Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 94누7935

Revocation of Disposition Denying Industrial Accident Compensation Benefits산업재해보상금부지급처분취소

Decided1995. 03. 14. Court대법원Worker (deceased's family) won; case reversed and remanded for further proceedings
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A taxi driver, pressured to meet his company's daily quota (사납금, a fixed cash target drivers must pay to their employer), drove excessively and accumulated traffic penalty points, resulting in a license suspension. While attending a mandatory traffic safety education course required due to the suspension, he suffered a subarachnoid hemorrhage and died. The Supreme Court reversed the lower court's decision and remanded the case, ruling that this death should be recognized as a work-related injury (업무상 재해).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA taxi driver died of a brain hemorrhage while attending mandatory traffic safety training after losing his license due to overwork-induced traffic violations.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled this was a compensable work-related injury, reversing the lower court's denial.
  • LessonEmployers and insurers should recognize that injuries occurring during activities indirectly required by work (such as mandatory training resulting from work-related violations) may still qualify as industrial accidents (산업재해).
Issues
  • Whether attending mandatory traffic safety education constitutes 'performance of duties' for purposes of industrial accident recognition
  • The scope of causal relationship between work-related overexertion and the onset of subarachnoid hemorrhage
Key reasoning

The Court held that 'performance of duties' (업무수행성) is not limited to the actual performance of one's job tasks, but also extends to incidental activities connected to and arising from work duties. Since the traffic safety education was made mandatory as a direct consequence of the license suspension caused by work-related overexertion, attending the course was considered part of the scope of employment. The Court further reasoned that if work-related fatigue or overexertion combines with and aggravates an underlying medical condition to cause death or illness, a legally significant causal relationship (상당인과관계) between the work and the injury should be recognized, even if the condition was not solely caused by work.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

a. The concept of "performance of duties," which is a requirement for an occupational accident, is not necessarily recognized only during the period in which an employee is actually engaged in the performance of his or her duties; an accident occurring in the course of activities incidental to the performance of duties is also recognized as constituting performance of duties.

b. Even if the primary cause of a disease has no direct relationship to the employee's work, so long as work-related overexertion has combined with the primary cause of the disease to induce or aggravate the disease, there exists a causal relationship therewith. Such causal relationship need not necessarily be clearly proven medically or scientifically; where it may be inferred, in light of all the relevant circumstances, that there exists a proximate causal relationship between the work and the disease, such proof shall be deemed to have been established.

c. A case holding that where an employee, in order to meet the required quota (사납금) amid traffic congestion, engaged in excessive driving, received a suspension of his driver's license for exceeding the point limit, and, while resting due to the suspension, died of brainstem paralysis caused by subarachnoid hemorrhage while receiving traffic safety education, such death constitutes an occupational accident.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,711 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellee] Head of Seoul Eastern District Labor Office
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 93Gu12000 rendered May 19, 1994

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

The court below found as follows: the deceased, the husband of the Plaintiff, had worked as a taxi driver for Nonparty ○○○○ Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "the Nonparty Company") since June 24, 1985. At the end of May 1992, he received a 49-day driver's license suspension due to exceeding the penalty point limit, and he took leave from June 1 of that year. On June 9 of that year, while receiving traffic safety education conducted by the Seoul Branch of the Road Traffic Safety Association, he collapsed and was taken to a hospital, but died at approximately 11:30 the following day, the direct cause of death being brainstem paralysis and the underlying cause being subarachnoid hemorrhage. Regarding the Plaintiff's assertion that the deceased's death constituted an occupational accident because it resulted from accumulated fatigue due to excessive work, the court below held that the deceased had voluntarily gone to receive traffic safety education during the period of his license suspension in order to have that suspension period shortened, and therefore his death could not be regarded as an accident occurring in the performance of his duties or incidental thereto. The court below further held that it could not be found that the deceased had been subject to an excessive workload sufficient to cause mental or physical overwork, and therefore it could not be said that accumulated work-related overwork during his employment at the Nonparty Company was the cause of his death. On this basis, the court below held that the Defendant's disposition denying industrial accident compensation in this case was lawful.

