Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2016다220808

Reimbursement Claim (구상금)구상금

Decided2018. 04. 24. Court대법원Reversed and remanded (파기환송) - case sent back to the lower court for further review
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case concerns a situation where an industrial accident occurred due to the combined negligence of a company employee and a third party. The Supreme Court confirmed that when the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단) seeks reimbursement (구상금) from the third party's insurer, it must exclude the portion of damages corresponding to the company employee's share of fault. Finding that the lower court had not adequately examined whether employer vicarious liability (사용자책임) applied, the Supreme Court reversed and remanded the case for further review.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA workplace accident occurred due to the combined negligence of a company employee and an outside third party.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the employer's share of fault (based on vicarious liability) must be deducted before calculating the reimbursement claim against the third party, and remanded the case for further review.
  • LessonWhen an industrial accident involves shared fault, reimbursement claims against third parties must properly account for the employer's own liability share rather than seeking full recovery.
Issues
  • Scope of the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service's right of reimbursement (구상권) against third parties following an industrial accident
  • Whether employer vicarious liability (사용자책임) applies to joint tortious acts committed by an employee of the insured and a third party
  • Method of applying comparative negligence (과실상계) principles when calculating the reimbursement amount
Key reasoning

Where an industrial accident results from the joint tortious acts of an employee of the insured (workers' compensation policyholder) and a third party, and the employer bears vicarious liability (사용자책임) for its employee's negligence, the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service cannot seek reimbursement from the third party for the portion of damages attributable to the employer's own burden based on its employee's share of fault. Allowing full reimbursement without this deduction would improperly shift the employer's liability onto the third party. Because determining whether vicarious liability applied was essential to correctly calculating the reimbursement amount, the lower court's failure to examine this issue constituted reversible error.

Full text (English, AI translation) 7,274 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service
[Defendant, Appellant] Samsung Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. (Attorneys Moon Tap-seung and 1 other, Counsel for the defendant)
[Judgment Below] Busan High Court Decision 2015Na55113 decided April 21, 2016

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Busan High Court.

