Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2000다62322

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided2002. 03. 21. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) — the Supreme Court overturned the lower court's ruling and sent the case back for reconsideration, effectively limiting the scope of the Workers' Compensation Service's reimbursement rights.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case addressed whether the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) could seek full reimbursement from a third party when an industrial accident resulted from the joint tortious conduct of the employer (사업주) and that third party. The Supreme Court ruled that, in order to prevent circular litigation (순환소송) and in accordance with the principle of good faith (신의칙), the Service may only seek reimbursement for the portion of insurance benefits corresponding to the third party's share of fault, excluding the employer's share of liability. This decision overturned prior case law and narrowed the scope of the Service's right of reimbursement (구상권).

Key takeaways
  • CaseAn industrial accident occurred due to the combined negligence of the employer and a third party, and the Workers' Compensation Service paid insurance benefits to the injured worker.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the Service can only recover from the third party the portion of benefits corresponding to the third party's fault, not the full amount, to avoid circular lawsuits and uphold good faith.
  • LessonWhen multiple parties share fault for a workplace accident, reimbursement claims by public insurers should be proportionate to each party's actual degree of liability, not the full compensation amount.
Issues
  • The scope of the Workers' Compensation Service's (근로복지공단) right to reimbursement when an industrial accident is caused by the joint fault of the insured employer and a third party
  • Whether the doctrine against circular litigation and the principle of good faith (신의칙) should limit the extent of reimbursement claims
Key reasoning

The Court reasoned that if the Workers' Compensation Service were allowed to claim the full amount of insurance benefits from the third party, this would trigger a circular chain of litigation: the third party would then sue the insured employer for contribution, and the employer would in turn seek reimbursement from the Service itself. Such a cycle would be inefficient, contrary to the principles of judicial economy, and inconsistent with the principle of good faith (신의칙). Therefore, the Court held that the Service's right of reimbursement should be limited to the amount remaining after deducting the portion attributable to the employer's own fault, meaning the Service can only recover the third party's proportionate share of liability.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

Article 55-2 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, amended by Act No. 6100 of December 31, 1999) provides that "where an insured person has, in advance, paid to a person entitled to benefits money or goods equivalent to insurance benefits pursuant to the Civil Act (민법) or other statutes on the same grounds as those for payment of insurance benefits under this Act with respect to an industrial accident suffered by an employee under his/her employ, and where such money or goods are recognized as having been paid in lieu of insurance benefits, the insured person shall be subrogated to the right of the person entitled to benefits to receive insurance benefits, as prescribed by Presidential Decree" (a provision to the same effect had already been provided in Article 35 of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, as amended by Presidential Decree No. 11960 of August 27, 1986, and when the said Enforcement Decree was wholly amended on April 15, 1995, the same purport was provided in Article 51 thereof; upon the enactment of the above statutory provision, Article 51 of the Enforcement Decree was deleted). Therefore, where an industrial accident occurs due to a joint tort committed by the insured person and a third party, if the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) can claim reimbursement of the entire amount of insurance benefits from the third party pursuant to Article 54(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, then the third party who has been claimed for reimbursement of the entire amount of benefits may, in turn, claim re-reimbursement against the insured person, who is a joint tortfeasor, for the portion corresponding to the insured person's share of fault; and the insured person who has responded to such re-reimbursement claim may, by analogical application of Article 55-2 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, claim re-re-reimbursement from the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service for the amount for which it was re-reimbursed. However, this would result in circular litigation, which would also be contrary to the economy of litigation, and moreover, it would ultimately mean that the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service is claiming an amount that it will have to return to the insured person, which is not reasonable even in light of the good faith principle. Therefore, it should be construed that the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service may not claim reimbursement from the third party for the amount corresponding to the insured person's share of fault; and specifically, only where, after deducting from the insurance benefit amount the amount corresponding to the insured person's share of fault out of the damages to be compensated to the victim, there remains a difference, may the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service claim reimbursement from the third party only for such difference.

The Supreme Court Decisions 96Da39080 delivered on January 24, 1997, 95Da19751 delivered on January 26, 1996, 92Da23360 delivered on December 8, 1992, and 91Da28726 delivered on February 25, 1992, which held to the effect that the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service may exercise its right of reimbursement against a third party for the entire amount of insurance benefits paid pursuant to Article 54(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, shall all be modified to the extent that they conflict with the opinion expressed in this Decision.

