Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 98두4740

Revocation of Non-Approval of Medical Care Benefits요양불승인처분취소

Decided1998. 05. 22. Court대법원Employer (Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A producer at the Korea Broadcasting System (KBS) died of stomach cancer, and his bereaved family sought recognition of the death as a work-related injury (산업재해/work-related accident). The Supreme Court found insufficient medical evidence that work-related overwork and stress were the direct cause of the stomach cancer's onset or progression. As a result, the court upheld the Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service's (근로복지공단) decision denying medical care benefits, ruling in favor of the employer side.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA KBS producer died of stomach cancer, and his family claimed it was caused by work-related overwork and stress.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court denied work-related injury recognition due to lack of medical evidence linking the illness directly to work conditions.
  • LessonClaims for work-related injury benefits require concrete medical evidence of causation, not just general assertions of stress or overwork.
Issues
  • The standard of proof required to establish causation between work and injury for recognition as a work-related accident (업무상 재해)
  • Whether a substantial causal relationship exists between stomach cancer and work-related overwork or stress
Key reasoning

To recognize an injury or illness as work-related (업무상 재해), there must be proof of substantial causation (상당인과관계) between the work performed and the resulting harm, which may be inferred through circumstantial evidence. However, vague claims of overwork or stress alone are insufficient to establish causation, particularly for diseases like stomach cancer whose medical causes remain scientifically unclear. In this case, there was no adequate medical basis showing that the deceased's work-related fatigue or stress directly caused or worsened his stomach cancer. Therefore, the causal link required for work-related injury recognition was not established.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] "Occupational injury" as referred to in Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) means an injury, disease, physical disability, or death of an employee that occurs due to and in the course of performing the employee's duties. Therefore, there must be a causal relationship between the work and the occurrence of the accident, and the party asserting this must prove it. As for the method and degree of proof, it is not necessarily required to be clearly proven medically and scientifically by direct evidence; it is sufficient if, based on indirect facts—such as the employee's health condition at the time of employment, the presence or absence of pre-existing disease, the nature of the work engaged in and the working environment, and whether other employees working at the same workplace contracted the same type of disease—assessed in light of the employee's health and physical condition, the substantial causal relationship between the work and the accident can be inferred to that extent. However, without reaching this degree of proof, it is difficult to readily infer a causal relationship, merely because overwork or stress can generally be a cause of the occurrence or aggravation of disease and because the employee experienced overwork and stress in the course of performing his or her duties, even with respect to a disease whose cause of onset and aggravation has not been elucidated under modern medicine.

[2] In a case where a producer employed by the Korean Broadcasting System (한국방송공사) died of stomach cancer, the court held that it was difficult to view this as resulting from overwork, etc., in the course of performing his duties, and therefore it did not constitute an occupational injury.

Full text (English, AI translation) 4,680 chars

[Plaintiffs, Appellants] Plaintiff 1 and 2 others
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단)
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Judgment of January 23, 1998, Case No. 97Gu15373

[Order]

All appeals are dismissed.
The costs of appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiffs.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

The term "occupational accident" as referred to in Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) means an injury, disease, physical disability, or death of a worker arising from the performance of duties and caused by such duties, and therefore there must be a causal relationship between the duties and the accident, which must be proven by the party asserting it. However, the method and degree of such proof need not necessarily be established clearly through direct evidence in a medical or scientific manner; rather, it is sufficient if a proximate causal relationship between the duties and the accident can be inferred, based on the worker's health and physical condition, from indirect facts such as the worker's health condition at the time of employment, the existence of any pre-existing illness, the nature of the duties performed and the working environment, and whether other workers in the same workplace contracted the same type of illness. However, it is difficult to infer that there is a causal relationship, merely on the vague ground that overwork or stress can generally be a cause of the onset or aggravation of illness and that the worker suffered overwork and stress in the course of performing duties, with respect to an illness whose cause of onset and aggravation has not been medically established, without reaching the aforementioned degree of proof (see Supreme Court Decision 90Nu295 delivered on May 25, 1990; Supreme Court Decision 92Nu8545 delivered on April 23, 1993, etc.).

