Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 96누1504

Revocation of Disposition Imposing Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Premiums (산재보상보험료등부과처분취소)산재보상보험료등부과처분취소

Decided1996. 06. 11. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) — the employer (National Agricultural Cooperative Federation) prevailed on the core legal issue, as the Court found no obligation to pay insurance premiums absent a genuine employment relationship.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

The National Agricultural Cooperative Federation (농협중앙회) received dispatched dockworkers who were union members and had them perform loading work. The Supreme Court held that since there was no substantive employment relationship of control and subordination (사용종속관계) between the Federation and these workers, the Federation was not obligated to pay industrial accident insurance premiums (산재보험료) for them. The Court reversed and remanded the lower court's decision, setting out detailed criteria for determining employee status (근로자성).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA cooperative federation received dockworkers dispatched through a labor union to perform loading work, and the tax authority imposed industrial accident insurance premiums on the federation as if it were their employer.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that without a genuine employment relationship of control and subordination, the federation was not liable for the premiums, and sent the case back for reconsideration under the proper legal standard.
  • LessonEmployee status for insurance and labor law purposes depends on substantive facts such as actual supervision, work schedule control, and exclusivity—not merely on where or for whom the work was physically performed.
Issues
  • Whether dispatched dockworkers belonging to a labor union qualify as 'employees' for industrial accident insurance purposes
  • The scope of business owners who bear the obligation to pay industrial accident insurance premiums
  • The substantive criteria for determining the existence of an employment relationship of control and subordination (사용종속관계)
Key reasoning

The Supreme Court held that a business owner enrolled in industrial accident insurance is only liable to pay premiums for individuals who have a genuine employment relationship of control and subordination with the business under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), rather than a mere formal or nominal working arrangement. Determining whether such a relationship exists requires a comprehensive assessment of factors including: the degree of direction and supervision exercised by the business over the work; whether the worker's working hours and location are fixed and controlled by the business; whether the worker could be freely substituted by another person; the nature of the compensation (whether it reflects wages for labor or payment for completed work); and the continuity and exclusivity of the working relationship. Simply performing work at a business's worksite is insufficient by itself to establish employee status; there must be substantive control and subordination. Applying these criteria, the Court found that the dispatched union dockworkers did not have such a relationship with the Federation and remanded the case for further review under this standard.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Considering the relevant provisions of Article 3, Article 6, and Article 19 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its amendment by Act No. 4641 of December 27, 1993), and Articles 14 and 18 of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), a business owner who is enrolled in industrial accident compensation insurance has the duty to pay insurance premiums as an insured only in relation to a "worker" as defined under the Labor Standards Act, that is, a person who, regardless of the type of occupation, provides labor to an employer while maintaining a substantive relationship of subordination to the employer, for the purpose of receiving money or goods from the employer as consideration for such labor.

[2] In determining whether a person constitutes a worker under the Labor Standards Act, the following factors must be comprehensively considered: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and is subject to work rules or service regulations; whether, in the course of performing the work, the person is subject to specific and individual direction and supervision by the employer; whether working hours and place of work are designated by the employer and the person is bound thereby; whether the work is substitutable, such as whether the worker himself may hire a third party to perform the work on his behalf; the ownership of equipment, raw materials, and work tools; matters concerning remuneration, such as whether the nature of the remuneration is compensation for the labor itself, whether a base pay or fixed wage is set, and whether income tax is withheld at source; the continuity of the labor-provision relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation with the employer; whether the person's status as a worker is recognized under other statutes, such as those concerning the social security system; and the economic and social conditions of both parties.

[3] A case holding that there was no substantive relationship of subordination between the National Agricultural Cooperative Federation (농업협동조합중앙회), which had been receiving dispatched workers belonging to the Seoul Metropolitan Agricultural Products Comprehensive Market Labor Union (서울특별시농산물종합시장노동조합), affiliated with the National Federation of Port and Transportation Workers' Unions (전국항운노동조합), and having them perform loading and unloading work at its place of business, and the workers.

Full text (English, AI translation) 12,927 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] National Agricultural Cooperative Federation (Attorney Lee Ki-chang)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (formerly the Head of the Seoul Seobu Regional Labor Office)
[Lower Court Judgment] Seoul High Court Judgment rendered November 28, 1995, Case No. 94Gu23335

[Order]

The judgment of the court below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds of appeal.