First, as to the requirement of "performance of duties" (business execution) for an occupational accident, this need not be recognized only during the period in which the worker is actually engaged in the performance of duties; an accident occurring in the course of activities incidental to the performance of duties may also be recognized as having occurred in the performance of duties. According to the record, it can be inferred that the deceased had no choice but to engage in unreasonable driving, including violations of traffic regulations, in order to meet the quota (sanapgeum) amid Seoul's traffic congestion. Under the relevant statutes, a person who violates road traffic regulations must receive special traffic safety education as prescribed by Ministry of Home Affairs Ordinance (Article 49(2) of the Road Traffic Act (도로교통법)); the date, time, and place of such education are to be notified to the person subject thereto by means of a notice of education (Article 5 of the Enforcement Rules of the same Act); and a person who fails to receive such education is subject to punishment by a fine not exceeding 50,000 won, detention, or a minor fine (Article 113 of the same Act). Accordingly, if the deceased's 49-day driver's license suspension due to exceeding the penalty point limit was not the result of his own intentional act or gross negligence, but rather resulted from the accumulation of penalty points because, like other drivers employed by the Nonparty Company, he had no choice but to violate traffic regulations while driving unreasonably in order to meet the quota amid traffic congestion, then his attendance at the traffic safety education, which he was obligated to receive incidental to the suspension disposition, may be regarded as an act incidental to the performance of his duties, and there is room to recognize that it falls within the performance of duties.

Furthermore, even if the primary cause of a disease is not directly related to work, if work-related overwork at least combines with the primary cause of the disease to induce or aggravate the disease, a causal relationship exists (see Supreme Court Decision 91Nu10015 rendered April 14, 1992). Moreover, such causal relationship need not necessarily be clearly proven in medical or scientific terms; proof exists where, considering all the circumstances, a substantial causal relationship between the work and the disease may be inferred (see Supreme Court Decision 93Nu9408 rendered October 12, 1993). According to the record, the Nonparty Company operated on a two-shift daily system, with the morning shift working from 07:00 to 16:00 and the afternoon shift working from 17:00 to 02:00 the following day, with the shift pattern to be alternated weekly; however, it can be seen that in practice, drivers frequently worked from 10 to 12 hours per day in order to meet the quota. It is not difficult to infer that the deceased would have accumulated mental and physical fatigue due to this alternating day/night shift pattern and excessive work. The cause of the deceased's death, brainstem paralysis resulting from subarachnoid hemorrhage, occurs through cerebral infarction due to vasospasm and cerebral herniation due to increased intracranial pressure, with elevated blood pressure being the direct cause of subarachnoid hemorrhage; since overwork can induce elevated blood pressure, overwork may also serve as an indirect cause of subarachnoid hemorrhage. In this case, where no evidence whatsoever has been presented in the pleadings to indicate that the deceased had previously suffered from any pre-existing condition that could have caused subarachnoid hemorrhage, or that he had engaged in any activity during his leave due to the license suspension that could have caused overwork, there is ample room to find a substantial causal relationship between the fatigue accumulated from the deceased's continued unreasonable work and the subarachnoid hemorrhage.

Nevertheless, the court below's determination that the deceased's death was unrelated to the performance of his duties and was not attributable to his work constitutes an error in fact-finding due to a failure to fully examine the evidence, or a misapprehension of the legal principles regarding causation in occupational accidents, and it is clear that such error affected the outcome of the judgment. Accordingly, the ground of appeal pointing this out is well-founded.

Therefore, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further examination and judgment. This judgment is rendered by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices as set forth in the Order.

Justice Jung Gwi-ho (Presiding Justice), Kim Seok-su, Lee Don-hui, Lee Im-su (Justice in charge)

【판결요지】

가. 업무상 재해의 요건인 업무수행성은 반드시 근로자가 현실적으로 업무수행에 종사하는 동안만 인정할 수 있는 것이 아니라 업무수행에 수반되는 활동과정에서 일어난 재해도 업무수행성이 인정된다.

