Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 90누2772

Revocation of Decision Denying Insurance Benefit Claim보험급여청구기각판정취소

Decided1991. 04. 26. Court대법원Case remanded to lower court (destruction and remand) — the lower court's judgment was overturned for improperly using a wage survey report as the sole basis for average wage calculation.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved a contractor who had entered into a piece-rate labor subcontract (품떼기 계약) and sought industrial accident compensation insurance benefits (산업재해보상보험급여). Because the contractor's actual average wage (평균임금) could not be calculated using standard methods, the key question was whether the lower court properly determined an alternative calculation method. The Supreme Court found that the lower court erred by relying solely on an occupational wage survey report to calculate the average wage, and remanded the case for further proceedings.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA piece-rate labor subcontractor filed for industrial accident insurance benefits, but his average wage could not be calculated using standard methods.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that courts must first attempt to calculate the actual ordinary living wage before resorting to industry-average wages, and that wage survey reports alone are insufficient as a primary basis.
  • LessonWhen calculating benefits for workers under unconventional contract arrangements, always prioritize actual wage evidence over generalized industry survey data.
Issues
  • Method for calculating average wage for a piece-rate labor subcontractor (품떼기 계약 수급인)
  • Alternative calculation methods when standard average wage calculation under the Labor Standards Act is impossible
  • Whether an occupational wage survey report is an appropriate direct basis for average wage calculation
Key reasoning

The fundamental principle of average wage calculation is to accurately reflect the worker's actual ordinary living wage (통상의 생활임금). Courts must first examine whether there is any feasible method to calculate this ordinary living wage based on actual circumstances. Only when such calculation proves genuinely impossible should courts resort to using the average wage of regular employees performing similar work as a benchmark. An occupational wage survey report (직종별임금실태조사보고서) may serve as supplementary reference material, but it cannot be treated as a direct or primary basis for determining the average wage, since it does not accurately capture the actual wage conditions of the specific worker or contractor involved.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] A case holding that, for a subcontractor who performed labor under a so-called "pum-tteogi contract" (품떼기 계약, a lump-sum piecework subcontract), the average wage that serves as the basis for industrial accident compensation insurance benefits could not be calculated pursuant to Article 19 of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) and Articles 2 through 4 of the Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법시행령).

[2] In the case described in item "[1]" above, since the Minister of Labor has not yet established or publicly notified the standards for calculating the average wage pursuant to Article 5 of the Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act or the proviso to Article 3(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), there is no way to calculate the average wage on that basis either. However, since the average wage serves as the standard for calculating various benefits under the Labor Standards Act, such as retirement allowances for workers, and since the purpose of the relevant provisions of the Labor Standards Act concerning such benefits is to guarantee the livelihood of workers, the basic principle underlying the calculation of the average wage as such a standard is to calculate, as accurately as possible, the worker's ordinary living wage. This must be interpreted in the same manner with respect to the average wage as the standard for calculating various insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. Accordingly, in such a case, the method that can accurately calculate the worker's ordinary living wage should be used, and where no such method is available, the average wage amount of regular workers engaged in the same type of work in the area centered on the region where the worker in question was working should be taken as the standard.

[3] The Occupational Wage Survey Report by Job Category (직종별임금실태조사보고서) published annually by the Minister of Labor is compiled and reported for the purpose of investigating and ascertaining matters concerning workers' wages, working hours, and other working conditions by job category and industry, thereby providing basic data for the improvement of various economic policies and corporate wage systems, and is merely general data on wage conditions. While it may be considered as reference or supplementary material in determining the average wage, it cannot be used directly as the standard for calculating the average wage. In the case described in item "[1]" above, the court below erred in law regarding the average wage, or failed to fully examine the matter, by directly calculating the average wage based on the wage levels in the Occupational Wage Survey Report by Job Category without first examining the ordinary living wage and the average wage amount of regular workers engaged in the same type of work.

Full text (English, AI translation) 9,158 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellant] Chief of Yeongju Regional Labor Office
[Original Judgment] Daegu High Court Decision 88Gu668 rendered on February 21, 1990

[Order]

The original judgment is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Daegu High Court.

[Reasoning] Regarding the grounds for appeal

The court below found the following facts: the Plaintiff entered into a so-called "piece-work contract" (품떼기계약) on October 4, 1986 with non-party Namyang Gyejeon Co., Ltd., which had been subcontracted a portion of the construction work for the iron oxide pigment plant at the Seokpo Smelter by non-party Yeongpung Machinery Industrial Co., Ltd., the main contractor, whereby the contract amount was set at KRW 2,100,000 and the construction work was to be cable tray installation and cable laying at Iron Oxide Plant No. 2; that pursuant to this contract, the Plaintiff hired workers and was performing the said construction work when, at around 11:00 on November 16 of the same year, while correcting a cable tray, a supporting timber broke and the Plaintiff fell from a scaffold approximately 3.5 meters high, sustaining injuries including a comminuted fracture of the right calcaneus; that the Plaintiff received medical care benefits from the Defendant pursuant to the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), and also received temporary disability benefits and disability benefits based on the Plaintiff's average wage as calculated by the Defendant at KRW 13,125; that the Plaintiff, dissatisfied with this calculation of average wage, filed several petitions of grievance; and that the Defendant, taking into account that the daily wage of electricians employed by the said company at the time was KRW 15,000, determined that it was reasonable to regard that amount as the Plaintiff's ordinary wage, and since the average wage was lower than the ordinary wage, decided to treat the ordinary wage amount as the average wage, thereby additionally paying the Plaintiff temporary disability benefits and disability benefits corresponding to the difference, while at the same time rendering the disposition at issue in this case to the effect that it would not pay temporary disability benefits and disability benefits calculated based on an average wage exceeding KRW 15,000.

