Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2000다57498

Claim for Damages (Auto Insurance Case) (손해배상(자))손해배상(자)

Decided2001. 02. 09. Court대법원Employer (Moving Company) Won — The Court ruled in favor of recognizing the driver as an employee, which affected the insurer's coverage obligations
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A truck driver for a moving company (이삿짐 센터) was injured in an accident while working. The insurance company denied coverage, arguing he did not qualify as an 'employee' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). The Supreme Court ruled that, based on the actual working relationship, he was indeed an employee entitled to protection under the Act.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA moving company truck driver was injured in a work-related accident, and the insurer denied his compensation claim by classifying him as a non-employee (independent contractor).
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that, based on the actual subordinate working relationship (real supervision, fixed hours/location, exclusivity, and continuity), the driver was an employee under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act.
  • LessonCourts look beyond contractual labels to the actual working conditions when determining employee status, so businesses cannot avoid statutory obligations simply by using independent contractor agreements.
Issues
  • Whether a truck driver working for a moving company qualifies as an 'employee' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법)
  • Whether an auto insurance policy's coverage exclusion clause could be applied to deny compensation based on the driver's employment classification
Key reasoning

The Court held that employee status should be determined by the substantive nature of the working relationship, not merely by the form of the contract. Key factors include whether the worker provided labor for wages under a relationship of subordination (종속관계), including the employer's direction and supervision, designation of working hours and location, exclusivity of service, and continuity of the working relationship. Applying these criteria comprehensively, the Court found that the truck driver was in a de facto employment relationship with the moving company, despite any formal contractual arrangement suggesting independent contractor status. As a result, he qualified as an 'employee' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, and the insurer's exclusion clause could not be used to deny coverage on the basis that he was not an employee.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Whether a person constitutes a worker under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) and the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) must be determined, regardless of whether the contract is a civil law employment contract or a contract for work under the Civil Act (민법), based on the substantive question of whether the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages at a business or workplace. In making this determination, the following matters must be comprehensively considered: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and whether the worker is subject to rules of employment, service regulations, personnel regulations, etc., and whether the worker is subject to specific and direct direction and supervision by the employer in the course of performing the work; whether working hours and place of work are designated by the employer and whether the worker is bound thereby; whether the work is substitutable, such as whether the worker himself may employ a third party to perform the work in his stead; the ownership relationship regarding equipment, raw materials, and work tools; matters concerning remuneration, such as whether the remuneration has the character of consideration for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed wage is set, and whether income tax on wages is withheld at source; the continuity of the labor-provision relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive attachment to the employer; whether worker status must be recognized under other statutes, such as those concerning the social security system; and the economic and social conditions of both parties. Insofar as it is recognized, when viewed as a whole, that the person provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages, the mere fact that some of the circumstances relating to working conditions among the various indicia of worker status are lacking cannot, on that ground alone, be used to deny that the person is a worker under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and the Labor Standards Act.

[2] Case holding that a truck driver who transported household goods for a moving company was found to constitute a worker under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act.

Full text (English, AI translation) 8,869 chars

[Plaintiffs, Appellants] Plaintiff 1 and 2 others (Attorney Ye Sang-hae, Counsel for the plaintiffs)
[Defendant, Appellee] Samsung Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd.
[Judgment Below] Incheon District Court Decision 2000Na2917 dated September 7, 2000

[Order]

All appeals are dismissed.
The costs of appeal are to be borne by the Plaintiffs.

[Reasoning]

1. Whether a person constitutes a worker under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) and the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) must be determined, regardless of whether the contract in question is, in form, an employment contract or a contract for work under the Civil Act (민법), according to whether the worker, in substance, provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of receiving wages in a business or workplace. In making this determination, the following matters must be comprehensively considered: whether the content of the work was determined by the employer, whether the worker was subject to employment rules, service regulations, personnel regulations, etc., and whether the worker was subject to specific and direct direction and supervision by the employer in the course of performing the work; whether the working hours and place of work were designated by the employer and whether the worker was bound thereby; whether the work was substitutable, such as whether the worker himself could hire a third party to perform the work in his stead; the ownership of equipment, raw materials, work tools, etc.; matters concerning remuneration, including whether the remuneration had the character of consideration for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed salary was set, and whether income tax was withheld at source from the remuneration; the continuity of the labor-providing relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation to the employer; whether the status of worker must be recognized under other statutes, such as those concerning the social security system; and the economic and social conditions of both parties (see Supreme Court Decision 97Da56235 delivered on February 9, 1999; Supreme Court Decision 99Da58433 delivered on March 23, 2000, etc.).

