Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 95다19751

Claim for Indemnity (구상금)구상금

Decided1996. 01. 26. Court대법원Employer lost (사용자 패소)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case addresses a situation where an industrial accident (산업재해) was caused by the joint tort (공동불법행위) of a third party and an employer who was enrolled in industrial accident compensation insurance (산재보험). The Supreme Court held that the insurance company can exercise its right of indemnity (구상권) against the third party for the full amount paid to the injured worker, and after paying the insurance benefits, the third party may then seek re-indemnification from the employer based on the employer's share of fault (과실비율). Importantly, the employer's enrollment in industrial accident insurance does not exempt the employer from liability for damages arising from joint tort.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker was injured in an industrial accident caused jointly by a third party's negligence and the employer's own fault, and the industrial accident insurer paid out benefits to the worker.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the insurer could recover the full amount from the third party, and the third party could then recover from the employer the portion attributable to the employer's fault, since insurance enrollment does not shield employers from civil liability for joint tort.
  • LessonEmployers should understand that participating in industrial accident insurance (산재보험) does NOT eliminate their own civil liability when they are also at fault—third parties who pay damages can still seek reimbursement from the employer according to the employer's degree of fault.
Issues
  • Whether and to what extent a right of indemnity can be exercised when an industrial accident results from the joint tort of a third party and the insured employer
  • Whether an employer enrolled in industrial accident insurance, who is also a joint tortfeasor causing injury to the worker, is obligated to respond to a third party's claim for indemnity
Key reasoning

Under Article 15(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), the right of indemnity can be exercised in full regardless of the parties' respective fault ratios, even in cases of joint tort. Enrollment in industrial accident insurance protects the employer only with respect to statutory insurance benefits—it does not extinguish or reduce the employer's underlying civil liability for damages caused by joint tort. Consequently, once the insurer subrogates to the injured worker's claim and pays out benefits, the insurer (or a third party who indemnifies the insurer) can pursue the employer for the portion of liability corresponding to the employer's own fault. In other words, the employer remains obligated to pay the third party the amount corresponding to the employer's share of the jointly-exempted liability, since the insurer's payment operated as a joint discharge (공동면책) of both the third party's and the employer's liability.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The term "third party" as the counterparty against whom the right of indemnity under Article 15(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its full amendment by Act No. 4826 of December 22, 1994) may be exercised refers to a person who has no industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker and who bears liability for compensation for the accident to the injured worker due to a tort or otherwise. However, this right of indemnity may also be exercised even where the accident arose from a joint tort committed by the third party and the insured person or an employee thereof, and in such a case, the right of indemnity may be exercised regardless of the portion of liability attributable to the insured person or its employee based on their respective degrees of fault. Furthermore, it cannot be said that, merely because the third party who has satisfied the State's claim for indemnity may in the future seek re-indemnification from the insured person for the insured person's portion of liability according to the ratio of fault, the right of indemnity cannot be exercised in advance against the insured person with respect to that portion of liability.

[2] The fact that an employer is enrolled in industrial accident compensation insurance does not mean that the employer's liability for damages as a joint tortfeasor toward its injured employee does not arise. Therefore, the employer is obligated to pay, to the insurer who has acquired by subrogation the right of indemnity arising from the joint discharge of the liability for damages resulting from the joint tort, the amount corresponding to the employer's portion of liability that was discharged.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,606 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Ssangyong Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. (formerly Korea Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd.) (Attorneys for the Plaintiff: Cheongwoon Joint Law Office, Lee Jae-won and 2 others)
[Defendant, Appellant] Korea General Transportation Co., Ltd. (Attorney: Lee Jong-kwan)
[Court Below] Seoul District Court Decision 95Na1476 rendered on April 13, 1995

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds of appeal.

Regarding Ground 1

Under Article 15(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its full amendment by Act No. 4826 of December 22, 1994), the "third party" against whom the right of indemnity is exercised refers to a person who has no industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker but who bears liability for compensation for the accident, such as through a tort. However, this right of indemnity may also be exercised where the accident arose from a joint tort committed by the third party and the insured employer or its employees, and in such a case, the right of indemnity may be exercised regardless of the insured employer's or its employees' share of liability based on the ratio of fault. It cannot be held that, because a third party who has satisfied the State's claim for indemnity might in the future seek re-indemnification from the insured employer according to the ratio of fault, the right of indemnity cannot be exercised in advance against the insured employer's portion of liability. Furthermore, in this case, the mere fact that the employer was enrolled in industrial accident compensation insurance does not mean that the employer's liability for damages as a joint tortfeasor toward the injured employee does not arise. Therefore, the Defendant is obligated to pay to the Plaintiff, who subrogated the right of indemnity arising from the joint discharge of the liability for damages due to joint tort, the amount corresponding to the Defendant's share of liability that was discharged (see Supreme Court Decision 92Da23360, delivered December 8, 1992). Such an interpretation does not, as argued in the grounds of appeal, produce unreasonable results or results contrary to the principle of equity.

