Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 92누14502

Revocation of Initial Denial of Medical Care Benefits (Full-Time Union Official's Work-Related Injury Case)최초요양불승인처분취소

Decided1994. 02. 22. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) — the Supreme Court sent the case back to the lower court for further review, effectively ruling in favor of the worker's position that his injury could qualify as work-related.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved a worker who, with the company's consent, worked full-time on labor union affairs (노조전임자) and suffered a cerebral hemorrhage due to overwork. The Korean Supreme Court ruled that if such a worker maintains employee status and the union work performed is closely related to the company's labor management, the resulting illness qualifies as a work-related injury (업무상 재해) under Korea's industrial accident compensation system. However, injuries arising from activities unrelated to the company's business—such as involvement in higher-level union federations, illegal union activities, or labor disputes (쟁의행위)—are excluded from this protection.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker permitted by his company to serve full-time as a union official suffered a cerebral hemorrhage due to overwork from union duties.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that such illness can be recognized as a work-related injury if the worker retains employee status and the union work is closely tied to the company's labor management, and sent the case back for reconsideration.
  • LessonEmployers and full-time union officials should understand that injuries from union work closely linked to company labor relations may be compensable, but injuries from external federation activities, illegal actions, or strikes typically are not.
Issues
  • Whether a full-time union official (노조전임자), who works with the company's consent, can have his illness or injury recognized as a work-related injury (업무상 재해)
  • How the relationship between union duties and the company's labor management affects the determination of work-relatedness
  • Whether maintaining formal employee status is a relevant factor in recognizing work-related injury for full-time union officials
Key reasoning

The Court held that a full-time union official who continues to be employed by the company, despite dedicating all working time to union affairs with the employer's consent, remains a 'worker' under labor law. Because such union work is often closely intertwined with the company's own labor management functions (e.g., handling grievances, communicating with management), illness caused by overwork in this capacity should be treated the same as illness caused by regular job duties. The Court clarified, however, that this protection does not extend to injuries suffered during activities disconnected from the company's business, such as work for umbrella union organizations, unlawful union activities, or strikes. The lower court erred by treating the mere fact that the injury occurred during union duties as automatically disqualifying it from work-related injury status, without properly examining the nature and relationship of the specific union work to the company's operations.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

If a full-time union official is exempted from the duties originally assigned to him under his labor contract and is engaged full-time in union affairs with the consent of the employer company, and if he retained his status as an employee at the time the injury occurred, and if his illness arose from physical or mental overwork in the course of performing union duties, then, absent special circumstances, this must be regarded as an occupational disease under Article 3(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). (However, injuries arising from activities related to labor organizations at a higher or federated level that are unrelated to the employer's business by the nature of such duties, or from unlawful union activities, or from union activities occurring after entry into a dispute stage that places the union in opposition to the employer, cannot be regarded as occupational injuries.)

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,126 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant]

[Defendant, Appellee] Head of Seoul Northern District Labor Office

[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 92Gu3993 rendered on August 21, 1992

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

The Court examines the grounds of appeal submitted by the Plaintiff's litigation representative.

1. According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found the following facts: that the Plaintiff joined the non-party company and worked as a switchman (조차원); that on November 17, 1987, the Plaintiff was elected as the chairman of the labor union of the non-party company, and thereafter, with the approval of the non-party company pursuant to Article 11 of the collective bargaining agreement, the Plaintiff was relieved of his original duties as a switchman under the employment contract and worked exclusively on union affairs, while receiving the same treatment as before from the said company; that around November 19, 1988, while the Plaintiff was working exclusively on union affairs, he developed physical disabilities such as speech paralysis and right hemiplegia due to illnesses including subarachnoid hemorrhage; and other findings regarding the circumstances and causes of the Plaintiff's illness. Based on these findings, the court below determined that although the Plaintiff's above illness appeared to have resulted from the accumulation of mental and physical overwork while the Plaintiff, as the union chairman, was performing union duties, the Plaintiff, at the time the illness occurred, was not performing his original duties under the employment contract but was exclusively engaged in union duties that were outside the employer's direction and supervision, and that such duties did not constitute "work" in the sense of "occupational injury" (업무상재해), which is a requirement for a claim for medical care benefits, etc. under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). Accordingly, the court below rejected the Plaintiff's claim in this case seeking revocation of the disapproval of medical care benefits.

