of the Labor Office shall not pay insurance benefits to the extent that the beneficiary receives damages from a third party for the same cause—it follows a fortiori that where the beneficiary has released the third party from all or part of the damages that the beneficiary would otherwise be entitled to receive, the Director of the Labor Office likewise shall not pay insurance benefits to the extent of such release. Considering these points comprehensively, before the Director of the Labor Office subrogates the right to claim damages against the third party pursuant to Article 15(1) of the said Act, the beneficiary may personally release the third party from all or part of the damages obligation owed to the beneficiary, and where the beneficiary has thereby lost the right to claim damages to the extent of such release, then, absent special circumstances such that the release cannot be recognized as such, the beneficiary must be deemed to have lost the right to claim industrial accident insurance benefits to the extent of such release. Accordingly, it is reasonable to interpret that the Director of the Labor Office (the State) is exempted from the obligation to pay insurance benefits to the beneficiary to the extent of the portion so released.

To be sure, if interpreted in this manner, there is a concern that a beneficiary's careless or insincere settlement, etc., could result in the loss of the right to receive insurance benefits, contrary to the purpose of the industrial accident insurance system, which is to provide prompt and fair compensation to beneficiaries. However, as explained above, this conclusion is unavoidable in light of the interpretation of the provisions of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and the principle of private autonomy. Such potentially undesirable results can be prevented or minimized as far as possible by raising beneficiaries' awareness of the industrial accident insurance system, promptly paying insurance benefits, and carefully examining whether a release of the damages obligation reflects the beneficiary's genuine intent, in particular whether it was made due to mistake, fraud, or duress.

Given this, in the present case, as found by the court below, the Defendants, as beneficiaries, made no argument or presented no evidence disputing the validity of the released portion in the settlement made with the tortfeasor third party, the non-party aviation company; and in particular, since the release was made through a court settlement, and the Defendants cannot make an argument that would contravene the res judicata effect of that settlement, the Defendants' release, as beneficiaries, must be deemed to reflect their genuine intent, as explained above. Accordingly, with respect to the portion so released, the right to claim industrial accident insurance benefits against the Director of the Labor Office must be deemed to have been lost. Nevertheless, the court below held that the Defendants, as beneficiaries, still retained the authority to claim insurance benefits even with respect to the portion of the damages amount released in the court settlement. This determination reflects a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning claims for insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, and this error affected the outcome of the judgment. Accordingly, the argument on this point—that the right to claim insurance benefits was lost—is well-founded, and the part of the judgment below against the Plaintiff cannot avoid reversal.

Therefore, the part of the judgment below against the Plaintiff is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court for further hearing and determination. This judgment is rendered by the unanimous opinion of all participating Justices as stated in the Order, except for the dissenting opinion of Justices Kim Yeong-se, Min Mun-gi, Im Hang-jun, Lee Il-gyu, Kang An-hui, Kim Yong-cheol, and Jeong Tae-won set forth below.

The dissenting opinion of Justices Kim Yeong-se, Min Mun-gi, Im Hang-jun, Lee Il-gyu, Kang An-hui, Kim Yong-cheol, and Jeong Tae-won is as follows.

