Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 98두10103

Revocation of Disposition Denying Lump-Sum Survivor Benefits and Funeral Expenses (유족보상일시금및장의비부지급처분취소)유족보상일시금및장의비부지급처분취소

Decided1999. 01. 26. Court대법원Worker (deceased's family) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker suffering from temporal lobe epilepsy fell to his death after climbing onto a tower crane while experiencing an epileptic episode triggered by work-related overwork and stress. The Korean Supreme Court (대법원) recognized this as a work-related injury (업무상 재해), finding that the accident resulted from a combination of job-related fatigue/stress and inadequate safety management of the facility. The court revoked the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service's (근로복지공단) decision denying the lump-sum survivor benefit (유족보상일시금), ruling in favor of the deceased worker's family.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA crane operator with epilepsy, exhausted and stressed from overwork, suffered a seizure atop a tower crane and fell to his death.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled the death was a compensable work-related injury, since overwork/stress and unsafe facility conditions jointly contributed to the accident, even without direct medical proof of the seizure's cause.
  • LessonWorkers do not need conclusive medical evidence to prove a workplace accident was work-related — reasonable inference from surrounding circumstances is enough, especially when employer negligence in safety management is a contributing factor.
Issues
  • The burden and standard of proof required to establish causation between work duties and an occupational accident
  • Whether work-related injury can be recognized in the absence of direct evidence
  • The scope of work-related injury recognition when a facility defect combines with another contributing cause
  • Application of these principles to a case involving an epileptic worker whose seizure combined with inadequate safety facilities
Key reasoning

The court held that establishing a causal link between work and injury for workers' compensation purposes does not require clear medical proof; a reasonable inference based on circumstantial evidence is sufficient. Even in the absence of direct evidence connecting the epileptic seizure to the fatal fall, the combination of documented work overload, stress, and the employer's failure to properly manage safety features on the tower crane justified a finding of work-relatedness. The court further clarified that when an employer's facility management defect combines with another contributing cause (such as a pre-existing medical condition) to produce an accident, the injury must still be recognized as work-related, since the employer's negligence remains a substantial contributing factor.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] "Occupational injury" under Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to an injury that occurs in the course of an employee's performance of duties and is attributable to those duties; thus, there must be a substantial causal relationship between the duties and the injury. In such cases, the party asserting the causal relationship between the employee's duties and the injury bears the burden of proving it. However, the existence of a substantial causal relationship between the duties and the injury should be determined not on the basis of an ordinary average person but on the basis of the health and physical condition of the particular employee concerned. Furthermore, with respect to the degree of proof of causation, it is not necessarily required that the causal relationship be clearly demonstrated in a medical or scientific manner; even where it can be inferred, in light of all relevant circumstances, that a substantial causal relationship exists between the duties and the injury, such proof shall be deemed to have been established.

[2] Even in the absence of direct evidence concerning the cause of the accident, where work-relatedness can be presumed through the most reasonable inference possible under the rules of experience based on indirect factual circumstances, the injury should be recognized as an occupational injury.

[3] Where an injury occurs due to a defect in facilities managed by the business owner or the business owner's negligence in managing such facilities, or where such a defect or negligence in facility management competes with other causes to bring about the injury, this should be regarded as an occupational injury, except in cases involving self-inflicted harm by the injured employee.

[4] In a case where an employee suffering from temporal lobe epilepsy climbed onto a tower crane and fell to his death, the court recognized the injury as an occupational injury on the ground that the manifestation of epileptic symptoms due to the employee's work-related fatigue or stress competed with a defect in the management of the tower crane to cause the accident.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,869 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellant] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단)
[Lower Court Judgment] Gwangju High Court Judgment 97Gu4110, decided May 15, 1998

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. "Occupational accident" under Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to an accident that occurs due to the performance of duties by an employee, and thus there must be a proximate causal relationship between the duties and the accident. In this regard, the party asserting the causal relationship between the employee's duties and the accident bears the burden of proof. However, the existence of a proximate causal relationship between the duties and the accident must be judged not on the basis of an ordinary average person, but on the basis of the health and physical condition of the particular employee concerned. Moreover, with respect to the degree of proof of causation, it is not necessarily required to prove such causation clearly by medical or natural scientific evidence; even where, upon consideration of all the circumstances, a proximate causal relationship between the duties and the accident may reasonably be inferred, such inference shall be deemed sufficient proof (see, e.g., Supreme Court Decision 94Nu2565, decided June 28, 1994). Therefore, even where there is no direct evidence concerning the cause of the accident, if the causal connection with the duties can be presumed through the most reasonable inference drawn from indirect factual circumstances in accordance with the rules of experience, the accident should be regarded as an occupational accident. Furthermore, where an accident occurs due to a defect in facilities managed by the employer or due to the employer's negligence in managing such facilities, or where such defect or negligence in facility management concurs with other causes to bring about the accident, the accident shall be deemed an occupational accident, except in cases where it results from the injured employee's own act of self-harm.