1. According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the lower court, based on the evidence cited, found the following facts: The Plaintiff, established for the purpose of promoting the common interests and sound development of its member cooperatives, with unit cooperatives and special cooperatives, which are autonomous cooperative organizations of farmers, as its members, operates under its umbrella a workplace at Sinchon (including the Goyang Warehouse, Sajik Supermarket, and Seodaemun Market; hereinafter referred to as "the workplace in this case"), which is a business site engaged in purchasing or selling agricultural products or storing government-owned grain; at the workplace in this case, workers belonging to the Seoul Agricultural Products Comprehensive Market Labor Union (hereinafter "the non-party union") under the National Federation of Port and Transportation Workers' Unions, namely Nonparty 1 (which appears to be a clerical error for Nonparty 2) and nine others (hereinafter "the loading/unloading workers in this case"), engage in the work of loading, unloading, and warehousing; the loading/unloading workers in this case report to work each day at approximately 07:00, receive that day's work instructions from the Plaintiff's staff in charge, and carry out loading and unloading work centered around Nonparty 2, who serves as the work team leader; the content of the work involves the simple and repetitive task of unloading grain that is brought in and stacking it in the storage warehouse, and then loading grain that has been stacked in the warehouse onto the vehicles of consignors, such that although they do not receive specific work instructions from the Plaintiff in the course of performing the work, they could not go home without the Plaintiff's instruction that the work had ended; Nonparty 2 has continuously been in charge of loading/unloading work at the workplace in this case since around 1977, and the other loading/unloading workers have likewise continuously performed loading/unloading work at the same location, and in the case of the Goyang Warehouse among the workplaces in this case, loading/unloading work is performed using a conveyor installed by the Plaintiff; the loading/unloading workers in this case are paid, as compensation for their loading/unloading work, loading/unloading fees and weight-inspection fees calculated according to the government grain loading/unloading rate set annually by the Plaintiff, and the method of payment is such that the Plaintiff uniformly manages these amounts and, after accumulating them over a certain period, pays them directly to the loading/unloading workers in this case; at that time, the Plaintiff treated the above compensation as business income arising from freelance occupational income and withheld income tax at the rate of 1% pursuant to the provisions of the former Income Tax Act (Sodeugsebeop) before amendment, while the loading/unloading workers in this case each, as business income earners, reported and paid comprehensive income tax to the competent tax office; and moreover, the loading/unloading workers in this case pay union dues of 7,500 won to the non-party union to which they belong, and merely use the union office installed within the workplace in this case as a waiting room for workers, while the non-party union does not involve itself at all in the payment of compensation to, or the giving of work instructions to, the loading/unloading workers. Having found these facts, the lower court determined that, given these circumstances, although the loading/unloading workers in this case did not formally enter into an employment contract or a service contract with the Plaintiff, they nonetheless fall under the category of employees in a relationship of use and subordination (사용종속관계) with the Plaintiff, and that accordingly the Plaintiff stands in the position of a business owner (사업주) bearing the duty to pay insurance premiums with respect to the loading/unloading workers in this case, and thus the disposition imposing insurance premiums in this case is lawful.

2. (a) Comprehensively considering the relevant provisions of Articles 3, 6, and 19 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (prior to the amendment by Act No. 4641 of December 27, 1993) and Articles 14 and 18 of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), a business owner who has subscribed to industrial accident compensation insurance bears the duty, as an insurance policyholder, to pay insurance premiums only with respect to employees as defined under the Labor Standards Act, that is, persons who, regardless of the type of occupation, provide labor to an employer for the purpose of receiving money or valuables from the employer as compensation for their labor, while maintaining a substantive relationship of use and subordination with the employer (see Supreme Court Decision 94Nu9290, delivered January 4, 1995).

Furthermore, in determining whether a person falls under the category of an employee under the Labor Standards Act, the following factors must be comprehensively considered: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and whether the person is subject to work rules or service regulations; whether the person receives specific and individualized direction and supervision from the employer in the course of performing the work; whether working hours and place of work are designated by the employer and whether the person is bound thereby; whether there is substitutability of the work, such as the worker himself hiring a third party to perform the work on his behalf; ownership relations with respect to equipment, raw materials, and work tools; matters concerning compensation, including whether the nature of the compensation has the character of remuneration for labor itself, whether a basic or fixed salary is set, and whether income tax is withheld as labor income; the continuity of the labor-providing relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation with the employer; whether the person's status as an employee is recognized under other statutes, such as those concerning the social security system; and the economic and social conditions of both parties (see Supreme Court Decisions 94Da22859, delivered December 9, 1994, and 94Do2122, delivered June 30, 1995, etc.).

