Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 81다카351

Claim for Damages손해배상

Decided1981. 10. 13. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) — ruling in favor of the worker's position that medical care compensation is not subject to fault-based deduction
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This Supreme Court precedent established the principle that comparative negligence (과실상계) based on a worker's own fault cannot be applied to medical care compensation (요양보상) received by an injured worker under industrial accident compensation. Unlike temporary disability compensation (휴업보상) and permanent disability compensation (장해보상), medical care compensation must be paid by the employer even if the worker was grossly negligent. Accordingly, the Court ruled that the portion of medical care compensation corresponding to the worker's fault ratio cannot be deducted from damages as unjust enrichment (부당이득).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker injured in an industrial accident received medical care compensation, but the lower court reduced the compensation amount by applying comparative negligence based on the worker's fault.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court reversed this decision, holding that medical care compensation must be paid in full regardless of the worker's negligence, since no statutory exception permits reduction of this specific benefit.
  • LessonEmployers cannot use a worker's negligence to reduce or reclaim medical care compensation payments, even if such negligence would justify deductions from other types of industrial accident benefits like disability compensation.
Issues
  • Whether comparative negligence (과실상계) can be applied to medical care compensation (요양보상) under the Labor Standards Act
  • Whether the portion of medical care compensation corresponding to the worker's fault ratio can be deducted from the damages award
Key reasoning

Under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the industrial accident compensation system is based on the principle of no-fault liability (무과실책임) on the part of the employer. Article 81 explicitly allows the employer to be exempted from liability only for temporary disability compensation and permanent disability compensation when the worker's gross negligence caused the accident. However, no such exception exists for medical care compensation. Therefore, comparative negligence principles and claims for return of unjust enrichment cannot be applied to reduce or offset medical care compensation payments.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

Under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), with respect to disaster compensation, an employer may be exempted from liability for compensation for suspension of work compensation and disability compensation on the ground that the worker was grossly negligent (Article 81 of the Labor Standards Act), but with respect to other compensation such as medical care compensation or survivor's compensation, even if the worker was grossly negligent, the employer may not take this into account to be exempted from liability for compensation, nor may the scope of compensation be limited by applying the theory of comparative negligence. Accordingly, the amount corresponding to the ratio of negligence out of the medical care compensation received by the injured worker cannot be deducted from the employer's amount of damages on the ground that it constitutes unjust enrichment.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,613 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant]

[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Coal Corporation (대한석탄공사), Attorney Lim Chae-hong, Litigation Representative

[Court Below]

Seoul High Court Decision 81Na495 rendered on April 13, 1981

[Order]

1. The part of the judgment below dismissing the claim for payment of 160,503 won and interest thereon at the rate of 5% per annum from August 21, 1980 until full payment, among the parts of the judgment against the Plaintiff, is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

2. The Plaintiff's appeal with respect to the remaining part of the losing portion, aside from the part reversed above, is dismissed.

3. The costs of appeal with respect to the dismissed part of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The Court examines the grounds of appeal submitted by the Plaintiff's attorney.

1.
The purpose of the disaster compensation system under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) is to require an employer, who places workers providing labor under his control and operates an enterprise inherently involving the risk of disaster, to compensate for damage suffered by workers due to the occurrence of a disaster, regardless of whether the employer was at fault. Therefore, it is not required that a worker's occupational injury or illness be attributable to the employer's negligence; furthermore, as a general principle, even where the worker was negligent, such negligence may not be taken into account so as to exempt the employer from liability for compensation or to limit the scope of such compensation. In this respect, it must be held that the principle of fault-based liability and the theory of comparative negligence do not apply to the above-mentioned disaster compensation liability, except in cases specifically provided for by statute.

As an exception to the above principle of disaster compensation liability, Article 81 of the Labor Standards Act provides that where a worker suffers an occupational injury or illness due to his own gross negligence, and the employer has obtained recognition of such negligence from the Labor Relations Commission, the employer need not provide temporary disability compensation or disability compensation. According to this provision, with respect to temporary disability compensation and disability compensation, there is a way for the employer to be exempted from liability for compensation on the ground of the worker's gross negligence; however, with respect to other types of compensation, such as medical care compensation or survivors' compensation, the worker's gross negligence has no effect whatsoever on the employer's liability for compensation.

(However, in the case of medical care compensation, pursuant to Article 14, Paragraph 2 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), the Chief of the Labor Office may withhold all or part of the insurance benefits with respect to a worker who violates instructions concerning medical care or impedes his own recovery.)

2.
In this case, the court below, based on the evidence cited therein, found the facts that the Plaintiff's loss of expected income due to this mining disaster accident amounted to 21,406,515 won, the loss of retirement allowance amounted to 5,688,867 won, and future medical expenses amounted to 1,582,900 won, for a total of 28,678,282 won. Taking into account the Plaintiff's negligence, which contributed to this accident, the court below fixed the Defendant's amount of compensation at 21,500,000 won, and then deducted from this amount of compensation the sum of 160,503 won, corresponding to the Plaintiff's ratio of negligence, out of the temporary disability benefits of 444,445 won and the medical care benefits of 642,015 won, which the Plaintiff admitted to having received.