2. The court below found as basic facts that Plaintiff 1 had been employed from around March 1996 as a driver of a 5-ton moving truck at a moving company called "○○ Express," operated by the non-party co-defendant at the first instance, and that on August 28, 1996, at 14:00, while performing moving work using a so-called ladder truck (Incheon, vehicle registration number omitted) as set forth in its findings, he sustained an injury; and that the Defendant company and the said non-party had entered into an automobile insurance contract under which the Defendant company agreed to compensate the said non-party in the event that the non-party became liable to compensate a third party for damage caused by an accident occurring while the ladder truck was in operation. Based on these facts, with respect to the Defendant company's argument that, under the terms of the insurance contract concluded between the Defendant company and the said non-party, in cases where an employee of the insured suffers an occupational injury and is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, no compensation is to be paid, and that since the accident in this case constitutes an occupational injury sustained by Plaintiff 1, an employee of the insured non-party, while performing moving work, Plaintiff 1 is entitled to receive insurance benefits under the said Act, and therefore the Defendant company cannot be held liable to respond to the Plaintiffs' claim pursuant to the said terms, the court below, upon comprehensive consideration of the evidence presented, found the following: that Article 11, Paragraph 2 of the Defendant company's General Terms and Conditions for Business Automobile Insurance provides that the Defendant company shall not compensate for damage in cases where the person is an employee of the insured who bears the liability to compensate and who is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (Item 4), or where, in cases where the insured uses the insured vehicle for the business of an employer, the person is another employee engaged in the business of that employer who is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (Item 5); that the moving company operated by the said non-party handled not only general moves but also packing moves, for which the basic personnel requirement was four laborers and one driver, and that whenever moving work arose, the non-party would instruct the laborers, including Plaintiff 1, as to the place of work, and the laborers would move to the designated place and provide their labor using the tools and means provided by the said non-party; that due to the nature of the work, which required specialized skill to transport household goods without damaging them, the non-party did not call upon just anyone as needed but rather used almost fixed daily laborers, including Plaintiff 1; and that, in particular, Plaintiff 1 had continuously provided labor to the non-party from around March 1996, working fixedly for more than 15 days per month, although during off-peak periods when the moving company had no work and was idle, he sometimes received calls from other moving companies and went to work sites to perform work for those other companies. Based on these findings, the court below determined that, in light of the fact that Plaintiff 1 was instructed by the non-party as to the specific time and place for moving work and moved to that place to work, such that the specific working hours and place were designated by the employer; that, due to the nature of the work, Plaintiff 1 could not himself hire a third party to perform the work in his stead, and thus substitutability of the work was not recognized; that the equipment, raw materials, work tools, etc. were, in principle, all owned by the non-party, and the work was performed using these; and that, although Plaintiff 1 sometimes performed work for other moving companies during off-peak periods or when work was scarce, due to the nature of the moving company business, Plaintiff 1 had been employed by the non-party from around March 1996 and had continuously provided labor while working fixedly for more than 15 days per month, such that exclusivity of affiliation was recognized to exist—the court below found it reasonable to conclude that, taken as a whole, Plaintiff 1 was in a continuous and subordinate labor relationship with the non-party and thus constituted a worker. Accordingly, the court below determined that Plaintiff 1 constituted a worker under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and was therefore entitled to receive accident compensation under the said Act, such that the Defendant company had no obligation to pay insurance benefits, other than liability insurance proceeds, to Plaintiff 1, an employee of the non-party.

3. Upon examining the relevant evidence in the record, the fact-finding of the court below as set forth above may be deemed justifiable, and it cannot be said that the court below found material facts without any evidence, or that there was any illegality such as a violation of the rules of evidence, insufficient deliberation, or failure to state reasons, as argued in the grounds of appeal. Furthermore, in light of the legal principles set forth above, given such factual relationship, the determination that Plaintiff 1 constitutes a worker under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and the Labor Standards Act is likewise justifiable, and it cannot be said that there was any illegality therein, such as a violation of precedent or a misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the concept of a worker under the said Acts.

Meanwhile, the precedents cited in the grounds of appeal all concern different factual circumstances and cannot be deemed applicable to this case. Moreover, in this case, where it is recognized, viewed as a whole, that Plaintiff 1 provided labor to the said non-party in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of receiving wages in a business or workplace, it cannot be said that Plaintiff 1 is not a worker under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and the Labor Standards Act merely because some circumstances relating to working conditions, among the various indicia of worker status, are lacking.