(b) Turning to the case at hand, as to whether a substantive relationship of use and subordination existed between the Plaintiff and the loading/unloading workers, even considering the evidence adopted by the lower court, including the testimony of Nonparty 2, the work team leader and one of the loading/unloading workers in this case belonging to the non-party union, who testified as a witness before the lower court, and the record, the following can be observed:

(1) The loading/unloading workers in this case belong to the non-party union and were dispatched to the workplace in this case by the non-party union at the Plaintiff's request; they have not entered into any individual employment contract with the Plaintiff, and provide labor according to the volume of work at the workplace in this case;

(2) There is no material whatsoever indicating that the Plaintiff had the authority to make personnel decisions regarding their hiring, personnel transfers, dismissal, or retirement, or that there exist work rules, etc. applicable to them;

(3) The reason the loading/unloading workers in this case ordinarily report to work at approximately 07:00 appears to be not because working hours are fixed, but simply to be prepared in case work arises, since it is difficult to predict the volume of work given the nature of loading/unloading work;

(4) The specific content of the work instructions that the Plaintiff is said to have given to the loading/unloading workers in this case amounts merely to designating the subject matter of the work, giving instructions for the work, and notifying them of the end of the work; in light of the fact that the content of the loading/unloading work in this case is simple and repetitive work that does not particularly require detailed instructions, and the fact that it is within the scope of instructions ordinarily given by a business operator receiving labor for the Plaintiff, who is in charge of the business of purchasing and selling agricultural products or storing government grain at the workplace in this case, to give the loading/unloading workers in this case a general indication of the day's work subject matter and content according to the workplace management and operation plan, and to notify them of the end of work, it cannot be said that the Plaintiff, through work instructions of the above degree, exercised specific and individualized direction and supervision over the loading/unloading workers in this case in the course of performing the work;

(5) Moreover, the fact that the loading/unloading workers in this case continued to work for a long period at the workplace in this case is merely attributable to the circumstance that there was a continuous volume of work at the workplace in this case; it can be readily anticipated, in light of their status, that had there been no work volume at the workplace in this case, the loading/unloading workers in this case would have worked at the workplaces of other companies requiring loading/unloading work, pursuant to the instructions of the non-party union; therefore, it cannot be concluded, on the basis of such continuous work, that the labor of the loading/unloading workers in this case was subordinate to the Plaintiff company;

(6) Meanwhile, in light of the fact that, whereas the Plaintiff had directly paid the loading/unloading fees and weight-inspection fees to the loading/unloading workers in this case, from August 1994, after the disposition in this case, the Plaintiff ceased paying them directly and instead paid them to the above Nonparty 2, the work team leader belonging to the non-party union, having him distribute the amounts to the loading/unloading workers in this case (record p. 92, written statement of the above Nonparty 2), it cannot be concluded that the Plaintiff originally bore the obligation to pay the loading/unloading fees, etc. to the loading/unloading workers in this case; rather, there arises a suspicion that the Plaintiff has been performing the affairs of the non-party union on its behalf, for convenience of administration or pursuant to an agreement with the non-party union;

(7) The Plaintiff regarded the loading/unloading workers in this case as engaged in a freelance occupation and withheld business income tax accordingly, rather than regarding them as employees and withholding Class A wage and salary income tax;

(8) In light of the fact that the office of the non-party union is installed within the workplace in this case, and that the above Nonparty 2 holds the position of work team leader, it may also be viewed that the non-party union, through the above Nonparty 2, gives instructions regarding the work of the other loading/unloading workers;

Comprehensively considering all these circumstances, including the form of the provision of labor and the form of payment of work fees by the loading/unloading workers in this case as set forth above, it is reasonable to conclude that no substantive relationship of use and subordination existed between the Plaintiff and the loading/unloading workers in this case.

(c) Nevertheless, the lower court, contrary to the foregoing, found that a substantive relationship of use and subordination existed between the Plaintiff and the loading/unloading workers in this case, who had been dispatched from the non-party union, and determined that the Plaintiff was in the position of a business owner bearing the duty to pay insurance premiums under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act; therefore, the judgment of the court below is erroneous in that it misapprehended the legal principles concerning the definition of an employee under the Labor Standards Act, and the ground of appeal pointing this out is well-founded.