[Reasoning] The grounds of appeal are examined.
1. Where an industrial accident occurs due to the joint tort of an insured and a third party, in light of the principle of litigation economy aimed at preventing circular indemnity litigation and the principle of good faith, the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단) may not claim indemnity from the third party for the amount corresponding to the insured's proportion of fault. Rather, it must first deduct from the insurance benefit amount the portion corresponding to the insured's proportion of fault out of the damages to be compensated to the injured worker (provided that, since the amount that may be claimed by way of indemnity is limited to whichever is smaller between the insurance benefit amount and the amount of damages, where the injured worker's damages are less than the insurance benefit amount, the insured's proportion of fault must be deducted from that amount of damages), and may claim indemnity from the third party only for the remaining difference, if any (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2000Da62322 decided March 21, 2002; Supreme Court Decision 2007Da82059 decided May 13, 2010, etc.).
This legal principle applies equally where an industrial accident occurs due to the joint tort of an employee of the insured and a third party, and the insured bears employer's liability under Article 756 of the Civil Act (민법) as the employer of that employee for the damages arising therefrom. In such a case, the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service may not claim indemnity from the third party for the portion borne by the insured corresponding to the employee's proportion of fault.
2. According to the reasoning of the judgment below and the evidence duly adopted by the court below, the following facts may be found.
(1) The Plaintiff is a corporation entrusted by the Minister of Employment and Labor with the administration of industrial accident compensation insurance business pursuant to the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). Non-party 1 (hereinafter "the victim") and Non-party 2 are employees of Hyundai Heavy Industries Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "Hyundai Heavy Industries"), an insured under the industrial accident compensation insurance. The Defendant is the comprehensive insurer of the 1-ton truck bearing license plate number (vehicle number 1 omitted) (hereinafter "the offending vehicle").
(2) At around 08:50 on September 21, 2012, Non-party 3, while driving the offending vehicle, proceeded straight through the intersection in front of Yangsan Gigong, located in Jeonggwan-myeon, Gijang-gun, Busan, heading from the direction of Gomnae Tunnel toward Ilgwang, in violation of the traffic signal, and collided with an Avante passenger vehicle bearing license plate number (vehicle number 2 omitted) (hereinafter "the victim vehicle"), which was being driven by Non-party 2, who was making a left turn in accordance with the signal from the direction of Ilgwang toward Jeonggwan Industrial Complex, thereby causing the accident (hereinafter "the instant accident").
(3) At the time of the instant accident, the victim was riding in the front passenger seat of the victim vehicle, and as a result of the instant accident sustained injuries including diffuse cerebellar injury, intraventricular and intracerebral hemorrhage, pelvic fracture, and traumatic subdural hemorrhage.
(4) The main cause of the instant accident was Non-party 3's violation of the duty to obey traffic signals and to drive safely as the driver of the offending vehicle; however, Non-party 2's negligence, as the driver of the victim vehicle, in failing to check whether vehicles in the opposing lane had stopped, also contributed to the occurrence of the instant accident and the expansion of the damages.
(5) The Plaintiff recognized the instant accident as an occupational accident and accordingly paid the victim medical care benefits (treatment expenses) of KRW 47,983,870, temporary disability benefits of KRW 53,141,450, and a lump-sum disability compensation of KRW 115,808,150.
(6) The "cause and circumstances of the accident" section of the application for industrial accident medical care benefits (Exhibit A No. 2-1) states as follows: "While on a domestic business trip for education on Busan Kongsberg DP System Maintenance (September 17 to September 21), on September 21 (Friday), while riding in Non-party 2's passenger vehicle en route to Kongsberg's headquarters in Jeonggwan, at around 08:40, while making a left turn at the Jeonggwan Industrial Complex intersection, a Porter (1-ton) vehicle proceeding straight ahead in violation of the signal collided with the front passenger seat, causing injury."
3. Examining these facts in light of the legal principles set forth above:
The instant accident occurred due to the concurrence of negligence between Non-party 2, an employee of Hyundai Heavy Industries, and Non-party 3, a third party. Since it is difficult to find that Hyundai Heavy Industries, the insured, engaged in conduct having a related joint character, Hyundai Heavy Industries does not bear joint tort liability with respect thereto. However, if Non-party 2's tortious act was, in objective appearance, related to the execution of the business of his employer, Hyundai Heavy Industries, then, absent any assertion or proof that Hyundai Heavy Industries exercised due care in the selection and supervision of Non-party 2, Hyundai Heavy Industries bears employer's liability. In such a case, the Plaintiff may not claim indemnity from the Defendant, the insurer of Non-party 3, for the portion borne by Hyundai Heavy Industries corresponding to Non-party 2's proportion of fault.
Nevertheless, the court below, without examining whether Hyundai Heavy Industries bears employer's liability, determined that the Plaintiff could claim indemnity from the Defendant for the entire amount of insurance benefits paid to the victim (however, since the amount of the victim's damages for treatment expenses is less than the insurance benefit amount, for that amount of damages instead), solely on the ground that the instant accident did not arise from the joint tort of Hyundai Heavy Industries and Non-party 3.
Such determination by the court below contains an error of failing to exhaust its examination by misapprehending the legal principles concerning the scope of the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service's right of indemnity against a third party.
4. Therefore, without determining the remaining grounds of appeal, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination. This judgment is rendered with the unanimous consent of the participating Justices as set forth in the Order.

Justice Min Yu-sook (Presiding Justice), Kim Chang-seok, Cho Hee-dae (Justice in charge), Kim Jae-hyung

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제87조 제1항, 제89조, 민법 제756조

【참조판례】

대법원 2002. 3. 21. 선고 2000다62322 전원합의체 판결(공2002하, 1317), 대법원 2010. 5. 13. 선고 2007다82059 판결(공2010상, 1095)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,521자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【피고, 상고인】 삼성화재해상보험 주식회사 (소송대리인 변호사 문탑승 외 1인)

【원심판결】 부산고법 2016. 4. 21. 선고 2015나55113 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 부산고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 산업재해가 보험가입자와 제3자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우 순환적인 구상소송의 방지라는 소송경제의 이념과 신의칙에 비추어 근로복지공단은 제3자에 대하여 보험가입자의 과실 비율 상당액은 구상할 수 없고, 피해 근로자가 배상받을 손해액 중 보험가입자의 과실 비율 상당액을 보험급여액에서 공제(다만 구상할 수 있는 금액은 보험급여액과 손해액 중 적은 것을 한도로 하므로, 피해 근로자의 손해액이 보험급여액보다 적은 경우에는 그 손해액에서 보험가입자의 과실 비율 상당액을 공제하여야 한다)한 후, 차액이 있는 경우에 한하여 그 차액에 대하여만 제3자에게 구상할 수 있다(대법원 2002. 3. 21. 선고 2000다62322 전원합의체 판결, 대법원 2010. 5. 13. 선고 2007다82059 판결 등 참조).

이러한 법리는 산업재해가 보험가입자 소속 근로자와 제3자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생하였고 그로 인한 손해에 대하여 보험가입자가 그 소속 근로자의 사용자로서 민법 제756조에 의한 사용자책임을 부담하는 경우에도 동일하게 적용되므로, 이러한 경우 근로복지공단은 그 소속 근로자의 과실 비율에 따른 보험가입자의 부담 부분은 제3자에게 구상할 수 없다.