The industrial accident compensation insurance system has as its purpose the protection of workers (Article 1 of the Act), and provides that insurance benefits shall be paid to a worker or the worker's bereaved family when a worker prescribed by the Act suffers injury or death in the course of employment (Article 9 of the Act). The financial resources for the insurance program are not collected from workers, but are funded by the compulsorily insured business owners and the National Treasury (Article 2-2 of the Act). Furthermore, in order to protect workers' rights to receive insurance benefits, the Act provides that the right to receive insurance benefits may not be assigned or seized (Article 16(2) of the Act), and that no taxes or other public charges may be imposed on insurance benefits (Article 17 of the Act). It can thus be seen that the overall spirit of the provisions of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act is directed toward thoroughgoing protection of workers. Under such a system, a worker's right to receive insurance benefits may be lost or extinguished only in cases expressly provided by the Act, such as where the statute of limitations prescribed by the Act has run (Article 30 of the Act), or where the worker has already received damages from a third party for injury caused by the third party's tortious act (Article 15(2) of the Act). It is self-evident that, absent an express statutory provision, a worker's right to receive insurance benefits cannot be forfeited. Just as it is a clear legal principle that even ordinary private rights cannot be restricted or forfeited without an express statutory provision, it is all the more improper, without such an express provision, to lightly declare forfeited the right to receive insurance benefits under this special statute, which is intended to confer a unilateral benefit upon workers for social policy purposes; such a determination cannot but be regarded as a departure from the law. The majority opinion, citing Articles 15(1) and (2) of the Act, appears to take the position that because the Defendants in this case waived their right to receive damages from non-party Segi Aviation Co., Ltd., thereby preventing the Director of the Labor Office under the Plaintiff from exercising subrogation of the Defendants' right to claim damages against the said aviation company, the right to claim insurance benefits was accordingly lost. However, no provision of the Act states that insurance benefits shall not be paid where a beneficiary releases or waives the right to claim damages against a tortfeasor third party; Article 15(2) merely provides that where the beneficiary has received damages from a third party, insurance benefits shall not be paid to that extent. It thus appears that the majority opinion has reached its conclusion by analogical interpretation of this provision. However, there is no legal principle by which another person's right may be forfeited through analogical interpretation of a statute; and even assuming such a principle existed, the said provision merely provides that where damages have already been paid to the worker by the tortfeasor third party, insurance benefits shall not be doubly paid; it cannot be said to follow, by such an extravagant analogical interpretation, that even where the worker has not received damages from the third party, if the worker has merely waived the right to claim such damages, the right to claim insurance benefits is thereby extinguished, for the following reasons. That is, under the industrial accident compensation insurance system, even where a worker's injury or death is caused by the tortious act of a third party, insurance benefits are not paid using the damages received by the Director of the Labor Office through the exercise of the subrogation right under Article 15(1) of the Act; rather, it is clear from the provisions of the Act that insurance benefits are to be paid regardless of whether damages are received through the exercise of such subrogation right. This being so, there is no legal connection whatsoever between the Director of the Labor Office's obligation to pay insurance benefits and the subrogation right under Article 15(1) of the Act. On what legal basis, then, can it be said that the worker's right to receive insurance benefits is forfeited by an act on the worker's part that causes the Director of the Labor Office to lose the subrogation right? This is nothing more than a retaliatory line of reasoning without any basis in law—namely, that because the worker caused the Director of the Labor Office to lose a right, the Director of the Labor Office should likewise cause the worker to lose some other right. If one were to remain faithful to the law, it might rather be a separate question whether the worker bears an obligation to compensate the Director of the Labor Office for the loss of the subrogation right caused by the worker's act; but even if the worker bears such an obligation to compensate the Director of the Labor Office, there can be no legal principle by which the worker's right to receive insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act is thereby forfeited.

In the end, the majority opinion, through an analogical interpretation contrary to legal principle, has erroneously reversed the lawful judgment below on the ground that it is unlawful.

Justices Min Bok-gi (Presiding Justice), Lee Yeong-seop, Ju Jae-hwang, Kim Yeong-se, Min Mun-gi, Yang Byeong-ho, Han Hwan-jin, Im Hang-jun, An Byeong-su, Kim Yun-haeng, Lee Il-gyu, Kang An-hui, Ra Gil-jo, Kim Yong-cheol, Yu Tae-heung, Jeong Tae-won

【판결요지】

산업재해보상보험법에 의한 보상보험금 수급권자가 가해자인 제3자의 자기에 대한 손해배상 채무의 전부 또는 일부를 면제하였다면 이를 면제한 것으로 인정될 수 없는 특별한 사정이 없는 한 그 면제한 한도에 있어서의 산재보험금 청구권을 상실한 것으로 보아야 한다.(다수의견)

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제15조, 제16조 제2항

【참조판례】

대법원 1974.7.16. 선고 74다565 판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 6,116자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 대한민국

【피고, 피상고인】 피고 1 외 3인

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1976.7.22. 선고 76나1643 판결

【주 문】

원심판결중 원고 패소부분을 파기하고 사건을 서울고등법원으로 환송한다.