Accordingly, the judgment of the court below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination, all Justices concurring in this opinion, and it is so decided as set forth in the Order.

Justice Kim Seok-su (Presiding Justice), Jeong Gwi-ho, Lee Don-hui (Justice in Charge), Lee Im-su

【판결요지】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1993. 12. 27. 법률 제4641호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조, 제6조, 제19조, 근로기준법 제14조, 제18조 등의 관계 규정을 종합하면 산업재해보상보험에 가입한 사업주는 근로기준법 소정의 근로자 즉, 직업의 종류를 불문하고 자신의 근로의 대상으로 사용자로부터 금품을 받을 것을 목적으로 사용자와의 사이에 실질적인 사용종속관계를 유지하면서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하는 자에 대한 관계에서만 보험가입자로서의 보험료 납부의무가 있다.

[2] 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당되는지를 판단함에 있어서는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙 또는 복무규정 등의 적용을 받으며, 업무수행과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적, 개별적인 지휘, 감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품, 원자재, 작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수의 성격이 근로 자체의 대상적 성격이 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제 사회적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 판단하여야 한다.

[3] 전국항운노동조합 산하 서울특별시농산물종합시장노동조합 소속의 근로자들을 파견받아 사업장에서 하역작업을 시켜 온 농업협동조합중앙회와 근로자들과 사이에 실질적인 사용종속관계가 없다고 본 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1993. 12. 27. 법률 제4641호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조, 제6조, 제19조, 제25조, 근로기준법 제14조, 제18조

[2] 근로기준법 제14조

[3] 근로기준법 제14조

【참조판례】

[1][3] 대법원 1995. 1. 4. 선고 94누9290 판결(공1995상, 1167) /[2] 대법원 1994. 12. 9. 선고 94다22859 판결(공1995상, 448), 대법원 1995. 6. 30. 선고 94도2122 판결(공1995하, 2685) /[3] 대법원 1995. 12. 22. 선고 95누3565 판결(공1996상, 572)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 4,516자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,상고인】 농업협동조합중앙회 (소송대리인 변호사 이기창)

【피고,피상고인】 근로복지공단 (변경전 피고 서울서부지방노동사무소장)

【원심판결】 서울고법 1995. 11. 28. 선고 94구23335 판결

【주문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이유】 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심은 거시 증거들에 의하여 농민의 자주적인 협동조직인 단위조합과 특수조합을 그 회원으로 하여 회원조합의 공동이익의 증진과 그 건전한 발전을 도모함을 목적으로 설립된 원고는 그 산하에 농산물을 구입 또는 판매하거나 정부양곡을 보관하는 사업장인 신촌사업장(고양창고, 사직슈퍼마켓 및 서대문전시장을 포함한다, 이하 이 사건 사업장이라 한다.)을 운영하고 있는 사실, 이 사건 사업장에는 전국항운노동조합연맹 산하 서울특별시 농산물종합시장노동조합(이하 소외 조합이라 한다.) 소속의 근로자들(이하 이 사건 하역작업자들이라 한다.)인 소외 1(소외 2의 오기로 보인다.) 외 9인이 상하역 및 입출고의 작업에 종사하고 있는 사실, 이 사건 하역작업자들은 매일 07:00경 출근하여 원고 소속 담당직원으로부터 당일의 작업지시를 받고 작업반장인 소외 2가 중심이 되어 상하차 작업을 실시하는데 작업내용은 실려오는 양곡을 하차하여 보관창고에 쌓아 놓았다가 다시 창고에 쌓여 있는 양곡을 하주의 차량에 실어주는 단순, 반복적인 작업이어서 그 수행과정에서 원고로부터 구체적인 작업지시를 받지 아니하나 작업종료에 관하여는 원고의 작업종료의 지시 없이는 귀가할 수 없었던 사실, 위 소외 2는 1977년경부터 이 사건 작업장에서 계속 하역작업을 담당하여 왔고, 다른 하역작업자들도 마찬가지로 같은 장소에서 계속하여 하역작업을 수행하여 오고 있으며, 이 사건 사업장 중 고양창고의 경우에는 이 사건 원고가 설치한 운반장치(콘베이어)를 이용하여 하역작업을 하고 있는 사실, 이 사건 하역작업자들은 하역작업에 대한 대가로 매년 원고가 정하는 정부양곡 하역요율에 따른 상하차료 및 검근료를 지급받는데, 그 지급방식은 원고가 이를 일률적으로 관리하였다가 일정한 기간 동안 적립된 것을 이 사건 하역작업자들에게 직접 지급하는 형식을 취하고, 이때 원고는 위 보수가 자유직업소득에서 발생하는 사업소득으로 보고 개정 전 소득세법 소정의 규정에 따라 1%에 해당하는 금액을 소득세로 원천징수하는 한편, 이 사건 하역작업자들은 각기 사업소득자로서 해당세무서에 종합소득세를 신고, 납부하여 온 사실, 또한 이 사건 하역작업자들은 그들이 속한 소외 조합에 조합비로 7,500원을 납부하고, 이 사건 사업장 내에 설치된 노동조합사무실을 근로자의 대기실로 사용하고 있을 뿐 소외 조합이 하역작업자들에 대한 보수지급이나 작업지시에 관하여 일체 관여하지 아니하고 있는 사실을 인정한 다음, 사실관계가 이러하다면 이 사건 하역작업자들은 비록 원고와의 사이에서 정식으로 고용계약이나 도급계약을 체결한 것은 아니지만 원고와 사용종속관계에 있는 근로자에 해당하고, 따라서 원고는 이 사건 하역작업자들에 대한 관계에서 보험료 납부의무를 지는 사업주의 지위에 있으므로, 이 사건 보험료부과처분은 적법하다고 판단하였다.