나. 질병의 주된 발생원인이 업무와 직접적인 관계가 없다고 하더라도 적어도 업무상의 과로가 질병의 주된 발생원인에 겹쳐서 질병을 유발 또는 악화시켰다면 그 인과관계가 있고, 그 인과관계 또한 반드시 의학적·자연과학적으로 명백히 입증하여야 하는 것은 아니고 제반 사정을 고려할 때 업무와 질병 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우도 그 입증이 있다 할 것이다.

다. 교통체증으로 인하여 사납금을 채우기 위하여 무리한 운행을 하다가 벌점초과로 운전면허정지처분을 받고 쉬는 동안에 교통안전교육을 받던 도중 뇌지주막하출혈로 인한 뇌간마비로 사망한 것이 업무상 재해에 해당한다고 본 사례.

【참조조문】

가.나.다. 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 / 가. 행정소송법 제26조[입증책임]

【참조판례】

나. 대법원 1992.4.14. 선고 91누10015 판결(공1992,1622), 1993.10.12. 선고 93누9408 판결(공1993하,3101)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,526자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고

【피고, 피상고인】 서울동부지방노동사무소장

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1994.5.19. 선고 93구12000 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

원심은 1985.6.24.부터 소외 ○○○○ 주식회사(이하 소외회사라 한다)의 택시운전기사로 근무하여 온 원고의 남편인 망 소외인이 1992.5.말 벌점초과에 따른 49일간의 운전면허정지처분을 받고 같은 해 6.1.부터 쉬다가 같은 달 9. 도로교통안전협회 서울시 지부에서 실시하는 교통안전교육을 받던 중 쓰러져 병원에 옮겼으나 그 다음날 11:30경 직접사인 뇌간마비, 선행사인 뇌지주막하출혈로 사망하였는데, 위 망인의 사망은 과중한 근무로 인한 누적된 피로로 인한 것이므로 업무상 재해에 해당한다는 취지의 원고의 주장에 대하여, 위 망인은 운전면허정지기간 중 그 면허정지기간을 단축받기 위하여 자발적으로 교통안전교육을 받으러 갔다가 사망한 것이므로 위 망인의 사망은 업무수행 또는 그에 수반하여 일어난 재해라고 볼 수 없고, 또 위 망인에게 정신적, 육체적 과로를 초래할 만한 업무과중이 있었다고 보기 어려워 소외 회사에 근무할 당시 누적된 업무상 과로가 위 사망의 원인이 되었다고 할 수 없으므로, 피고의 이 사건 산업재해보상금부지급처분은 적법하다고 판시하였다.

우선 업무상 재해의 요건인 업무수행성은 반드시 근로자가 현실적으로 업무수행에 종사하는 동안만 인정할 수 있는 것이 아니라 업무수행에 수반되는 활동과정에서 일어난 재해도 업무수행성이 인정된다 할 것인바, 기록에 의하면 위 망인은 서울 시내의 교통체증으로 인하여 사납금을 채우기 위하여는 교통법규를 위반하는 등의 무리한 운행을 하지 않을 수 없었던 사실을 엿볼 수 있고, 관계 법령에 의하면 도로교통법규를 위반한 자는 내무부령이 정하는 바에 따라 특별한 교통안전교육을 받아야 하고(도로교통법 제49조 제2항), 그 교육대상자에 대하여는 교육통지서에 의하여 교육일시, 장소 등을 알려주게 되어 있으며(같은법시행규칙 제5항), 위 교육을 받지 아니한 자에 대하여는 5만 원 이하의 벌금이나 구류 또는 과태료의 형으로 처벌하도록 규정되어 있음을 알 수 있으므로(같은 법 제113조), 만일 위 망인이 벌점초과에 따른 49일간의 운전면허정지처분을 받게 된 것이 본인의 고의행위나 중대한 과실에 기한 것이 아니라 소외 회사 소속의 다른 운전기사들과 마찬가지로 교통체증으로 인하여 사납금을 채우기 위하여 무리한 운행을 하다 보면 법규위반을 하지 않을 수 없었기 때문에 벌점이 누적된 점에 기인한 것이라면, 위 정지처분에 수반하여 의무적으로 받도록 되어 있는 교통안전교육의 수강은 업무수행에 수반되는 행위로 보아 업무수행성을 인정할 여지가 있다고 볼 것이다.