Accordingly, the judgment below, which upheld this claim—wherein the Plaintiff, as the insurer under the comprehensive automobile insurance contract with non-party Ilyang Sangun Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "the non-party company"), having paid in full the amount it disbursed to the State as insurance benefits, sought reimbursement from the Defendant of the Defendant's share thereof—was rendered in accordance with the above purport and is justified. There is no error in the judgment below, as argued in the grounds of appeal, based on a misunderstanding of the legal principles regarding the interpretation of "third party" under the aforementioned statutory provision, and the Supreme Court decisions cited in the grounds of appeal concern different factual circumstances and cannot be invoked in this case.

Regarding Grounds 2 and 3

According to the description in Exhibit A No. 2-1 (Judgment), the judgment in the case concerning the State's claim for indemnity against the non-party company held that the State's claim for indemnity against the non-party company was for KRW 71,571,620, which the State had disbursed as insurance benefits within the scope of the injured worker's damages of KRW 92,122,890, together with delay damages thereon. Therefore, even if the non-party company had been granted a 20% reduction for comparative negligence with respect to the injured worker's damages in that lawsuit, this would have had no effect on the amount the non-party company was required to reimburse. Accordingly, it cannot be said that the non-party company was at fault in failing to appeal and thereby finalizing the aforementioned judgment, which did not recognize such comparative negligence.

Furthermore, according to the record, after the above judgment ordering the non-party company to reimburse the State was rendered, and subsequently, in the lawsuit brought by the Plaintiff against the non-party company seeking confirmation of the non-existence of insurance liability arising from this accident—on the ground that the non-party company, having acquired the accident vehicle in question, did not undergo the procedure for insurance succession under the policy terms—a judgment was rendered against the Plaintiff, whereupon the Plaintiff, without undue delay, paid the amount of the aforementioned judgment together with delay damages. Given these facts, the said delay damages fall within the scope of the amount disbursed for the joint discharge of liability with the Defendant, and it cannot be said that the damages were increased due to the Plaintiff's unjustified contestation of the claim.

Although the reasons given by the court below for rejecting the Defendant's above arguments differ from the foregoing, the outcome is correct. Therefore, the argument disputing that the judgment below contains an error of misunderstanding the legal principles, as argued in the grounds of appeal, cannot ultimately be accepted.

All the grounds of appeal are without merit.

3. Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Ahn Yong-deuk (Presiding Justice), Cheon Kyung-song, Ji Chang-kwon, Shin Seong-taek (Justice in charge)

【판결요지】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제15조 제1항에 규정된 구상권 행사의 상대방인 제3자라 함은 피해 근로자와의 사이에 산업재해보험관계가 없는 자로서 피해 근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등으로 인한 재해배상 책임을 지는 자를 말하나, 그 구상권은 제3자와 보험가입자 또는 그 소속 근로자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우에도 행사할 수 있는 것이고, 이 경우에도 보험가입자 또는 그 피용자의 과실 비율에 따른 부담 부분에 관계없이 구상권을 행사할 수 있으며, 국가의 구상에 응한 제3자가 장차 보험가입자에게 과실 비율에 따라 그 부담 부분의 재구상을 할 것까지 미리 예상하여 보험가입자의 그 부담 부분에 대하여는 구상권을 행사 할 수 없는 것은 아니다.

[2] 사업주가 산업재해보상보험에 가입되어 있다고 하여 소속 피해 근로자에 대한 사업주의 공동불법행위자로서의 손해배상 책임이 발생하지 아니한다고 할 수는 없으므로, 사업주는 공동불법행위에 따른 손해배상 책임의 공동면책에 의한 구상권을 대위취득한 보험자에게 그의 부담 부분 중 면책받은 금액을 지급할 의무가 있다.

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제15조 제1항, 상법 제682조

[2] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제11조, 상법 제682조

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,062자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,피상고인】 쌍용화재해상보험 주식회사 (변경전 상호 : 고려화재해상보험 주식회사) (소송대리인 청운합동법률사무소 담당변호사 이재원 외 2인)

【피고,상고인】 고려종합운수 주식회사 (소송대리인 변호사 이종관)

【원심판결】 서울지법 1995. 4. 13. 선고 95나1476 판결

【주문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 피고의 부담으로 한다.

【이유】 상고이유를 본다.