2. 가. 산업재해보상보험법(1993. 12. 27. 법률 제4641호로 개정되기 전의 법률) 제3조, 제6조, 제19조, 근로기준법 제14조, 제18조 등의 관계 규정을 종합하면 산업재해보상보험에 가입한 사업주는 근로기준법 소정의 근로자 즉, 직업의 종류를 불문하고 자신의 근로의 대상으로 사용자로부터 금품을 받을 것을 목적으로 사용자와의 사이에 실질적인 사용종속관계를 유지하면서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하는 자에 대한 관계에서만 보험가입자로서의 보험료 납부의무가 있다 ( 당원 1995. 1. 4. 선고 94누9290 판결 참조).

그리고 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당되는지를 판단함에 있어서는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙 또는 복무규정 등의 적용을 받으며, 업무수행과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적, 개별적인 지휘, 감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품, 원자재, 작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수의 성격이 근로 자체의 대상적 성격이 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제 사회적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 판단하여야 한다( 당원 1994. 12. 9. 선고 94다22859 판결, 1995. 6. 30. 선고 94도2122 판결 등 참조).

나. 이 사건에 돌아가 원고와 하역작업자들 사이에 실질적인 사용종속관계가 있는가에 대하여 보건대, 소외 조합 소속의 이 사건 하역작업자들 중 하나로서 작업반장인 원심증인 소외 2의 증언을 포함한 원심이 채용한 증거들과 기록에 의하더라도,

(1) 이 사건 하역작업자들은 소외 조합에 소속되어 원고의 요청에 따라 소외 조합으로부터 이 사건 사업장에 파견된 자들로서, 원고와 사이에 개별적인 근로계약을 체결한 바 없이 이 사건 사업장에서의 작업량에 따라 근로를 제공하고 있고,

(2) 원고가 그들에 대한 채용, 인사이동, 해고 및 퇴직 등에 관한 인사권을 갖고 있다거나 그들에게 적용되는 취업규칙 등이 있다고 볼만한 자료가 전혀 없으며,

(3) 이 사건 하역작업자들이 통상 07:00경 출근하는 이유는 출근시간이 정해져 있기 때문이 아니라 하역작업의 특성상 작업량을 예측하기가 곤란하므로, 작업이 있을 경우에 대비하기 위한 것 뿐으로 보이고,

(4) 원고가 이 사건 하역작업자들에게 하였다는 작업지시의 구체적인 내용은 작업대상을 정하여 작업을 지시하고 작업종료를 통보하는 정도인데, 이는 이 사건 하역작업의 내용이 구태여 자세한 지시를 필요치 않는 단순, 반복적 업무인 점, 이 사건 사업장에서 농산물의 구입, 판매 또는 정부양곡의 보관 등의 업무를 담당하는 원고가 사업장 관리운영계획에 따라 이 사건 하역작업자들에게 그 날의 작업대상과 작업내용을 개괄적으로 지적하고, 작업종료를 통보하는 것은 노무를 제공받는 사업자로서 통상적으로 할 수 있는 범위 내의 지시라고 보여지는 점 등에 비추어 위와 같은 정도의 작업지시를 원고가 이 사건 하역작업자들에 대하여 작업수행과정에 있어서 구체적, 개별적인 지휘 감독을 하였다고 할 수 없고,