However, it is clear that the deduction of the medical care benefits among the above deducted amounts was made by partially accepting the Defendant's defense to the effect that, of the medical care benefits of 642,015 won, the amount corresponding to the Plaintiff's ratio of negligence was an amount that the Plaintiff himself should have borne but which the Defendant paid instead, so that the Defendant has a right to claim restitution of unjust enrichment, and that this right should be set off against an equal amount. If the above medical care benefits refer to the medical care compensation provided for in Article 78 of the Labor Standards Act, then, as explained above, the Defendant, as employer, is obligated to pay the full amount thereof absent special circumstances, and cannot be exempted from paying the amount corresponding to the ratio of the Plaintiff's negligence merely because the Plaintiff was negligent. Therefore, there is no room for a right to claim restitution of unjust enrichment to arise with respect to this amount.

The court below should have clarified whether the medical care benefits asserted by the Defendant constitute medical care compensation as provided for in Article 79 of the Labor Standards Act, and if it does constitute such medical care compensation, then, absent special circumstances, not even a portion thereof may be deducted. Nevertheless, the court below failed to reach this conclusion, and this constitutes an error of law. Such error is a material violation of law that is significantly contrary to justice and equity; therefore, this part of the judgment below cannot escape reversal, and the argument on this point is well-founded.

3.
Accordingly, the Court's prior views inconsistent with this judgment (Supreme Court Decision 80Da2316 rendered on June 23, 1981, and Supreme Court Decision 80Da3252 rendered on July 28, 1981) are hereby overruled.

In conclusion, the part of the judgment below dismissing the claim for payment of 160,503 won and interest thereon at the rate of 5% per annum from August 21, 1980 until full payment, among the parts of the judgment against the Plaintiff, is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court for retrial; the appeal with respect to the remaining part of the losing portion, aside from the part reversed above, is without merit and is therefore dismissed; and the costs of appeal with respect to the dismissed part of the appeal shall be borne by the Appellant. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order, by the unanimous opinion of all participating Justices.

Justice Yoo Tae-heung (Presiding Justice), Lee Il-gyu, Kim Jung-seo, Jeong Tae-gyun, Kang Woo-young, Lee Seong-ryeol, Jeon Sang-seok, Lee Jeong-woo, Yoon Il-young, Kim Deok-ju, Shin Jeong-cheol, Lee Hoi-chang

【판결요지】

근로기준법상의 재해보상 중 휴업보상과 장해보상에 대하여는 근로자에게 중대한 과실이 있음을 이유로 그 보상책임을 면할 길이 있으나 ( 근로기준법 제81조), 그 외의 요양보상 또는 유족보상등에 있어서는 근로자에게 중대한 과실이 있다고 하여도 사용자가 이를 참작하여 그 보상책임을 면하거나 과실상계의 이론에 따라 보상의 범위를 제한하지 못한다. 따라서 재해근로자가 수령한 요양보상중 과실비율에 따른 금원을 부당이득이라 하여 사용자의 손해배상액으로부터 공제할 수 없다.

【참조조문】

근로기준법 제78조, 산업재해보상보험법 제9조의 3, 제11조, 민법 제763조

【참조판례】

대법원 1981.6.23. 선고 80다2316 판결 , 1981.7.28. 선고 80다3252 판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,433자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】

【피고, 피상고인】 대한석탄공사 소송대리인 변호사 임채홍

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1981.4.13. 선고 81나495 판결

【주 문】

1. 원심판결의 원고 패소부분 중 160,503원 및 이에 대한 1980.8.21부터 완제시까지 연 5푼의 비율에 의한 금원의 지급청구를 기각한 부분을 파기하고, 이부분 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

2. 위 파기부분의 나머지 패소부분에 대한 원고의 상고를 기각한다.

3. 위 상고기각 부분에 관한 상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 원고대리인의 상고이유를 본다.

1. 근로기준법상의 재해보상제도는 근로를 제공하는 근로자를 그 지배하에 두고 재해위험이 내재된 기업을 경영하는 사용자로 하여금 그 과실 유무를 묻지 아니하고 재해발생으로 근로자가 입은 손해를 보상케 하려는 데에 그 목적이 있으므로, 근로자의 업무상 부상 또는 질병이 사용자의 과실에 기한 것임을 요하지 않음은 물론, 근로자에게 과실이 있는 경우에도 이를 참작하여 그 보상 책임을 면하거나 보상의 범위를 제한하지 못하는 것이 원칙이라고 하겠으며, 이러한 점에서 과실책임의 원칙과 과실상계의 이론은 법률에서 특별히 규정한 경우를 제외하고는 위 재해보상 책임에는 적용되지 않는다고 보아야 할 것이다.