2. However, as recognized by the facts established by the court below and the related evidence, if it is the case that the Plaintiff was relieved of his original duties as a switchman under the employment contract and worked exclusively on union affairs with the consent of the non-party company, the employer; that at the time the injury occurred, the Plaintiff retained the status of an employee; and that the Plaintiff's illness arose from physical and mental overwork in the course of performing union duties, then, absent special circumstances, it is reasonable to interpret this as an occupational illness under Article 3(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and thus subject to insurance benefits under the said Act.

The reason is as follows. The union duties undertaken by the Plaintiff are duties closely related to the labor management affairs of the non-party company, which is the business owner; therefore, it may be viewed that the non-party company, as the business owner, merely consented to have the Plaintiff, while still retaining the status of an employee, undertake union duties in place of his original duties under the employment contract, out of the necessity of forming smooth and stable labor-management relations (under Article 12 of the collective bargaining agreement, the non-party company may order a full-time union official such as the Plaintiff to return to his original post when the grounds for full-time union service end or when there is a particular need for his return due to work requirements). If that is indeed the case, then even though the Plaintiff, at the time the illness occurred, was engaged solely in union duties not subject to the direction and supervision of the non-party company, the employer, considering the close relationship between such duties and the company's labor management affairs, the circumstances under which the Plaintiff came to undertake such duties, the fact that the Plaintiff maintained the status of an employee, and other factors relating to the Plaintiff's role and status, if the Plaintiff's illness arose from overwork during the performance of union duties, and if an industrial accident compensation insurance relationship has been established between the non-party company and the Defendant with the Plaintiff as the beneficiary, then treating the Plaintiff as a beneficiary of insurance benefits in the same manner as an ordinary employee performing his original duties under the employment contract is consistent with the purpose and intent of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, which is to protect employees from risks arising from the employment relationship (provided, however, that in the case of a person such as the Plaintiff who retains employee status while engaging solely in union duties, it is reasonable to interpret that, by the nature of such duties, injuries arising from activities related to labor organizations at a higher level or in federated relationships unconnected with the employer's business, from unlawful union activities, or from union activities occurring after entering a stage of dispute in confrontation with the employer, cannot be regarded as occupational injuries).

If that is the case, then the court below's determination, based solely on the fact that the Plaintiff was engaged in union duties at the time of the occurrence of this accident, either misapprehended the legal principles under Article 3(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, or failed to sufficiently examine whether the Plaintiff was a beneficiary entitled to insurance benefits under the said Act. The argument pointing this out is well-founded.

3. Therefore, the judgment below is reversed and the case is remanded, and this judgment is rendered as stated in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Ahn Woo-man (Presiding Justice), Kim Yong-jun, Cheon Kyung-song (Justice in charge), Ahn Yong-deuk

【판결요지】

노동조합업무 전임자가 근로계약상 본래 담당할 업무를 면하고, 노동조합의 업무를 전임하게 된 것이 사용자인 회사의 승낙에 의한 것이며, 재해 발생 당시 근로자의 지위를 보유하고 있었고, 그 질병이 노동조합업무 수행중 육체적 정신적 과로로 인하여 발병된 것이라면, 특별한 사정이 없는 한, 이는 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 소정의 업무상 질병으로 보아야 한다(다만, 그 업무의 성질상, 사용자의 사업과는 무관한 상부 또는 연합관계에 있는 노동단체와 관련된 활동이나, 불법적인 노동조합활동 또는 사용자와 대립관계로 되는 쟁의 단계에 들어간 이후의 노동조합활동중에 생긴 재해 등은 이를 업무상 재해로 볼 수 없다).

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항

【참조판례】

대법원 1991.4.9. 선고 90누10483 판결(공1991,1389)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,169자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】

【피고, 피상고인】 서울북부지방노동사무소장

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1992.8.21. 선고 92구3993 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 원고 소송대리인의 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심은, 원고가 소외 주식회사에 입사하여 조차원으로 근무하다가 1987. 11. 17. 소외 회사 노동조합의 위원장으로 선출된 이래 단체협약 제11조에 따른 소외 회사의 승인을 받아 원고의 근로계약상의 본연의 업무인 조차원업무를 면하고 노동조합업무만을 전임하며 위 회사로부터 종전과 같은 처우를 받아 온 사실, 원고가 노동조합업무를 전임하여 오던중인 1988. 11. 19.경 뇌지주막하출혈 등 질병으로 언어마비, 우측반신마비 등의 신체장해가 생긴사실 및 원고의 위 질병이 발생하게된 경위와 연유 등에 관한 판시사실을 인정한 다음, 원고의 위의 질병은 원고가 노동조합위원장으로서 노동조합업무를 수행하던중 그 업무상의 정신적 육체적 과로가 누적되어 발생한 것으로 보이지만, 원고는 위의 질병이 발병할 당시 근로계약상의 본래의 업무는 수행하지 않고 사용자의 업무상의 지휘감독을 벗어난 노동조합의 업무만을 전담하였고, 이는 산업재해보상보험법상의 요양급여 등 지급청구의 요건이 되는 업무상재해에 있어서의 업무에 해당하지 아니한다고 판단하여 원고의 이 사건 요양불승인처분취소청구를 배척하였다.