또 질병의 주된 발생원인이 업무와 직접적인 관계가 없다고 하더라도 적어도 업무상의 과로가 질병의 주된 발생원인에 겹쳐서 질병을 유발 또는 악화시켰다면 그 인과관계가 있고(당원 1992.4.14. 선고 91누10015 판결 참조), 그 인과관계 또한 반드시 의학적, 자연과학적으로 명백히 입증하여야 하는 것은 아니고 제반사정을 고려할 때 업무와 질병 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우도 그 입증이 있다 할 것인데(당원 1993.10.12. 선고 93누9408 판결 참조), 기록에 의하면 소외 회사는 1일 2교대 근무로 오전 근무자는 07:00부터 16:00까지, 오후 근무자는 17:00부터 그 다음날 02:00까지 각 근무하되 일주일마다 근무형태를 바꾸도록 되어 있었으나, 실제로는 사납금을 채우기 위하여 1일 10시간에서 12시간까지 운행하는 일이 많았음을 알 수 있으므로, 위 망인이 주·야간이 뒤바뀌는 근무형태 및 과중한 근무로 정신적, 육체적 피로가 누적되었을 것임은 짐작하기에 어렵지 않고, 위 망인의 사망원인인 뇌지주막하출혈로 인한 뇌간마비는 혈관연축으로 인한 뇌경색 및 뇌압상승에 의한 뇌탈출이 이루어지는 것이어서 혈압상승이 뇌지주막하출혈의 직접원인이 되는데, 과로가 혈압상승을 유발시킬 수 있어 과로도 뇌지주막하출혈의 간접원인이 될 수 있다는 것이므로, 달리 위 망인이 종전부터 뇌지주막하출혈의 원인이 될만한 지병을 앓았다거나 위 운전면허정지로 인하여 쉬는 동안에 과로의 원인이 될만한 행위를 하였다고 인정할 자료가 변론에 전혀 현출되어 있지 아니한 이 사건에 있어서는, 위 망인의 계속된 무리한 근무로 인하여 누적된 피로와 위 뇌지주막하출혈 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 볼 여지는 충분하다 할 것이다.

그럼에도 불구하고, 원심이 위 망인의 사망이 업무수행과는 관련이 없고 또 업무에 기인한 것이 아니라고 판단한 것은 심리를 다하지 아니하여 사실을 오인하였거나 업무상 재해의 인과관계에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있고, 이러한 위법은 판결 결과에 영향을 미쳤음이 분명하므로, 이 점을 지적하는 논지는 이유 있다 하겠다.

그러므로 원심판결을 파기하여 다시 심리판단받게 하기 위하여 사건을 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 정귀호(재판장) 김석수 이돈희 이임수(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2009구합2097 · 청주지방법원 0001-01-01
유족급여및장의비부지급결정취소
#2
91누3314 · 대법원 1991-11-08
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
#3
92누16805 · 대법원 1993-05-11
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits (유족보상금부지
#4
2009구합54857 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#5
2005두12572 · 대법원 2007-09-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits, etc.

Cases citing this decision

2006두7669 · 대법원 2006-10-13
보험급여액징수부과처분취소
2003두12530 · 대법원 2004-04-09
Revocation of Non-Approval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분
98두12642 · 대법원 1998-12-08
Revocation of Disposition Denying Bereaved Family Benefits a
98두4740 · 대법원 1998-05-22
Revocation of Non-Approval of Medical Care Benefits
97누10 · 대법원 1997-05-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)