(5) 또한 이 사건 하역작업자들이 이 사건 사업장에서 장기간 계속 근로를 하였다는 것은 이 사건 사업장의 작업물량이 계속 있었다는 사정에 기인하는 것일 뿐, 만일 이 사건 사업장의 작업물량이 없을 경우에는 이 사건 하역작업자들로서는 소외 조합의 지시에 의하여 하역작업을 필요로 하는 다른 회사들의 사업장에서 근로하였을 것임은 그들의 지위에 비추어 충분히 예상할 수 있는 것이므로, 이와 같은 계속적인 작업을 근거로 이 사건 하역작업자들의 근로가 원고 회사에게 종속된 것이라고 볼 수도 없으며,

(6) 한편 원고가 상하차비 및 검근료를 이 사건 하역작업자들에게 직접 지급하다가 이 사건 처분 이후인 1994. 8.부터 직접 지급하지 않고, 소외 조합에 소속된 작업반장인 위 소외 2에게 지급하여 그로 하여금 이 사건 하역작업자들에게 분배시키고 있는 점(기록 92면, 위 소외 2의 진술서)에 비추어 원래부터 원고가 상하차비 등을 이 사건 하역작업자들에게 지급하여야 할 의무가 있었다고는 단정할 수 없고, 오히려 사무의 편의상 또는 소외 조합과의 약정상 소외 조합의 업무를 원고가 대행하고 있는 것이 아닌가 하는 의심이 들고,

(7) 원고는 이 사건 하역작업자들이 자유직업에 종사하는 것으로 보고, 사업소득세를 원천징수한 것이지 근로자로 보고 갑종근로소득세를 원천징수한 것이 아니며,

(8) 이 사건 사업장 내에 소외 조합의 사무실이 설치되어 있고, 위 소외 2가 작업반장의 지위에 있는 점 등에 비추어 소외 조합은 위 소외 2를 통하여 다른 하역작업자들의 작업을 지시하고 있는 것으로도 볼 수 있으므로,

위와 같은 이 사건 하역작업자들의 근로제공의 형태, 작업비 지급의 형태 등 모든 사정을 종합하여 보면 원고와 이 사건 하역작업자들 사이에는 실질적인 사용종속관계가 없다고 봄이 상당하다.

다. 그럼에도 불구하고 원심은 이와 달리 소외 조합으로부터 파견된 이 사건 하역작업자들과 원고와 사이에 실질적인 사용종속관계가 있다고 보고, 원고가 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험료 납부의무를 지는 사업주의 지위에 있다고 판단하였으니, 원심판결에는 근로기준법 소정의 근로자에 관한 법리오해의 위법이 있다고 할 것이므로, 이 점을 지적하는 논지는 이유 있다.

그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고, 다시 심리·판단케 하기 위하여 사건을 원심법원에 환송하기로 관여 법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김석수(재판장) 정귀호 이돈희(주심) 이임수

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
94누9290 · 대법원 1995-01-04
산재보험료부과처분등취소
#2
2009두3965 · 대법원 0001-01-01
산업재해보상보험료경정청구반려처분취소등
#3
2007구합29741 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
산업재해보상보험료경정청구반려처분취소등
#4
2018누43523 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
산재보험료 부과처분 취소
#5
2013구단227 · 대구지방법원 0001-01-01
산재보험료부과처분취소

Cases citing this decision

97누19946 · 대법원 1999-11-12
Revocation of Reexamination Decision on Unfair Labor Practic
99마628 · 대법원 1999-07-12
Injunction to Preserve Employee Status (피용인지위보전가처분)
97누13016 · 대법원 1997-11-14
Revocation of Disapproval of Workers' Compensation Medical C
97누3644 · 대법원 1997-09-05
Revocation of Retrial Decision on Unfair Labor Practice Reme
96누1795 · 대법원 1997-02-14
Revocation of Reconsidered Decision on Remedy for Unfair Dis

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)