Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 96다12733

Claim for Survivor's Compensation (유족보상등)유족보상등

Decided1996. 06. 28. Court대법원Worker (bereaved family) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This Supreme Court case addressed whether the death of a full-time union official (노조전임자) — a worker who, with the employer's consent, works exclusively on union affairs while remaining on the company payroll — from overwork while performing union duties qualifies as an occupational accident (업무상 재해). The Court held that, absent special circumstances, such a death does constitute an occupational accident. The medical insurance cooperative's appeal was dismissed, and the employer's liability for survivor's compensation (유족보상) was upheld.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA full-time union official, approved by the company to work exclusively on union affairs, died from overwork while carrying out union business.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled this death qualified as a compensable occupational accident (업무상 재해), affirming the employer's duty to pay survivor's compensation.
  • LessonEmployers who consent to full-time union officials remain liable for occupational accident compensation when overwork during legitimate union duties causes injury or death — but not for accidents arising from illegal strikes or activities for outside labor federations.
Issues
  • Whether a full-time union official, working with the employer's consent, can be recognized as suffering an occupational accident under labor law
  • The scope of employer liability for compensation when a union official dies from overwork while performing union duties
Key reasoning

A full-time union official who works exclusively on union business with the employer's consent retains employee status under labor law, since the arrangement exists based on an implicit or explicit agreement with the employer. Therefore, if the official falls ill or dies due to overwork from performing legitimate union duties, this is treated as an occupational accident for which the employer bears compensation liability. However, the Court clarified important exceptions: accidents arising from activities for higher-level labor organizations (상급단체 활동), illegal union activities (불법 노조활동), or industrial actions/strikes (쟁의행위) are excluded from this occupational accident protection, since these fall outside the scope of duties sanctioned by the employer.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Where a full-time union official has been exempted from the duties he would otherwise have performed under his employment contract and instead devotes himself full-time to union affairs with the consent of the company as employer, and where he retained the status of an employee at the time the disaster occurred, and where the disease in question arose from physical or mental overwork in the course of carrying out union duties, this must, absent special circumstances, be regarded as an occupational injury subject to disaster compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). However, injuries arising in the course of activities related to a labor organization at a higher or federated level that, by the nature of the duties involved, are unrelated to the employer's business, or arising from illegal union activities, or arising during union activities carried out after entering a stage of dispute in which the union stands in an adversarial relationship with the employer, cannot be regarded as occupational injuries.

Full text (English, AI translation) 3,559 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee]

[Defendant, Appellant] Geumsan-gun Medical Insurance Cooperative (Litigation representative Dongyang General Law Firm, attorneys Kim Seong-gi and 2 others)
[Judgment Below] Daejeon High Court Judgment 1996. 2. 8., Case No. 95Na4542

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.
1. As to Ground No. 1
Where an employee who serves as a full-time officer for labor union affairs is relieved of the duties originally to be performed under the labor contract and instead engages full-time in labor union affairs, and this arrangement was made with the consent of the employer company, and the employee held the status of an employee at the time the disaster occurred, and the illness in question arose from physical and mental overwork in the course of performing labor union duties, then, absent special circumstances, this should be regarded as an occupational accident subject to accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). However, disasters arising from activities related to labor organizations at a higher level or in a federated relationship that are unrelated, by the nature of the duties, to the employer's business, or from unlawful labor union activities, or from labor union activities occurring after entering a dispute stage in which the union is in an adversarial relationship with the employer, cannot be regarded as occupational accidents (see this Court's Decision 92Nu14502, delivered on 1994. 2. 22.).

According to the facts found by the court below, the Defendant Cooperative is a workplace to which the Labor Standards Act applies, and the deceased non-party, pursuant to the Defendant Cooperative's order of dispatch based on the collective agreement, served full-time solely in the affairs of the labor union of the Chungnam Regional Medical Insurance Cooperative. The deceased continued to receive the same treatment from the Defendant Cooperative as before, and the mental and physical overwork arising from the deceased's excessive performance of duties as a full-time union officer compounded with, and thereby induced or aggravated, the principal cause of the illness that led to the deceased's death. Accordingly, the deceased's death constitutes an occupational death as prescribed in Articles 82 and 83 of the Labor Standards Act.

The judgment of the court below, which is to the same effect, is correct, and there is no illegality therein, such as a misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the requirements for liability for occupational accident compensation, as argued in the grounds of appeal. This ground is without merit.

2. As to Ground No. 2
Even upon examining the details of the deceased's overwork as found by the court below, it is clear that such overwork resulted from the performance of labor union duties. Therefore, the Defendant's argument that the deceased's death falls under the grounds for exclusion from occupational accidents as discussed above cannot be accepted.

Furthermore, the precedents of this Court cited by the Defendant concern facts different from those of the present case and are not suitable to be invoked here. This ground is also without merit.

3. Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing Defendant. The Justices involved unanimously agree, and it is so ordered as stated in the Order.

Justice Kim Hyeong-seon (Presiding Justice)
Park Man-ho (Justice in charge)
Park Jun-seo
Lee Yong-hun

【판결요지】

노동조합업무 전임자가 근로계약상 본래 담당할 업무를 면하고 노동조합의 업무를 전임하게 된 것이 사용자인 회사의 승낙에 의한 것이며 재해 발생 당시 근로자의 지위를 보유하고 있었고 그 질병이 노동조합업무 수행 중 육체적·정신적 과로로 인하여 발병된 경우, 특별한 사정이 없는 한 이는 근로기준법상 재해보상이 되는 업무상 재해로 보아야 하고, 다만 그 업무의 성질상 사용자의 사업과는 무관한 상부 또는 연합관계에 있는 노동단체와 관련된 활동이거나 불법적인 노동조합 활동 또는 사용자와 대립관계로 되는 쟁의단계에 들어간 이후의 노동조합 활동 중에 생긴 재해 등은 이를 업무상 재해로 볼 수 없다.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항, 근로기준법 제80조, 제82조

【참조판례】

대법원 1991. 4. 9. 선고 90누10483 판결(공1991, 1389), 대법원 1994. 2. 22. 선고 92누14502 판결(공1994상, 1109)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,243자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,피상고인】

【피고,상고인】 금산군 의료보험조합 (소송대리인 동양종합법무법인 담당변호사 김성기 외 2인)

【원심판결】 대전고법 1996. 2. 8. 선고 95나4542 판결

【주문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 피고의 부담으로 한다.

【이유】 상고이유를 본다.

1. 제1점에 대하여

노동조합업무 전임자가 근로계약상 본래 담당할 업무를 면하고 노동조합의 업무를 전임하게 된 것이 사용자인 회사의 승낙에 의한 것이며, 재해 발생 당시 근로자의 지위를 보유하고 있었고 그 질병이 노동조합업무 수행 중 육체적·정신적 과로로 인하여 발병된 것이라면, 특별한 사정이 없는 한 이는 근로기준법상 재해보상이 되는 업무상 재해로 보아야 할 것이고, 다만 그 업무의 성질상 사용자의 사업과는 무관한 상부 또는 연합관계에 있는 노동단체와 관련된 활동이거나 불법적인 노동조합 활동 또는 사용자와 대립관계로 되는 쟁의단계에 들어간 이후의 노동조합 활동 중에 생긴 재해 등은 이를 업무상 재해로 볼 수 없다고 할 것이다( 당원 1994. 2. 22. 선고 92누14502 판결 참조).

원심이 인정한 사실관계에 의하면, 피고 조합은 근로기준법이 적용되는 사업장이고 망 소외인은 단체협약에 기한 피고 조합의 파견근무 명령에 따라 충남지역의료보험조합 노동조합의 업무만을 전임하게 되었으며, 피고 조합으로부터 종전과 같은 대우를 받고 있었고 위 망인이 노조 전임자로서의 과중한 업무수행 등으로 인한 정신적·육체적 과로가 위 망인의 사망의 원인이 된 질병의 주된 발생원인에 겹쳐서 이를 유발 또는 악화시켰다는 것이므로, 위 망인의 사망은 근로기준법 제82조, 제83조 소정의 업무상 사망에 해당한다고 할 것이다.

같은 취지의 원심판단은 옳고 거기에 소론과 같은 업무상 재해 보상의 책임요건에 관한 법리오해 등의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다. 논지는 이유가 없다.

2. 제2점에 대하여

원심이 인정한 위 망인의 과로내역을 살펴보더라도 노동조합업무 수행으로 인한 것임이 분명하므로, 위 망인의 사망이 위에서 본 업무상 재해의 제외사유에 해당한다는 피고의 주장은 받아들일 수 없다.

또한 피고가 내세우는 당원의 판결들은 이 사건과 사안을 달리하는 것들로서 원용하기에 적합하지 아니하다. 논지도 이유가 없다.

3. 이에 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소한 피고의 부담으로 하기로 관여 법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김형선(재판장) 박만호(주심) 박준서 이용훈

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2003두4805 · 대법원 2005-07-15
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
#2
2007구합566 · 광주지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Compensation an
#3
98구7953 · 서울행법 2000-05-10
부동산실명법
#4
2014누46661 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#5
92누14502 · 대법원 1994-02-22
Revocation of Initial Denial of Medical Care Benefits (Full-

Cases citing this decision

98구7953 · 서울행법 2000-05-10
부동산실명법
98두14006 · 대법원 1998-12-08
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
96누13866 · 대법원 1997-06-10
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
96누18748 · 대법원 1997-05-23
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
96누16179 · 대법원 1997-03-28
Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)