【이 유】 원고 소송수행자의 상고이유를 본다.

원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심은 원고산하 노동청 마산사무소 관할 사업장인 한국화성공업주식회사 ○○공장장으로 근무하던 망 소외인이 1969.8.22 소외 세기항공주식회사 소유의 비행기에 탑승하였다가 비행기 추락사고로 사망한 사실, 위 망 소외인의 유족인 피고들이 위 소외 항공회사를 상대로 손해배상청구소송을 제기하였다가 1970.1.15 금 3,011,788원을 수령하기로 하는 내용의 법정화해를 하여 위 금원을 수령한 사실, 피고들은 그후 원고산하 노동청 마산사무소에 위 사고로 인한 산업재해보상보험법에 따른 산재보험금을 청구함에 있어서 위 소외 회사로부터 실제로 수령한 금액보다 금 500,000원이 적은 금 2,511,788원만 위 항공회사로부터 수령한 양 신고함으로써 1970.4.29 위 노동청 마산사무소로부터 위 소외 망인에 대한 산재보험금으로 인정된 금 6,126,454원 중에서 위 법정화해금으로 수령한 금액으로 신고한 금 2,511,788원을 공제한 금 3,614,666원을 수령한 사실을 각 인정한 다음, 원고의 주장 즉 피고들은 위 소외 항공회사에 대한 손해배상청구소송에서 금 16,034,272원의 승소판결을 받았음에도 위와 같이 금 3,011,788원에 법정화해하므로서 위 소외 회사에 대하여 승소한 부분의 나머지 손해배상청구권을 포기한 이상 원고의 제3자에 대한 손해배상자대위가 불가능하게 되었으므로 그 화해금액을 넘는 포기한 부분에 대한 산재보상보험금의 청구권도 당연히 소멸된다 할 것임에도 위와 같이 화해금액을 넘는 산재보험을 수령한 것은 법률상 원인없는 이득이므로 그 반환을 구한다는 주장에 대하여 원심은 산재보험금은 산업재해보상보험법의 규정에 따라 보험사고가 발생하는 경우에 국가는 급여액의 한도내에서 급여받는 자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하며, 만일 수급권자가 제3자로부터 동일한 사유로 인하여 손해배상을 받는 때에는 그 배상액의 한도내에서 국가는 보험금의 지급의무를 면하도록 되어 있는 바, 본건과 같이 위 소외 항공회사와 법정화해를 하여 나머지 손해배상청구권을 포기한 경우에는 국가가 대위행사할 손해배상청구권은 그 법정화해금을 초과하는 부분이 소멸되기는 하나, 그렇다고 하여 수급권자인 피고들의 국가에 대한 산재보험금청구권의 범위까지도 당연히 위 법정화해금의 범위내로 축소되는 것은 아니며, 여전히 피고들은 산재보험금중 위 법정화해금으로 수령한 금액을 공제한 잔액을 수령할 권한이 있다는 취지의 판단에서 원고의 주장을 배척하고 있다.