제1점에 대하여

구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제15조 제1항에 규정된 구상권 행사의 상대방인 제3자라 함은 피해 근로자와의 사이에 산업재해보험관계가 없는 자로서 피해 근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등으로 인한 재해배상 책임을 지는 자를 말하나, 그 구상권은 제3자와 보험가입자 또는 그 소속 근로자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우에도 행사할 수 있는 것이고, 이 경우에도 보험가입자 또는 그 피용자의 과실 비율에 따른 부담 부분에 관계없이 구상권을 행사할 수 있으며, 국가의 구상에 응한 제3자가 장차 보험가입자에게 과실 비율에 따라 그 부담 부분의 재구상을 할 것까지 미리 예상하여 보험가입자의 그 부담 부분에 대하여는 구상권을 행사 할 수 없다고 볼 것은 아니고, 또한 이 사건에 있어 사업주가 산업재해보상보험에 가입되어 있다고 하여 소속 피해 근로자에 대한 사업주의 공동불법행위자로서의 손해배상 책임이 발생하지 아니한다고 할 수는 없으므로, 피고는 공동불법행위에 따른 손해배상 책임의 공동면책에 의한 구상권을 대위취득한 원고에게 그의 부담 부분 중 면책받은 금액을 지급할 의무가 있다고 할 것이며( 대법원 1992. 12. 8. 선고 92다23360 판결 참조), 이와 같이 해석함에 있어 소론이 지적하는 바와 같은 불합리나 형평의 원칙에 반하는 결과를 가져온다고 할 수 없다.

따라서 소외 일양상운 주식회사(이하 소외 회사라 한다)와의 자동차종합보험계약에 의한 보험자인 원고가 국가에게 보험 급여로 지출한 금원을 전액 지급한 다음 피고에 대하여 그 부담 부분의 상환을 구하는 이 사건 청구를 인용한 원심판결은 이와 같은 취지에 선 것으로서 정당하고, 거기에 소론과 같이 위 법조항에 정한 제3자의 해석에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다고 할 수 없으며, 소론이 지적한 대법원 판결들은 사안을 달리하여 이 사건에서 원용할 것이 되지 못한다.

제2, 3점에 대하여

갑 제2호증의 1(판결)의 기재에 의하면, 국가의 소외 회사에 대한 구상금 청구사건에 관한 판결에서 국가의 소외 회사에 대한 구상금 채권액은 피해 근로자의 손해액 금 92,122,890원의 범위 내에서 국가가 보험 급여로 지출한 금 71,571,620원 및 그 지연손해금이라고 판시하고 있으므로, 설사 위 소송에서 피해 근로자의 손해액 중 20%의 과실상계를 인정받게 된다 하더라도 소외 회사가 상환할 금액에는 아무런 영향이 없게 되고, 따라서 소외 회사가 위 판결이 과실상계를 인정하지 아니한 점을 상소로 다투지 아니하고 확정시킨 데에 어떠한 과실이 있다고 할 수 없다.

또한 기록에 의하면, 소외 회사에게 국가에 대한 상환을 명하는 위 판결이 선고되고, 이어서 소외 회사가 이 사건 사고차량을 양도받은 후 약관상의 보험승계 절차를 거치지 않았다는 이유로 원고가 소외 회사를 상대로 제기하였던 이 사고로 인한 보험금 채무의 부존재확인 소송에서 원고 패소판결이 선고되자, 원고는 별 지체 없이 위 판결의 금액에 지연손해금을 합한 금원을 지급하였음을 알 수 있는바, 사실관계가 이와 같다면 위 지연손해금은 피고와의 공동면책의 범위에 속하는 출재액에 해당하는 것으로서 원고의 부당한 항쟁으로 인하여 손해가 확대되었다고 볼 수 없다 할 것이다.

원심이 피고의 위 주장들을 배척한 이유는 이와 다르지만 그 결과에 있어서는 옳으므로, 원심판결에 소론과 같은 법리오해의 위법이 있음을 다투는 논지는 결국 받아들일 수 없다.

논지는 모두 이유 없다.

3. 그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 안용득(재판장) 천경송 지창권 신성택(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
92다23360 · 대법원 1992-12-08
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#2
87다카1946 · 대법원 1989-06-27
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#3
87다카3109 · 대법원 1989-09-26
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
86가합3357 · 서울민사지법 1987-05-07
구상금청구사건
#5
2016다220808 · 대법원 2018-04-24
Reimbursement Claim (구상금)

Cases citing this decision

2000다62322 · 대법원 2002-03-21
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
99나4673 · 대구고법 2000-03-30
대여금·구상금
98다6084 · 대법원 1998-05-08
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
96다39080 · 대법원 1997-01-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)