2. The court below, having found the facts as stated in its judgment, determined as follows based on those findings: the Plaintiff's husband, the deceased, was at the time of his death suffering from temporal lobe epilepsy, a fact of which the non-party company referred to in the judgment below was also aware. Despite being reluctant, the deceased, upon being instructed to come to work during his vacation, traveled by car from Gwangju to Busan late at night, was unable to obtain proper sleep, and went to work to prepare meeting materials, thereby accumulating physical fatigue and mental stress. In this case, there being no other circumstances indicating that the deceased was murdered or that he climbed the tower crane and committed suicide while in a normal state of consciousness, it can only be concluded that, as a result of the above circumstances, symptoms of temporal lobe epilepsy manifested in the deceased, causing the aforementioned impairment of cognitive function, and that while this state of mental derangement persisted for a considerable period of time, he awoke from sleep, put on his work clothes, went to the site, climbed the tower crane, and fell. Meanwhile, Article 449 of the former Regulations on Industrial Safety Standards (산업안전기준에관한규칙) (before amendment by Ministry of Labor Ordinance No. 113 of January 11, 1997) provided that, in order to prevent hazards arising from construction work, the employer must prohibit persons other than the employees concerned from entering places where there is a risk of danger to employees from falling. As noted above, since persons other than the employees concerned were able to freely access the tower crane in question, the tower crane must be deemed to have had a defect in terms of safety, and this defect, concurring with the manifestation of the deceased's epileptic symptoms, constituted a cause of the accident. Accordingly, it is reasonable to find that there is a causal relationship between, on the one hand, the manifestation of the epileptic symptoms due to the deceased's excessive work-related fatigue or stress, and the defect in the management of the tower crane, and, on the other hand, the accident in this case. The above findings and determination of the court below are justified in light of the legal principles set forth above, and there is no illegality therein, such as a violation of the rules of evidence or a failure to exhaust deliberation resulting in a misapprehension of the facts.

The judgments cited in the argument concern cases where, when the cause of death is unknown, it cannot be presumed that the death resulted from the performance of duties; they are not appropriately invoked in this case.

Furthermore, the court below did not find that the deceased's death was caused by an occupational accident on the sole ground that, in the lawsuit for insurance proceeds brought by the Plaintiff against Samsung Life Insurance Co., Ltd. (a non-party), it was not established that the deceased had committed suicide; rather, it merely adopted the record of the insurance proceeds case as evidence for finding the facts in order to determine whether the accident was an occupational accident. Therefore, it cannot be said that the court below overlooked the difference between industrial accident compensation insurance and life insurance. All the arguments are without merit.

3. Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order with the unanimous consent of the participating Justices.

Justice Lee Im-su (Presiding Justice), Park Jun-seo (Justice in Charge), Seo Seong

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호의 업무상 재해라 함은 근로자가 업무수행 중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말하므로 업무와 재해 사이에 상당인과관계가 있어야 하고, 이 경우 근로자의 업무와 재해 간의 인과관계에 관하여는 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 할 것이나, 업무와 재해 사이의 상당인과관계의 유무는 보통 평균인이 아니라 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 하여 판단하여야 하고, 또한 인과관계의 입증 정도에 관하여도 반드시 의학적·자연과학적으로 명백히 입증하여야 하는 것은 아니고 제반 사정을 고려할 때 업무와 재해 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우에도 그 입증이 있다고 할 것이다.

[2] 재해발생원인에 관한 직접적인 증거가 없는 경우라도 간접적인 사실관계 등에 의거하여 경험법칙상 가장 합리적인 설명이 가능한 추론에 의하여 업무기인성을 추정할 수 있는 경우에는 업무상 재해라고 보아야 할 것이다.

[3] 사업주가 관리하고 있는 시설의 결함 또는 사업주의 시설관리소홀로 인하여 재해가 발생하거나 또는 그와 같은 시설의 결함이나 관리소홀이 다른 사유와 경합하여 재해가 발생한 때에는 피재근로자의 자해행위 등으로 인한 경우를 제외하고는 이를 업무상 재해로 보아야 할 것이다.

[4] 측두엽성간질을 앓고 있는 근로자가 타워크레인에 올라갔다가 추락하여 사망한 사안에서, 근로자의 업무상 과로 또는 스트레스에 의한 간질증상의 발현과 타워크레인의 관리상의 하자가 경합하여 사고의 원인이 되었다는 이유로 업무상 재해를 인정한 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

[3] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

[4] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1993. 10. 12. 선고 93누9408 판결(공1993하, 3101), 대법원 1994. 6. 28. 선고 94누2565 판결(공1994하, 2135), 대법원 1994. 8. 26. 선고 94누2633 판결(공1994하, 2545), 대법원 1997. 9. 5. 선고 97누7011 판결(공1997하, 3125), 대법원 1998. 5. 22. 선고 98두4740 판결(공1998하, 1782)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,108자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 원고

【피고, 상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 광주고법 1998. 5. 15. 선고 97구4110 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 피고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