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found, based on the evidence presented, the following facts: the deceased Nonparty, while working as a producer at the Korean Broadcasting System, was diagnosed with stage 3 gastric cancer on April 4, 1996, and received hospitalization and outpatient treatment before passing away on August 23, 1997; the cause of onset and the cause of aggravation of gastric cancer have not been identified, and there is no fundamental preventive measure for it; there is no medical basis for concluding that overwork and stress act as a cause of its onset or aggravation; there is no basis for concluding that irregular meals and excessive consumption of instant food and foreign food with a lot of spices cause gastric cancer; and there is no clear research result showing that the particular conditions of a work environment act as a cause of the onset or aggravation of gastric cancer. The court below further found that, in the case of the deceased, although the exact time of onset of the gastric cancer could not be ascertained, the deceased had subjective symptoms from two years before but delayed undergoing a precise examination to identify the cause, resulting in a delayed discovery, and that, except for the fact that the age of onset of cancer was relatively young, no particular factor was found that would have caused the cancer to progress rapidly. Based on these findings, the court below determined that even if the deceased had experienced overwork and stress in the course of performing his duties, as well as irregular meals and excessive consumption of instant food, it is difficult to view these as factors that induced the gastric cancer or aggravated it beyond its natural course, and therefore it cannot be inferred that there was a proximate causal relationship between the deceased's gastric cancer and his duties.

In light of the legal principles set forth above, the determination of the court below is acceptable, and it cannot be said that there was an error of law due to a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning occupational accidents, as argued in the grounds of appeal. This ground of appeal is without merit.

Supreme Court Decision 91Nu10466 delivered on May 12, 1992, and Supreme Court Decision 89Nu2318 delivered on November 14, 1989, cited in the grounds of appeal, involve facts different from those of this case and are not appropriate to be invoked here.

Therefore, all appeals are dismissed, and the costs of appeal are to be borne by the losing parties. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Lee Yong-hoon (Presiding Justice), Jeong Gui-ho, Park Jun-seo (Justice in Charge), Kim Hyeong-seon

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호에서 말하는 '업무상의 재해'라 함은 근로자가 업무수행 중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 근로자의 부상·질병·신체장애 또는 사망을 뜻하는 것이므로 업무와 재해발생 사이에 인과관계가 있어야 하고 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 하는바, 그 입증의 방법 및 정도는 반드시 직접증거에 의하여 의학적·자연과학적으로 명백히 증명되어야 하는 것은 아니고 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 하여 취업 당시의 건강상태, 기존 질병의 유무, 종사한 업무의 성질 및 근무환경, 같은 작업장에서 근무한 다른 근로자의 동종 질병에의 이환 여부 등의 간접사실에 의하여 업무와 재해 사이의 상당인과관계가 추단될 정도로 입증되면 족하지만, 이 정도에 이르지 못한 채 막연히 과로나 스트레스가 일반적으로 질병의 발생·악화에 한 원인이 될 수 있고 업무수행과정에서 과로를 하고 스트레스를 받았다고 하여 현대의학상 그 발병 및 악화의 원인 등이 밝혀지지 아니한 질병에까지 곧바로 그 인과관계가 있다고 추단하기는 어렵다.

[2] 한국방송공사 소속 프로듀서로 근무하던 중 위암으로 인하여 사망한 경우, 업무 수행과정에서의 과로 등으로 인한 것으로 보기 어려워 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 본 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

【참조판례】

[1][2] 대법원 1990. 5. 25. 선고 90누295 판결(공1990, 1387), 대법원 1993. 4. 23. 선고 92누8545 판결(공1993하, 1576) / [1] 대법원 1993. 10. 12. 선고 93누9408 판결(공1993하, 3101), 대법원 1995. 3. 14. 선고 94누7935 판결(공1995상, 1635), 대법원 1997. 3. 28. 선고 96누18755 판결(공1997상, 1263)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,696자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 1 외 2인

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 1998. 1. 23. 선고 97구15373 판결

【주 문】

상고를 모두 기각한다.