위와 같은 재해보상 책임의 원칙에 대한 예외로서 근로기준법 제81조는 근로자가 중대한 과실로 인하여 업무상 부상 또는 질병에 걸리고 또는 사용자가 그 과실에 대하여 노동위원회의 인정을 받은 경우에 휴업보상 또는 장해 보상을 행하지 아니하여도 무방하다고 규정하고 있는바, 이에 의하면 휴업보상과 장해보상에 대하여는 근로자에게 중대한 과실이 있음을 이유로 그 보상책임을 면할 길이 있으나 그외의 요양보상 또는 유족보상 등에 있어서는 근로자에게 중대한 과실이 있다고 하여도 사용자의 보상책임에 아무런 영향이 없는 것이다 (다만, 요양 보상의 경우에 산업재해보상보험법 제14조 제2항의 규정에 의하여 노동청장은 요양에 관한 지시를 위배하거나 그 치유를 방해한 근로자에 대하여는 보험급여의 전부 또는 이를 하지 않을 수 있도록 되어 있다).

2. 이 사건에서 원심은 그 거시 증거에 의하여 원고의 이 사건 광산재해 사고로 인한 기대수익 상실액이 21,406,515원, 퇴직금 손해액이 5,688,867원 및 향후 치료비가 1,582,900원 도합 28,678,282원이 되는 사실을 인정하고, 이 사건 사고에 경합된 원고의 과실을 참작하여 피고의 배상액을 21,500,000원으로 정한 다음, 원고가 수령하였음을 자인하는 휴업급여금 444,445원 및 요양급여금 642,015원 중 원고의 과실비율에 따른 액수인 160,503원을 위 배상액으로부터 공제하였다.

그러나 위 공제액 중 요양급여금의 공제는 위 요양급여금 642,015원 중 원고 과실비율에 상당한 금액은 원고가 부담하여야 할 것을 피고가 지급한 것으로서 피고에게 그 부당이득 반환청구권이 있으니 이것과 대등액에서 상계한다는 취지의 피고 항변을 일부 받아들여 공제한 것임이 분명한바, 위 요양급여금이란 것이 근로기준법 제78조에 규정된 요양보상을 의미하는 것이라면 위에서 설시한 바와 같이 사용자인 피고는 특단의 사정이 없는 한 그 전액을 지급할 의무가 있고 원고의 과실이 있다고 하여 그 과실비율에 상당한 금액의 지급을 면할 수는 없는 것이므로 이 금액부분에 대한 부당이득 반환청구권이 발생할 여지가 없는 것이다.

원심으로서는 피고가 주장하는 요양급여금이 근로기준법 제79조 소정의 요양보상인지 아닌지를 밝힌 다음 위 요양보상에 해당하는 것이라면 특별한 사정이 없는 한 그 일부라도 공제하지 못하는 것임에도 불구하고 이에 이르지 아니한 위법이 있고, 이러한 위법은 현저히 정의와 형평에 반하는 중대한 법령위반이라고 하겠으므로 원심판결 중 이 부분은 파기를 면치 못하는 것으로서 논지는 이유있다.

3. 그러므로 이 판결에 저촉되는 종전의 당원 견해( 1981.6.23. 선고 80다2316 판결과 1981.7.28. 선고 80다3252 판결)는 이를 변경하기로 한다.

결국 원심판결의 원고 패소부분 중 160,503원 및 이에 대한 1980.8.21부터 완제시까지 연 5푼의 비율에 의한 금원의 지급청구를 기각한 부분을 파기하여 이 부분 사건을 다시 심리케 하고자 서울고등법원에 환송하며, 위 파기부분 외의 나머지 패소부분에 대한 상고는 이유가 없어 기각하고, 상고기각 부분에 관한 상고 비용은 상고인의 부담으로 하여, 법관전원의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 유태흥(재판장) 이일규 김중서 정태균 강우영 이성렬 전상석 이정우 윤일영 김덕주 신정철 이회창

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
94다40543 · 대법원 1994-12-27
Damages (Industrial Accident) Case
#2
94다33491 · 대법원 1994-10-28
Damages (Industrial Accident)
#3
85나861 · 서울고법 1985-07-18
손해배상청구사건
#4
85나3259 · 서울고법 1986-02-27
손해배상청구사건
#5
2023다297141 · 대법원 2025-06-26
Damages for Industrial Accident (손해배상(산)) [Case where an inj

Cases citing this decision

2009가합22910 · 인천지법 2011-04-13
선원재해보상금
2009다97314 · 대법원 2010-02-25
Unjust Enrichment (부당이득금)
94다40543 · 대법원 1994-12-27
Damages (Industrial Accident) Case
80나2968 · 서울고법 1981-03-06
손해배상등청구사건

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)