Full text (English, AI translation) 8,578 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단)
[Defendant, Appellant] Daesin Passenger Transportation Co., Ltd. (대신여객운수 주식회사) and one other (Litigation Counsel: Attorney Kwon Young-hoon)
[Intervenor for Defendant 1, Appellant] Dongyang Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. (동양화재해상보험 주식회사) (Litigation Counsel: Attorney Kwon Young-hoon)
[Judgment Below] Seoul District Court Judgment 2000Na34531, dated October 12, 2000

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the panel division of the Seoul District Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. Judgment of the court below

According to the reasoning of the first instance judgment as cited by the court below, the first instance court, upon comprehensive consideration of the evidence it adopted, found the following facts: on February 1, 1996, Nonparty 1, an employee of Nonparty Suwani Corporation Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "the Nonparty Company"), and his co-worker Nonparty 2, after completing a business trip, were returning to the office in a van owned by the Nonparty Company and driven by Nonparty 1, when the van skidded on an icy road and collided with the front bumper of an express bus owned by Defendant Daesin Passenger Transportation Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "the Defendant Company") and driven by Defendant 2, resulting in the death of Nonparty 2; and that the Plaintiff, as the insurance corporation established under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), recognized the accident as an industrial accident and paid a total of 56,707,980 won (51,915,760 won as a lump-sum survivor benefit and 4,792,220 won as funeral expenses) to the bereaved family of Nonparty 2, who was an employee of the Nonparty Company, an insured entity under the industrial accident compensation insurance. The first instance court then determined that the accident occurred due to the concurrence of the negligence of Nonparty 1, an employee of the Nonparty Company, and the negligence of Defendant 2, and held that, where an industrial accident occurs as a result of a joint tort committed by an insured entity and a third party, the scope of the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service's right of indemnity against the third party under Article 54(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act is not limited to the remaining amount after deducting the portion corresponding to the insured entity's share of fault from the amount of insurance benefits paid, but rather the Service may exercise its right of indemnity for the entire amount paid. Accordingly, the first instance court ordered the Defendants to pay the Plaintiff the remainder of the insurance benefit amount (however, the funeral expenses were reduced to 1,800,000 won) after deducting the amounts already received by the Plaintiff from the automobile liability insurer covering the vehicle owned by the Nonparty Company and the automobile comprehensive insurer covering the vehicle owned by the Defendant Company. This judgment was upheld by the court below.

2. Judgment of the Supreme Court

However, the judgment of the court below is difficult to accept.

Article 55-2 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (as amended by Act No. 6100 on December 31, 1999; hereinafter "the Act") provides: "Where an insured entity has, in advance, paid to a person entitled to receive benefits money or goods equivalent to insurance benefits under the Civil Act (민법) or other statutes for the same cause as the grounds for payment of insurance benefits under this Act with respect to an industrial accident suffered by an employee under its employ, and where such money or goods are recognized as having been paid in lieu of insurance benefits, the insured entity shall be subrogated to the right of the person entitled to receive benefits to receive insurance benefits, as prescribed by Presidential Decree." (A provision to the same effect had already been established in Article 35 of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act as amended by Presidential Decree No. 11960 on August 27, 1986; when the Enforcement Decree was wholly amended on April 15, 1995, the same purport was again provided for in Article 51 thereof; and when the provision was subsequently incorporated into the Act as described above, Article 51 of the Enforcement Decree was deleted.) Accordingly, where an industrial accident occurs as a result of a joint tort committed by an insured entity and a third party, if the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service were permitted, as held by the court below, to exercise its right of indemnity against the third party for the entire amount of insurance benefits paid, then the third party, having been made to indemnify the Service for the entire amount of the benefits, would in turn be entitled to seek re-indemnification from the insured entity, as a joint tortfeasor, for the portion corresponding to the insured entity's share of fault (see Supreme Court Decisions 92Da23360, delivered on December 8, 1992, and 95Da19751, delivered on January 26, 1996), and the insured entity, having responded to such re-indemnification claim, would then be entitled, by analogical application of Article 55-2 of the Act, to seek re-re-indemnification from the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service for the amount for which it was re-indemnified. This would result in circular litigation, which would not only be contrary to the economy of litigation, but would also mean that the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service is, in effect, claiming in this case an amount that it would ultimately have to return to the insured entity; permitting this would be inappropriate even in light of the principle of good faith. Therefore, it must be interpreted that the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service may not seek indemnity from the third party for the amount corresponding to the insured entity's share of fault. Specifically, only where, after deducting from the amount of insurance benefits paid the amount corresponding to the insured entity's share of fault out of the damages that the victim would otherwise be entitled to recover, there remains a difference, may the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service seek indemnity from the third party for that remaining difference only.