살피건대 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 보상보험금 수급권자가 제3자의 가해행위로 인하여 재해를 입은 경우에 그 제3자에 대하여 가지는 손해배상청구권은 통상의 불법행위상의 채권으로서 그 재해에 관하여 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 보험에 가입되어 있다하여 위 손해배상청구권의 성질에 소장이 있다고는 할 수 없다 할 것이므로 일반적으로는 위 수급권자는 사법자치의 원칙에 비추어서 제3자가 자기에 대하여 부담하는 손해배상채무의 전부 또는 일부를 면제할 수 있다할 것이고, (위 법 제16조 제2항에 의하면 보험급여를 받을 권리는 양도 또는 압류할 수 없다고 규정하고 있으나 이들 보험급여는 수급권자의 청구에 의하여 지급한다는 위 법 제9조 제2항과 아울러 보면 보험급여를 받을 권리를 양도 또는 압류할 수 없는 것이기는 하나 그렇다고 하여 이로서 곧 보험급여를 받을 권리 그 자체를 수급권자 스스로가 반드시 행사하지 않으면 안되는 취지라고는 풀이되지 아니한다 할 것이고, 위 법 제15조 제1항 규정에 의하면 노동청장의 제3자에 대한 수급권자의 손해배상청구권의 대위규정이 있으나 이로서 그 대위하게 된 이전에 있어서도 수급권자의 위와 같은 면제가 제한된다고는 풀이될 수도 없는 이치라 할 것이므로 위 법 제16조 제2항 및 제15조 제1항의 규정으로 말미암아 수급권자의 자기에 대하여 부담하는 제3자의 손해배상채무의 전부 또는 일부의 면제가 제한된다고 볼 수 없다 할 것이다)

재해보상보험제도는 수급권자가 입은 재해를 그 청구에 의하여 보상함에 그 목적이 있다 할 것이며 (위 법 제1조 및 제9조 제2항) 위 법 제15조 제2항의 규정은 수급권자가 제3자로부터 동일한 사유로 인하여 손해를 받을 때에는 노동청장(국가)은 수급권자가 받은 그 손해액의 한도안에서 보험급여를 하지 아니한다는 것을 밝히고 있고, 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 수급권자의 보험급여청구권이 발생하였을 경우에 수급권자의 보험급여청구권은 그의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권과 상호보완관계에 있다 할 것이므로 수급권자의 지급받은 보험급여액은 가해 제3자에 대한 손해배상액에서 공제되어야 한다는 취지의 법리(대법원 1974.7.16. 선고 74다565 판결참조) 및 위 법 제15조 제2항 규정의 노동청장은 수급권자가 제3자로부터 동일사유로 인하여 손해배상을 받을 때에는 그 받은 손해액의 한도안에서 보험급여를 하지 아니한다는 취지로 미루어, 하물며 수급권자가 마땅히 받을 그 배상액의 전부 또는 일부를 면제한 것이라면 노동청장은 수급권자의 그 면제한 한도에 있어서의 보험급여도 역시 지급하지 아니하는 취지로 풀이되는 등 여러모를 종합해서 보면, 위 법 제15조 제1항 규정에 의하여 노동청장이 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하기 전에는 수급권자 스스로가 제3자의 자기에 대한 손해배상 채무의 전부 또는 일부를 면제할 수 있는 것이며 그 면제한 한도에서 손해배상청구권을 상실한 경우에는 그 면제한 것으로 인정될 수 없는 특별한 사정이 없는 한 그 면제한 한도에 있어서의 산재보험금청구권을 상실한 것으로 보아야 할 것이고, 따라서 노동청장(국가)은 수급권자의 그 면제한 한도부분에 있어서의 보험급여지급이 면책되는 것으로 해석함이 상당하다 할 것이다.