4. Therefore, all appeals are dismissed, and it is so decided as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Yoon Jae-sik (Presiding Justice), Song Jin-hoon, Lee Kyu-hong, Son Ji-yeol (Justice in charge)

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 및 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부는 그 계약이 민법상의 고용계약이든 또는 도급계약이든 그 형식에 관계없이 실질에 있어서 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하는 것이며, 이를 판단함에 있어서는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙·복무규정·인사규정 등의 적용을 받으며 업무 수행 과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적이고 직접적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무 시간과 근무 장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재·작업 도구 등의 소유관계, 보수가 근로 자체의 대상적(對償的) 성격을 갖고 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정하여야 하는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제·사회적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여야 하며, 전체적으로 보아 임금을 목적으로 종속적 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였다고 인정되는 이상, 근로자에 관한 여러 징표 중 근로조건에 관한 일부의 사정이 결여되었다고 하여 그러한 사유만으로 산업재해보상보장법 및 근로기준법상의 근로자가 아니라고 할 수는 없다.

[2] 이삿짐 센터의 이삿짐 운반용 트럭 운전기사가 산업재해보상보험법상의 근로자에 해당한다고 본 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 근로기준법 제14조, 산업재해보상보험법 제4조

[2] 근로기준법 제14조, 산업재해보상보험법 제4조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1996. 7. 30. 선고 95누13432 판결(공1996하, 2697), 대법원 1999. 2. 9. 선고 97다56235 판결(공1999상, 451), 대법원 2000. 1. 28. 선고 98두9219 판결(공2000상, 598), 대법원 2000. 3. 23. 선고 99다58433 판결(공2000상, 1023)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,236자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 1 외 2인 (소송대리인 변호사 예상해)

【피고, 피상고인】 삼성화재해상보험 주식회사

【원심판결】 인천지법 2000. 9. 7. 선고 2000나2917 판결

【주 문】

상고를 모두 기각한다.

상고비용은 원고들의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】1. 산업재해보상보험법 및 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부는 그 계약이 민법상의 고용계약이든 또는 도급계약이든 그 형식에 관계없이 실질에 있어서 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하는 것이며, 이를 판단함에 있어서는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙·복무규정·인사규정 등의 적용을 받으며 업무 수행 과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적이고 직접적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무 시간과 근무 장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재·작업 도구 등의 소유관계, 보수가 근로 자체의 대상적(對償的) 성격을 갖고 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정하여야 하는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제·사회적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여야 할 것이다(대법원 1999. 2. 9. 선고 97다56235 판결, 2000. 3. 23. 선고 99다58433 판결 등 참조).