To the extent that they conflict with the view expressed in this judgment, Supreme Court Decisions 96Da39080, delivered on January 24, 1997; 95Da19751, delivered on January 26, 1996; 92Da23360, delivered on December 8, 1992; and 91Da28726, delivered on February 25, 1992, which held to the effect that the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service may exercise its right of indemnity against a third party under Article 54(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act for the entire amount of insurance benefits paid, are all hereby overruled.

That being so, the court below, without examining whether, after determining the Nonparty Company's share of fault contributing to the occurrence of the industrial accident and calculating the Nonparty Company's portion of the damages that the victim would otherwise be entitled to recover, and then deducting that portion from the amount of insurance benefits paid, any remainder would exist, erred in determining that the Plaintiff could seek indemnity from the Defendants for the entire remaining amount after deducting from the total insurance benefits paid by the Plaintiff the amounts already received from other insurers. This constitutes an error of law based on a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning the scope of the right of indemnity of the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service, which paid insurance benefits, against a third party where an industrial accident occurs as a result of a joint tort committed by an insured entity and a third party, and a failure to exhaust the necessary examination. The ground of appeal pointing this out is well-founded.

3. Conclusion

Accordingly, without examining the remaining grounds of appeal, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination. This judgment is rendered with the unanimous concurrence of all Justices participating in the decision.

Chief Justice Choi Jong-young (Presiding Justice), Justices Song Jin-hoon, Seo Seong, Cho Mu-je, Byun Jae-seung, Yoo Ji-dam, Yoon Jae-sik, Lee Yong-woo (Justice in Charge), Bae Ki-won, Kang Shin-wook, Lee Kyu-hong, Son Ji-yeol, Park Jae-yoon

【판결요지】

산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정된 것) 제55조의2에서는"보험가입자가 소속 근로자의 업무상의 재해에 대하여 이 법에 의한 보험급여의 지급사유와 동일한 사유로 민법 기타 법령에 의하여 보험급여에 상당하는 금품을 수급권자에게 미리 지급한 경우로서 당해 금품이 보험급여에 대체하여 지급한 것으로 인정되는 경우 보험가입자는 대통령령이 정하는 바에 따라 당해 수급권자의 보험급여를 받을 권리를 대위한다."라고 규정하고 있으므로(같은 취지의 규정이 1986. 8. 27. 대통령령 제11960호로 개정된 산업재해보상보험법시행령 제35조에 이미 규정되어 있었고, 1995. 4. 15. 위 시행령이 전면 개정되면서 그 제51조에서 역시 같은 취지로 규정되었다가, 위와 같이 법률에 규정이 되면서 위 시행령 제51조는 삭제되었다), 산업재해가 보험가입자와 제3자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우에, 근로복지공단이 제3자에 대하여 위 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항에 의하여 보험급여액 전액을 구상할 수 있다면, 그 급여액 전액을 구상당한 제3자는 다시 공동불법행위자인 보험가입자를 상대로 그 과실 비율에 따라 그 부담 부분의 재구상을 할 수 있고, 재구상에 응한 보험가입자는 위 산업재해보상보험법 제55조의2의 유추적용에 의하여 근로복지공단에게 재구상당한 금액의 재재구상을 할 수 있다고 하여야 할 것인데, 그렇게 되면 순환소송이 되어 소송경제에도 반할 뿐만 아니라, 근로복지공단이 결국은 보험가입자에게 반환할 것을 청구하는 것이 되어 이를 허용함은 신의칙에 비추어 보더라도 상당하지 아니하므로, 근로복지공단은 제3자에 대하여 보험가입자의 과실 비율 상당액은 구상할 수 없다고 해석하여야 할 것이고, 구체적으로는 피해자가 배상받을 손해액 중 보험가입자의 과실 비율 상당액을 보험급여액에서 공제하고 차액이 있는 경우에 한하여 그 차액에 대하여만 근로복지공단이 제3자로부터 구상할 수 있다고 할 것이다. 이와 달리 근로복지공단이 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항에 따라 제3자에 대하여 그 지급한 보험급여액 전액에 관하여 구상권을 행사할 수 있다는 취지로 판시한 대법원 1997. 1. 24. 선고 96다39080 판결, 1996. 1. 26. 선고 95다19751 판결, 1992. 12. 8. 선고 92다23360 판결, 1992. 2. 25. 선고 91다28726 판결 등은 이 판결의 견해에 배치되는 범위 내에서 이를 모두 변경하기로 한다.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정된 것) 제54조 제1항, 제55조의2, 구 산업재해보상보험법시행령(1986. 8. 27. 대통령령 제11960호로 개정된 것) 제35조, 구 산업재해보상보험법시행령(1995. 4. 15. 대통령령 제14628호로 전문 개정된 것) 제51조