상고비용은 원고들의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호에서 말하는 '업무상의 재해'라 함은 근로자가 업무수행 중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 근로자의 부상·질병·신체장애 또는 사망을 뜻하는 것이므로 업무와 재해발생 사이에 인과관계가 있어야 하고 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 하는바, 그 입증의 방법 및 정도는 반드시 직접증거에 의하여 의학적·자연과학적으로 명백히 증명되어야 하는 것은 아니고 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 하여 취업 당시의 건강상태, 기존 질병의 유무, 종사한 업무의 성질 및 근무환경, 같은 작업장에서 근무한 다른 근로자의 동종 질병에의 이환 여부 등의 간접사실에 의하여 업무와 재해 사이의 상당인과관계가 추단될 정도로 입증되면 족하지만, 이 정도에 이르지 못한 채 막연히 과로나 스트레스가 일반적으로 질병의 발생·악화에 한 원인이 될 수 있고 업무수행과정에서 과로를 하고 스트레스를 받았다고 하여 현대의학상 그 발병 및 악화의 원인 등이 밝혀지지 아니한 질병에까지 곧바로 그 인과관계가 있다고 추단하기는 어렵다고 할 것이다(대법원 1990. 5. 25. 선고 90누295 판결, 1993. 4. 23. 선고 92누8545 판결 등 참조).

원심판결의 이유에 의하면, 원심은 거시 증거에 의하여 망 소외인이 한국방송공사에 프로듀서로 근무하던 중 1996. 4. 4. 위암 3기의 진단을 받고 입원 및 통원치료를 받다가 1997. 8. 23. 사망한 사실, 위암은 그 발병원인 및 악화원인이 밝혀지지 아니하여 그 근본적인 예방책이 없고, 과로 및 스트레스가 그 발생이나 악화의 원인으로 작용한다는 의학적인 근거가 없으며, 불규칙한 식사와 인스턴트 식품 및 향신료가 많은 이국 음식의 다량 섭취가 위암을 유발한다는 근거 자료도 없고, 작업환경의 특수한 조건이 위암의 발병 내지 악화에 원인으로 작용한다는 명확한 연구결과가 없는 사실, 위 망인의 경우 위암의 정확한 발병시기는 알 수 없으나 2년 전부터 자각증상이 있었음에도 원인규명에 대한 정밀검사를 하지 않아 발견시기가 늦어졌고 암발생 연령이 빠른 편에 속하는 점을 제외하고는 급격히 암이 진행될 만한 특별한 인자가 발견되지 아니한 사실을 인정한 다음, 위 망인이 업무 수행과정에서 과로 및 스트레스가 있었고 또한 불규칙한 식사 및 인스턴트 식품의 과다 섭취 등이 있었다고 하더라도, 그것이 위암을 유발하거나 이를 자연경과 이상으로 악화시키는 요인으로 작용하였다고 보기는 어렵다는 이유로, 위 망인의 위암은 업무와의 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단할 수 없다고 판단하였는바, 앞에서 본 법리에 비추어 볼 때 원심의 이러한 판단은 수긍이 가고 거기에 소론과 같은 업무상 재해에 관한 법리오인의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다. 논지는 이유 없다.

소론이 들고 있는 대법원 1992. 5. 12. 선고 91누10466 판결 및 대법원 1989. 11. 14. 선고 89누2318 판결은 이 사건과는 사안을 달리하는 것으로 여기에 원용하기에 적절치 않다.

그러므로 상고를 모두 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자들의 부담으로 하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이용훈(재판장) 정귀호 박준서(주심) 김형선

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2012구단8840 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#2
2012누1136 · 부산고등법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
2006두8204 · 대법원 2008-01-31
요양불승인처분취소등
#4
2011구단30314 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
요양상병불승인처분취소
#5
2011구단21914 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Cases citing this decision

2006두8204 · 대법원 2008-01-31
요양불승인처분취소등
2006두8341 · 대법원 2006-09-22
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
99두10438 · 대법원 2000-01-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits, etc. (유
98두15757 · 대법원 1999-01-26
산재요양불승인처분취소
98두10103 · 대법원 1999-01-26
Revocation of Disposition Denying Lump-Sum Survivor Benefits

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)