2. 원심은, 원고 1이 1996년 3월경부터 제1심 공동피고 소외인이 운영하는 '○○ 익스프레스'라는 이삿짐 센터의 이삿짐 운반용 5t 트럭의 운전기사로 고용되어 근무하던 중 1996. 8. 28. 14:00 그 판시와 같이 인천 (차량등록번호 생략) 속칭 사다리차를 이용하여 이삿짐 운반작업을 하다가 상해를 입은 사실과 피고 회사와 위 소외인 사이에 위 사다리차의 운행중 사고로 타인에게 손해를 가하게 되어 이를 배상할 책임이 있는 경우에 이를 보상하여 주기로 하는 내용의 자동차보험계약을 체결한 사실 등을 기초사실로 인정한 다음, 피고 회사와 소외인 사이에 체결한 보험계약의 약관상 피보험자의 피용인이 업무상 재해를 당하여 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 경우에는 보상을 하지 않도록 규정되어 있는데 이 사건 사고는 피보험자인 소외인의 피용자인 원고 1이 이삿짐을 나르는 업무를 수행하다가 발생한 업무상 재해에 해당하므로 원고 1은 같은 법상의 보험급여를 받을 수 있어 피고 회사는 위 약관에 기하여 원고들의 청구에 응할 수 없다는 피고 회사의 주장에 대하여, 그 내세운 증거를 종합하여, 피고 회사의 업무용 자동차보험보통약관 제11조 제2항은 배상책임의무가 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람(제4호), 피보험자가 피보험자동차를 사용자의 업무에 사용하는 경우 그 사용자의 업무에 종사 중인 다른 피용자로서 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우(제5호)에는 피고 회사가 그 손해를 보상하지 아니하도록 규정하고 있는 사실, 위 소외인 운영의 이삿짐 센터는 일반 이사뿐 아니라 인부 4명, 운전기사 1명이 기본인원인 포장 이사도 함께 취급하였고 이삿짐을 운반할 일이 생기면 소외인이 원고 1을 포함한 인부들에게 그 근무 장소를 지시하고 위 인부들은 지시받은 장소로 이동하여 위 소외인이 제공하는 도구와 수단을 이용하여 근무를 제공하는 방식으로 근무하였고, 그 작업의 특성상 이삿짐을 상하지 않게 기술적으로 운반하는 전문기술을 필요로 하기 때문에 작업 인부도 그때 그때 필요할 때마다 아무나 불러 사용하지 않고 원고 1을 포함한 일용직 인부들을 거의 고정적으로 사용하고 있었으며, 특히 원고 1은 소외인에게 1996년 3월경부터 한 달에 15일 이상을 고정적으로 근무하면서 계속적으로 근로를 제공하여 왔고 다만 비수기에 이삿짐 센터에 일이 없어 한가할 때에는 다른 이삿짐 센터로부터 연락을 받고 현장에 나가 다른 이삿짐 센터의 일을 하기도 하였다는 사실을 인정하고 나서, 그 인정 사실에 의하면, 원고 1은 소외인으로부터 이삿짐을 운반할 구체적인 시간과 장소를 지시받고 그 장소로 이동하여 근무한 것으로서 사용자에 의하여 구체적인 근무시간과 장소가 지정되는 점, 업무의 특성상 원고 1이 스스로 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 할 수도 없는 것이어서 업무의 대체성도 인정되지 아니한 점, 비품·원자재·작업도구 등도 원칙적으로 모두 소외인이 소유하는 것들로서 이들을 이용하여 작업이 이루어진 점, 비록 원고 1이 이삿짐 센터라는 사업장의 특성상 비수기나 일이 빌 경우 다른 이삿짐 센터의 일을 하기도 하였으나 원고 1은 소외인에게 1996년 3월경부터 고용되어 한 달에 15일 이상 고정적으로 근무하면서 계속적으로 근로를 제공하여 그 전속성이 존재한다고 인정되는 점에 비추어, 전체적으로 원고 1은 소외인에 대하여 계속적·종속적 근로관계에 있는 근로자에 해당한다고 봄이 상당하다고 하여, 원고 1은 산업재해보상보험법상의 근로자에 해당하여 같은 법상의 재해보상을 받을 수 있다고 할 것이므로 피고 회사는 소외인의 피용자인 원고 1에게 책임보험금 이외의 보험금을 지급할 의무가 없다고 판단하였다.

3. 관련 증거를 기록에 비추어 살펴보면, 원심의 위와 같은 사실인정은 정당한 것으로 수긍될 수 있고 거기에 상고이유에서 주장하는 바와 같이 아무런 증거 없이 주요사실을 인정하였다거나 채증법칙 위반, 심리미진 내지는 이유불비 등의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없고, 또 그러한 사실관계에서라면 앞서 본 법리에 비추어, 원고 1이 산업재해보상보험법 및 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당한다고 본 판단 역시 정당하여 거기에 같은 법상 근로자의 개념에 관한 판례위반 또는 법리오해의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

한편, 상고이유에서 들고 있는 판례들은 모두 사안을 달리하는 것으로서 이 사건에 적절하다고 할 수 없고, 또 전체적으로 보아 원고 1이 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적 관계에서 위 소외인에게 근로를 제공하였다고 인정되는 이 사건에 있어, 근로자에 관한 여러 징표 중 근로조건 등에 관한 일부 사정이 결여되었다고 하여 그러한 사유만으로 산업재해보상보험법 및 근로기준법상의 근로자가 아니라고 할 수는 없다.

4. 그러므로 상고를 모두 기각하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 윤재식(재판장) 송진훈 이규홍 손지열(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
95다35289 · 대법원 1996-09-06
Claim for Damages (Motor Vehicle Accident) (손해배상(자))
#2
77다807 · 대법원 1977-09-13
Damages
#3
2005나75578 · 서울고등법원 2006-04-18
Damages (Other)
#4
94다33491 · 대법원 1994-10-28
Damages (Industrial Accident)
#5
87가합1670 · 인천지법 1988-07-14
Damages (Industrial Accident)

Cases citing this decision

2009두1440 · 대법원 2009-08-20
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2005두524 · 대법원 2005-05-27
Revocation of Retrial Decision on Unfair Dismissal Remedy
2003두13939 · 대법원 2004-03-26
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits and Fune
2002다4429 · 대법원 2002-09-04
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
99다5484 · 대법원 2001-06-26
Promissory Note Payment Dispute (약속어음금)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)