【참조판례】

대법원 1992. 2. 25. 선고 91다28726 판결(공1992, 1134)(변경), 대법원 1992. 12. 8. 선고 92다23360 판결(공1993상, 424)(변경), 대법원 1996. 1. 26. 선고 95다19751 판결(공1996상, 737)(변경), 대법원 1997. 1. 24. 선고 96다39080 판결(공1997상, 636)(변경)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,869자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【피고, 상고인】 대신여객운수 주식회사 외 1인 (소송대리인 변호사 권영훈)

【피고1보조참가인, 상고인】 동양화재해상보험 주식회사 (소송대리인 변호사 권영훈)

【원심판결】 서울지법 2000. 10. 12. 선고 2000나34531 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 서울지방법원 본원합의부에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원심의 판단

원심이 인용한 제1심판결 이유에 의하면, 제1심은 그 채택한 증거를 종합하여, 소외 주식회사 스와니코퍼레이숀(이하 '소외 회사'라 한다)의 직원인 소외 1과 동료직원인 소외 2가 1996. 2. 1. 출장업무를 마치고 소외 1이 운전하는 소외 회사 소유의 승합차를 타고 귀사하다가 위 승합차가 눈길에 미끄러져 피고 2 운전의 피고 대신여객운수 주식회사(이하 '피고 회사'라 한다) 소유 고속버스의 앞범퍼 부분을 충격하여 소외 2가 사망하는 사고가 발생한 사실, 원고는 산업재해보상보험법에 기하여 설립된 보험공단으로서 위 사고를 산업재해 사고로 인정, 산업재해보상보험가입자인 소외 회사의 피용자인 소외 2의 유족에게 유족보상일시금으로 51,915,760원, 장의비로 4,792,220원 합계 56,707,980원을 지급한 사실을 인정한 다음, 위 사고는 소외 회사의 피용자인 소외 1의 과실과 피고 2의 과실이 경합하여 발생한 것인바, 산업재해가 보험가입자와 제3자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항에 의하여 근로복지공단이 제3자에 대하여 구상할 수 있는 범위는 근로복지공단의 보험급여 지급액 중 보험가입자의 과실비율에 따른 책임 부분을 공제한 나머지 금액만을 구상할 수 있는 것이 아니라 그 지급액 전액에 대하여 구상권을 행사할 수 있다고 판단하여, 피고들로 하여금 원고에게 보험급여액(단, 장의비만 1,800,000원으로 축소) 중에서 소외 회사 소유 차량에 대한 자동차책임보험자 및 피고 회사 소유 차량에 대한 자동차종합보험자로부터 원고가 지급받은 각 보험금액을 공제한 나머지 금액을 지급할 것을 명하였다.

2. 대법원의 판단

그러나 원심의 판단은 수긍하기 어렵다.