1. 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호의 업무상 재해라 함은 근로자가 업무수행 중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말하므로 업무와 재해 사이에 상당인과관계가 있어야 하고, 이 경우 근로자의 업무와 재해 간의 인과관계에 관하여는 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 할 것이나, 업무와 재해 사이의 상당인과관계의 유무는 보통 평균인이 아니라 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 하여 판단하여야 하고, 또한 인과관계의 입증 정도에 관하여도 반드시 의학적·자연과학적으로 명백히 입증하여야 하는 것은 아니고 제반 사정을 고려할 때 업무와 재해 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우에도 그 입증이 있다고 할 것이므로(대법원 1994. 6. 28. 선고 94누2565 판결 등 참조), 재해발생원인에 관한 직접적인 증거가 없는 경우라도 간접적인 사실관계 등에 의거하여 경험법칙상 가장 합리적인 설명이 가능한 추론에 의하여 업무기인성을 추정할 수 있는 경우에는 업무상 재해라고 보아야 할 것이다. 또한 사업주가 관리하고 있는 시설의 결함 또는 사업주의 시설관리소홀로 인하여 재해가 발생하거나 또는 그와 같은 시설의 결함이나 관리소홀이 다른 사유와 경합하여 재해가 발생한 때에는 피재근로자의 자해행위 등으로 인한 경우를 제외하고는 이를 업무상 재해로 보아야 할 것이다.

2. 원심은 그 판시와 같은 사실을 인정한 다음, 그 인정 사실에 의하면 원고의 남편인 소외 망인은 사망 당시 측두엽성간질을 앓고 있는 환자로서 이러한 사실을 원심 판시 소외 회사에서도 알고 있었는데, 휴가 중 출근하라는 지시를 받고 마음이 내키지 아니함에도 심야에 광주에서 부산까지 승용차를 타고 이동하여 제대로 수면을 취하지도 못한 채 출근하여 회의자료를 작성함으로써 육체적 피로와 정신적 스트레스가 쌓였고, 그 외에 달리 위 망인이 타살되었거나 정상적인 의식상태에서 위 타워크레인에 올라가 자살할 만한 사유가 나타나 있지 아니한 이 사건에서는 그에 따라 위 망인에게 측두엽성간질의 증상이 발현되어 위와 같은 인식기능의 장애를 일으키고 상당한 시간 이러한 정신착란이 지속된 상태에서 자다가 일어나 작업복을 입고 위 현장으로 가 타워크레인에 올라갔다가 추락하였다고 볼 수밖에 없고, 한편 구 산업안전기준에관한규칙(1997. 1. 11. 노동부령 제113호로 개정되기 이전의 것) 제449조는 건설작업에 의한 위험예방을 위하여 사업주는 추락에 의하여 근로자에게 위험을 미칠 우려가 있는 장소에는 관계 근로자 외의 자의 출입을 금지시켜야 한다고 규정하고 있는바, 앞서 본 바와 같이 위 타워크레인에 관계 근로자 외의 자가 자유롭게 출입할 수 있도록 되어 있었던 이상 위 타워크레인에는 안전상의 하자가 있었다고 보아야 하고, 이러한 하자가 위 망인의 간질증상발현과 경합하여 위 사고의 원인으로 되었다 할 것이어서, 위 망인의 업무상 과로 또는 스트레스에 의한 위 간질증상의 발현 및 위 타워크레인의 관리상의 하자와 이 사건 사고 사이에 인과관계가 있다고 봄이 상당하다고 판단하였는바, 원심의 위와 같은 인정과 판단은 앞서 본 법리에 비추어 정당하고, 거기에 채증법칙을 위배하고 심리를 다하지 아니함으로써 사실을 오인한 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

소론이 인용하는 판결들은 사인불명의 경우에 업무에 기인한 사망으로 추정된다고 할 수 없다는 내용으로서 이 사건에 원용하기에 적절하지 아니하다.

또한 원심은, 원고가 소외 삼성생명보험 주식회사를 상대로 제기한 보험금청구사건에서 망인이 자살한 것이라는 점이 인정되지 않았다고 하여 이 사건에서 바로 망인의 사망을 업무상의 재해에 의한 것이라고 인정한 것이 아니라, 단지 위 보험금청구사건 기록을 업무상 재해 여부를 판단하기 위한 사실인정의 증거로 채용한 것일 뿐이므로 원심이 산업재해보상보험과 생명보험과의 차이를 간과하였다고 할 수 없다. 논지는 모두 이유 없다.

3. 그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이임수(재판장) 박준서(주심) 서성

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2014누43860 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#2
2013두17817 · 대법원 2014-02-27
Revocation of Non-Payment Disposition of Survivor Benefits a
#3
2019구합61656 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#4
92누16805 · 대법원 1993-05-11
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits (유족보상금부지
#5
2005두12572 · 대법원 2007-09-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits, etc.

Cases citing this decision

2008두19147 · 대법원 2009-03-12
유족급여장의비부지급처분취소
2006두8341 · 대법원 2006-09-22
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
2005두8009 · 대법원 2005-11-10
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
99두10438 · 대법원 2000-01-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits, etc. (유
99구6674 · 서울행법 1999-11-23
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)