2. 원심판결 이유 및 원심이 적법하게 채택한 증거들에 의하면 다음의 사실을 알 수 있다.

(1) 원고는 산업재해보상보험법에 따라 고용노동부장관으로부터 산업재해보상보험 업무를 위탁받은 법인이고, 소외 1(이하 ‘피해자’라 한다)과 소외 2는 산업재해보상보험 가입자인 현대중공업 주식회사(이하 ‘현대중공업’이라 한다) 소속 근로자이며, 피고는 (차량번호 1 생략) 1톤 트럭(이하 ‘가해차량’이라 한다)의 종합보험자이다.

(2) 소외 3은 2012. 9. 21. 08:50경 가해차량을 운전하여 부산 기장군 정관면에 있는 양산기공 앞 교차로를 곰내터널 방면에서 일광 방면으로 신호를 위반하여 직진하던 중, 일광 방면에서 정관산업단지 방면으로 신호에 따라 좌회전하던 소외 2 운전의 (차량번호 2 생략) 아반테 승용차(이하 ‘피해차량’이라 한다)와 충돌하는 사고(이하 ‘이 사건 사고’라 한다)를 일으켰다.

(3) 피해자는 이 사건 사고 당시 피해차량 조수석에 탑승하고 있었는데, 이 사건 사고로 인하여 미만성 소뇌 손상, 뇌실내 뇌내출혈, 골반 골절, 외상성 경막하출혈 등의 상해를 입었다.

(4) 가해차량 운전자 소외 3의 신호준수 및 안전운전의무 위반이 이 사건 사고의 주된 원인이 되었으나, 피해차량의 운전자 소외 2가 반대차선 차량의 정지 여부를 확인하지 않은 과실 역시 이 사건 사고의 발생 및 손해확대에 원인이 되었다.

(5) 원고는 이 사건 사고를 업무상 재해로 인정하여, 피해자에게 요양급여(치료비) 47,983,870원, 휴업급여 53,141,450원, 장해보상일시금 115,808,150원을 각 지급하였다.

(6) 산재보험 요양급여신청서(갑 제2호증의 1) 중 ‘재해원인 및 발생상황’란에는 ‘부산 콩스버그 DP SYSTEM MAINTENANCE 국내출장 교육(9/17~9/21) 중 9/21(금) 소외 2 승용차를 이용하여 정관 콩스버그 본사로 가는 길에 08시 40분경 정관 산단로 사거리에서 좌회전 중 전방 신호위반 직진포터(1톤) 차량이 조수석을 추돌하여 다친 사고임’이라고 기재되어 있다.

3. 이러한 사실관계를 앞서 본 법리에 따라 살펴본다.

이 사건 사고는 현대중공업 소속 근로자인 소외 2와 제3자인 소외 3의 과실이 경합하여 발생한 것으로서, 이에 관하여 보험가입자인 현대중공업이 관련공동성 있는 행위를 하였다고 보기 어려운 이상 공동불법행위책임을 부담하지는 아니한다. 그러나 소외 2의 불법행위가 외형상 객관적으로 사용자인 현대중공업의 사무집행에 관련된 것이라면 현대중공업이 그 선임 및 사무감독에 상당한 주의를 하였다는 점에 대한 주장·증명이 없는 이상 사용자책임을 부담하고, 이러한 경우 원고는 소외 3의 보험자인 피고에게 소외 2의 과실 비율에 따른 현대중공업의 부담 부분을 구상할 수 없다.

그럼에도 원심은 현대중공업이 사용자책임을 부담하는지에 관하여 심리하지 아니한 채, 이 사건 사고가 현대중공업과 소외 3의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 것이 아니라는 이유만으로 원고가 피해자에게 지급한 보험급여액 전액(다만, 피해자의 치료비 손해액은 보험급여액보다 적으므로 그 손해액)을 피고에게 구상할 수 있다고 판단하였다.

이러한 원심의 판단에는 근로복지공단의 제3자에 대한 구상권 행사 범위에 관한 법리를 오해하여 심리를 다하지 않은 잘못이 있다.

4. 그러므로 나머지 상고이유에 대한 판단을 생략한 채 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 다시 심리·판단하도록 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여, 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 민유숙(재판장) 김창석 조희대(주심) 김재형

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2000다62322 · 대법원 2002-03-21
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#2
86가합3357 · 서울민사지법 1987-05-07
구상금청구사건
#3
95다19751 · 대법원 1996-01-26
Claim for Indemnity (구상금)
#4
2006두15622 · 대법원 2007-02-08
보험급여금대체지급부지급취소
#5
2021다241618 · 대법원 2022-03-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Cases citing this decision

2022다214750 · 대법원 2025-04-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2021다241618 · 대법원 2022-03-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)