산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정된 것, 이하 ‘법’이라 한다) 제55조의2에서는 "보험가입자가 소속 근로자의 업무상의 재해에 대하여 이 법에 의한 보험급여의 지급사유와 동일한 사유로 민법 기타 법령에 의하여 보험급여에 상당하는 금품을 수급권자에게 미리 지급한 경우로서 당해 금품이 보험급여에 대체하여 지급한 것으로 인정되는 경우 보험가입자는 대통령령이 정하는 바에 따라 당해 수급권자의 보험급여를 받을 권리를 대위한다."라고 규정하고 있으므로(같은 취지의 규정이 1986. 8. 27. 대통령령 제11960호로 개정된 산업재해보상보험법시행령 제35조에 이미 규정되어 있었고, 1995. 4. 15. 위 시행령이 전면 개정되면서 그 제51조에서 역시 같은 취지로 규정되었다가, 위와 같이 법률에 규정이 되면서 위 시행령 제51조는 삭제되었다), 산업재해가 보험가입자와 제3자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우에, 근로복지공단이 제3자에 대하여 원심의 판단처럼 보험급여액 전액을 구상할 수 있다면, 그 급여액 전액을 구상당한 제3자는 다시 공동불법행위자인 보험가입자를 상대로 그 과실 비율에 따라 그 부담 부분의 재구상을 할 수 있고(대법원 1992. 12. 8. 선고 92다23360 판결, 1996. 1. 26. 선고 95다19751 판결 참조), 재구상에 응한 보험가입자는 법 제55조의2의 유추적용에 의하여 근로복지공단에게 재구상당한 금액의 재재구상을 할 수 있다고 하여야 할 것인데, 그렇게 되면 순환소송이 되어 소송경제에도 반할 뿐만 아니라, 근로복지공단이 결국은 보험가입자에게 반환할 것을 이 사건으로 청구하는 것이 되어 이를 허용함은 신의칙에 비추어 보더라도 상당하지 아니하므로, 근로복지공단은 제3자에 대하여 보험가입자의 과실 비율 상당액은 구상할 수 없다고 해석하여야 할 것이고, 구체적으로는 피해자가 배상받을 손해액 중 보험가입자의 과실 비율 상당액을 보험급여액에서 공제하고 차액이 있는 경우에 한하여 그 차액에 대하여만 근로복지공단이 제3자로부터 구상할 수 있다고 할 것이다.

이와 달리 근로복지공단이 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항에 따라 제3자에 대하여 그 지급한 보험급여액 전액에 관하여 구상권을 행사할 수 있다는 취지로 판시한 대법원 1997. 1. 24. 선고 96다39080 판결, 1996. 1. 26. 선고 95다19751 판결, 1992. 12. 8. 선고 92다23360 판결, 1992. 2. 25. 선고 91다28726 판결 등은 이 판결의 견해에 배치되는 범위 내에서 이를 모두 변경하기로 한다.

그렇다면 원심이 위 산업재해 발생에 기여한 소외 회사의 과실 비율 등을 판단하여 피해자가 배상받을 손해액 중 소외 회사 부담분을 산출한 후 이를 보험급여액에서 공제하더라도 남음이 있는지 심리하지 아니한 채, 원고가 지급한 보험급여액 전액 중에서 다른 보험자로부터 이미 지급받은 금액을 공제한 나머지 금액 전액을 원고가 피고들에게 구상할 수 있다고 판단한 데에는, 산업재해가 보험가입자와 제3자의 공동불법행위로 발생한 경우 보험급여를 지급한 근로복지공단의 제3자에 대한 구상권의 행사 범위에 관한 법리를 오해하고 심리를 다하지 않은 위법이 있다고 할 것이다. 이 점을 지적하는 취지의 상고이유는 정당하다.

3. 결 론

그러므로 나머지 상고이유에 대한 판단을 생략한 채 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 다시 심리·판단하게 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하기로 하는바, 이 판결에는 관여 대법관 전원의 의견이 일치되었다.

대법원장 최종영(재판장) 송진훈 서성 조무제 변재승 유지담 윤재식 이용우(주심) 배기원 강신욱 이규홍 손지열 박재윤

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2016다220808 · 대법원 2018-04-24
Reimbursement Claim (구상금)
#2
95다19751 · 대법원 1996-01-26
Claim for Indemnity (구상금)
#3
86가합3357 · 서울민사지법 1987-05-07
구상금청구사건
#4
84가합801 · 서울민사지법 1984-05-04
구상금청구사건
#5
2021다241618 · 대법원 2022-03-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Cases citing this decision

2022다214750 · 대법원 2025-04-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2021다241618 · 대법원 2022-03-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2016다220808 · 대법원 2018-04-24
Reimbursement Claim (구상금)
2007다82059 · 대법원 2010-05-13
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2009다98928 · 대법원 2010-04-29
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)