다만 이와 같이 해석한다면 수급권자의 경솔한 또는 진의 아닌 화해등으로 보험급여를 받을 권리를 상실하게 되어 수급권자에 대한 신속공정한 보상을 하려는 산재보험제도의 취지에 어긋나는 결과가 될 우려가 없다고는 할 수 없으나, 이는 위 설시와 같이 위 산업재해보상보험법규정 및 사법자치원칙등의 해석상 부득이하다 하지 아니할 수 없으므로 위와 같이 바람직하지 못한 것으로 예상될 수도 있는 점은 산재보험제도에 대한 수급권자의 인식을 주지시키고, 보험급여지급을 신속히 하는 한편 손해배상채무의 면제가 수급권자의 진의에 의한 것인지의 여부, 특히 착오 또는 사기, 강박등에 의한 것인지를 신중히 가려내는 등으로 가능한 한 그 예상될 수 있는 폐단을 방지하거나 축소케 할 수 없는 바는 아니라 할 것이다. 그렇다면 원심이 확정한 사실과 같이 수급권자인 피고들이 가해 제3자인 소외 항공회사와의간의 손해배상청구에서 한 화해에 있어서 그 면제한 부분의 효력을 다투는 아무런 주장입증을 한 바 없고, 특히 그 면제가 법정화해에 의한 것으로서 그 화해로서의 기판력에 저촉되는 주장을 할 수 없는 본건의 경우에 있어서는 위 설시와 같이 수급권자인 피고들의 위와 같은 면제는 그 진의에 따른 것으로 볼 수 밖에 없다 할 것이고, 따라서 그 면제한 부분에 있어서는 노동청장에 대한 산재보험급여청구권은 상실된 것으로 보아야 할 것임에도 원심이 위와 같이 피고들의 법정화해에서 면제한 손해배상금액 부분에 대하여서도 여전히 수급권자로서의 그 보험급여를 청구할 권한이 있다고 한 판단 조처는 산업재해보상보험법에 있어서의 보험급여청구에 관한 법리를 오해하므로서 판결결과에 영향을 미쳤다 할 것이니 이점을 논난하는 보험급여청구권이 상실되었다는 논지의 결론은 이유있다 할 것이므로 원심판결중 원고 패소부분은 파기를 면치 못한다 할 것이다.

그러므로 원심판결중 원고 패소부분을 파기하고 원심으로 하여금 다시 심리판단케 하기 위하여 이부분 사건을 서울고등법원으로 환송하기로 하여 관여법관 중 대법원판사 김영세, 동 민문기, 동 임항준, 동 이일규, 동 강안희, 동 김용철, 동 정태원의 다음과 같은 반대의견을 제외한 전원의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법원판사 김영세, 동 민문기, 동 임항준, 동 이일규, 동 강안희, 동 김용철, 동 정태원의 반대의견은 다음과 같다.