2. 그러나 원심이 확정한 사실과 관계증거에 의하여 인정되는 바와 같이, 원고가 근로계약상 본래 담당할 업무인 조차원의 업무를 면하고, 노동조합의 업무를 전임하게 된 것이 사용자인 소외 회사의 승낙에 의한 것이며, 재해발생당시 원고가 근로자의 지위를 보유하고 있었고, 원고의 질병이 노동조합업무수행중 육체적 정신적과로로 인하여 발병된 것이라면, 특별한 사정이 없는 한, 이는 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 소정의 업무상 질병으로 보아 그 법 소정의 보험급여지급대상으로 해석함이 상당하다.

왜냐하면 원고가 담당한 노동조합업무는 원래 사업주인 소외 회사의 노무관리업무와 밀접히 관련된 업무이고, 그러기 때문에 사업주인 소외 회사로서는 원만하고 안정된 노사관계를 형성하기 위한 필요에서 원고로 하여금 종업원의 지위는 여전히 보유한 채 근로계약상의 본래 업무 대신 노동조합업무를 담당하도록 승낙한 것에 불과하다고 볼 수 있고(단체협약 제12조에 의하면 소외 회사는 원고와 같은 노동조합전임종사자의 전임종사 사유가 끝나거나 업무상 특히 복귀의 필요가 있을 때는 복귀를 명할 수 있도록 규정하고 있다), 사실이 그러하다면, 비록 원고가 발병할 당시 사용자인 소외 회사의 지휘감독을 받지 않는 노동조합업무만을 담당하고 있었다고 할지라도, 그 업무와 회사노무관리업무 사이의 밀접한 관련성, 원고가 그 업무를 담당하게 된 경위, 원고가 종업원의 지위를 유지하고 있는 점 등 원고의 역할과 지위로 볼때, 원고가 노동조합업무수행중 과로로 인하여 발병한 것이고 또한 소외 회사와 피고사이에 원고를 수급권자로 한 산업재해보상보험관계가 성립되어 있다면, 원고를 근로계약상의 본래 업무에 종사하고 있는 일반근로자와 다름없이 보험급여의 수급권자로 보는 것이 근로계약관계에서 생기는 위험으로부터 근로자를 보호하려는 산업재해보상보험법의 목적과 취지에 부합되기 때문이다(다만 원고와 같은 종업원의 지위는 보유한 채 노동조합 업무만을 담당하는자의 경우에는, 그 업무의 성질상, 사용자의 사업과는 무관한 상부 또는 연합관계에 있는 노동단체와 관련된 활동이나, 불법적인 노동조합활동 또는 사용자와 대립관계로 되는 쟁의 단계에 들어간 이후의 노동조합활동중에 생긴 재해 등은 이를 업무상 재해로 볼 수 없는 것이라고 풀이함이 상당하다).

그러하다면 원심이 이 사건 재해발생당시 원고가 노동조합업무를 담당하고 있었다는 이유만으로 위와 같이 판단하고만 것은 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항의 법리를 오해한 것이 아니면 원고가 위법상의 보험급여수급권자인지에 대한 심리를 다하지 못한 잘못을 저지른 것이라고 할 것이고, 이를 지적하는 논지는 이유 있다.

3. 그러므로 원심판결을 파기환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 안우만(재판장) 김용준 천경송(주심) 안용득

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
96다12733 · 대법원 1996-06-28
Claim for Survivor's Compensation (유족보상등)
#2
2005두11418 · 대법원 2007-03-29
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
2003두4805 · 대법원 2005-07-15
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
#4
2014두35232 · 대법원 2014-05-29
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#5
2009구단10904 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
최초요양급여불승인처분취소

Cases citing this decision

2005두11418 · 대법원 2007-03-29
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2003두4805 · 대법원 2005-07-15
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
98구7953 · 서울행법 2000-05-10
부동산실명법
98두14006 · 대법원 1998-12-08
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
96누13866 · 대법원 1997-06-10
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)