산업재해보상보험제도는 근로자보호에 기여함을 그 목적으로 하여(법1조) 법이 정한 근로자가 업무상 부상을 입었거나 사망한 경우에 그 근로자나 유족에게 보험급여를 하도록 규정되어 있으면서도(법9조) 동 보험사업의 재원은 근로자로부터 징수하는 것이 아니고 보험가입이 강제된 사업주와 국고의 부담(법2조의2)으로 충당하게 되어 있으며 법은 근로자의 보험금수급권을 보호하기 위하여 보험급여를 받을 권리는 양도 또는 압류도 할 수 없고(법16조 2항), 보험금에 대하여는 조세 기타 공과금도 부과하지 못하도록 규정하는 등(법17조)산업재해보상보험법 전규정의 정신은 근로자보호에 철저를 기하고자 함에 있음을 알 수 있는 바 이러한 제도하의 근로자의 보험금수급권이 상실되거나 소멸되려면 법에 규정된 소멸시효가 완성되거나(법30조) 근로자나 제3자의 불법행위로 인하여 손해를 입은 경우에 그 제3자로부터 손해배상을 이미 받은 경우등(법 15조 2항) 법에 명문의 규정이 있는 경우에 한한다 할 것이요, 이러한 명문의 규정없이 근로자의 보험금 수급권이 박탈될 수 없음은 너무나 당연한 법리라 할 것이다. 위와 같은 사리는 사법상 일반적인 권리도 명문의 규정없이 이를 제한하거나 박탈할 수 없음은 명백한 법리인데 하물며 사회정책적 목적으로 근로자에게 일방적인 혜택을 주려는 특별법상의 이건 보험금수급권을 명문의 규정없이 상실되었다고 가볍게 선언한 조처는 법을 일탈한 것이라고 아니할 수 없다. 다수의견은 법 15조 1, 2항의 규정을 들어 이건의 경우 피고들이 소외 세기항공회사로부터 손해배상을 받을 권리를 포기함으로써 원고산하 노동청장으로 하여금 동 항공회사에 대한 피고들의 손해배상청구권을 대위행사할 수 없도록 하였으니 따라서 보험급여청구권이 상실되었다는 취지인 것 같으나 법의 어느 조문을 보아도 위와 같이 수급권자가 가해자인 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 면제하거나 포기한 경우에는 보험급여를 아니한다는 규정은 없고 다만 15조 2항에 수급권자가 제3자로부터 손해배상을 받은때에는 그 한도에서 보험급여를 아니한다는 규정이 있을 뿐이므로 다수의견은 위 조항을 유추해석하여 위와 같은 판단을 한 것 같으나 법의 유추해석으로 타인의 권리를 박탈할 수 있다는 법리도 없거니와 가사 그러한 법리가 있다고 하더라도 위 조항은 가해자인 제3자로부터 근로자에게 이미 손해배상금이 지급된 경우에는 또다시 2중으로 보험금을 지급하지 아니한다는 규정일 뿐 동규정이 있다하여 근로자가 제3자로부터 손해배상금을 받은 경우가 아니더라도 동 손해배상청구권을 근로자가 포기한 경우에는 보험급여 청구권은 소멸된다는 비약적 유추해석은 다음과 같은 이유로 인하여 도저히 나올 여지가 없다할 것이다. 즉 산업재해보상보험제도에 있어서는 근로자의 부상이나 사망이 제3자의 불법행위로 인한 경우라도 법 제15조 1항에 의한 대위권 행사로 인하여 노동청장이 받는 손해배상금으로 보험급여를 하는 것이 아니고 위 대위권 행사로 인하여 손해배상을 받고 안받고에 관계없이 보험금이 지급될 것임은 법의 규정상 명백한 법리인 이상 노동청장의 보험금지급의무와 법 15조 1 항의 대위권과는 법률상 아무런 연관이 없다 할 것인데 어떠한 법적 근거로 노동청장의 대위권을 상실시킨 근로자측의 행위로 인하여 근로자의 보험금 수급권이 상실된단 말인가, 이는 근로자가 노동청장의 권리를 상실시켰으니 노동청장도 근로자의 다른 권리를 상실시켜야 한다는 법에 근거없는 보복적 사고에서 연유된 논지에 불과하다고 아니할 수 없다. 차라리 법에 충실하려면 근로자측의 행위로 인하여 노동청장의 위 대위권이 상실되었으니 근로자는 이로 인한 손해배상을 할 의무가 있다함은 별문제라 할 것이고 이 경우 근로자에게 노동청장에 대한 손해배상의무가 있다 하여 근로자가 가지는 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험금수급권이 상실된다는 법리는 있을 수 없다할 것이다.

결국 다수의견은 법리에 어긋나는 유추해석으로 적법한 원판결을 위법하다 하여 파기하는 잘못을 저지른 결과가 되었다고 아니할 수 없다.

대법관 민복기(재판장) 이영섭 주재황 김영세 민문기 양병호 한환진 임항준 안병수 김윤행 이일규 강안희 라길조 김용철 유태흥 정태원

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2021다252472 · 대법원 2022-04-14
Damages Claim (Motor Vehicle Accident) (손해배상(자))
#2
2016다240093 · 대법원 2016-12-01
Damages (Other)
#3
89다5997 · 대법원 1990-02-13
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#4
87다카2057 · 대법원 1989-06-27
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
88다카5041 · 대법원 1989-04-25
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Cases citing this decision

2021다241618 · 대법원 2022-03-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2005두7501 · 대법원 2007-06-15
Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Compensation Pe
2000두918 · 대법원 2000-08-18
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
98구18366 · 서울행법 1999-06-17
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
84나841 · 서울고법 1984-07-31
약정금청구사건

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)