The court below determined that the Plaintiff entered into the piece-work contract with the said Namyang Gyejeon, received materials from the said company, and completed the construction work at his own responsibility and account, but was subject to direction and supervision by the said company, the contracting party, over the entire construction work; that therefore the said piece-work contract was a so-called labor-service contract (노무도급계약) combining elements of an employment contract and a contract for work; that accordingly, the piece-work contract amount of KRW 2,100,000 comprehensively included not only labor costs and expenses paid to workers hired by the Plaintiff, but also the Plaintiff's own wages and the profit accruing to the Plaintiff from the contract for work; that although the Plaintiff's profit portion could not be included within the scope of wages that form the premise for industrial accident compensation insurance benefits, since it was not practically possible to clearly distinguish labor costs, expenses, and the Plaintiff's profit within the piece-work contract amount, it was impossible to calculate the Plaintiff's average wage on the premise of the piece-work contract amount; and further, that since, in the case of a contractor under a labor-service contract such as the Plaintiff, no hourly wage, daily wage, weekly wage, or contract amount had been fixed, there was no room to determine an ordinary wage, and that the Defendant's determination that the Plaintiff's ordinary wage should be set at KRW 15,000, taking into account that the maximum daily wage of electricians employed by the said company at the time was KRW 15,000, was unjust as its basis was unclear — all of these determinations by the court below are correct, and there is no error of mistaken fact-finding or misapprehension of legal principles as argued in the grounds of appeal.

Regarding such a case, Article 5 of the Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법시행령) provides that where the average wage cannot be calculated pursuant to Article 19 of the said Act and Articles 2 through 4 of the said Decree, it shall be as determined by the Minister of Labor; and the proviso to Article 3(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act provides that where it is recognized to be difficult to determine wages or average wages under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the amount separately determined and publicly notified by the Minister of Labor shall be deemed such wages or average wages. However, since the determination or public notice by the Minister of Labor under each of the above provisions has not yet been implemented, there is likewise no way to calculate the Plaintiff's average wage on that premise. Nevertheless, the average wage serves as the standard for calculating various benefits paid to workers, namely, retirement allowance (Article 28 of the Labor Standards Act), leave-of-absence allowance (Article 38 of the same Act), annual paid leave allowance (Article 48 of the same Act), temporary disability compensation (Article 79 of the same Act), disability compensation (Article 80 of the same Act), and the limit on wage reduction as a disciplinary measure (Article 96 of the same Act); and since the purpose of the provisions concerning each of these allowances and compensations is, in all cases, to guarantee the livelihood of the worker, the average wage as the standard for such calculation must, as its fundamental principle, be calculated so as to accurately reflect the worker's ordinary living wage. This must be interpreted in the same manner with respect to the average wage serving as the standard for calculating various insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. Accordingly, where the average wage cannot be calculated pursuant to the provisions of the Labor Standards Act and its Enforcement Decree, it should be calculated by a method capable of accurately reflecting the worker's ordinary living wage; and where no such method exists, the average wage of regular workers engaged in the same type of work in the area centered on the region where the worker in question is employed should be taken as the standard.

The court below determined that it was appropriate to calculate the Plaintiff's average wage based on the wage levels set forth in the Report on Wage Survey by Occupation (직종별임금실태조사보고서) published annually by the Minister of Labor, which it deemed to be the most objective and accurate data concerning wage conditions in Korea. However, the said Report on Wage Survey by Occupation was compiled and reported for the purpose of investigating and ascertaining matters concerning workers' wages, working hours, and other working conditions by occupation and industry, in order to provide basic data for the improvement of various economic policies and corporate wage systems; it is merely general data concerning wage conditions, and while it may be considered as reference or supplementary material in determining the Plaintiff's average wage, it cannot directly serve as the standard for calculating the Plaintiff's average wage. If this were affirmed, it would in effect substitute the said Report on Wage Survey by Occupation for the determination or public notice by the Minister of Labor under Article 5 of the Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act and the proviso to Article 3(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, which cannot be deemed proper in light of the purpose of the said survey report.

Therefore, the court below should have examined whether there existed a method, even if not one prescribed under the Labor Standards Act and its Enforcement Decree, by which the Plaintiff's ordinary living wage could be calculated, and, if no such method existed, should have examined the average wage of regular workers engaged in the same type of work as the Plaintiff in the area centered on the construction site where the Plaintiff worked, in order to determine the Plaintiff's average wage, and then, on that basis, determined whether the Defendant's disposition was lawful. Nevertheless, without reaching such a determination, the court below held that the Plaintiff's average wage should be calculated based on the wage levels in the Report on Wage Survey by Occupation published by the Ministry of Labor, which constitutes an error of misapprehension of the legal principles concerning average wage and/or insufficient deliberation. The argument pointing this out is well-founded.

Accordingly, all participating Justices unanimously agree to reverse the original judgment and remand the case to the court below for further deliberation and judgment, and it is so ordered as stated in the Order.

Justice Yoon Yeong-cheol (Presiding Justice), Park Woo-dong, Bae Seok, Kim Sang-won

【판결요지】

가. 이른바 "품떼기 계약"을 체결한 노무도급 수급인에 대하여 산업재해보상보험급여의 기준이 되는 평균임금을 근로기준법 제19조 및 같은법시행령 제2조 내지 제4조의 규정에 의하여 산정할 수 없는 경우라고 본 사례

나. 위 "가"항의 경우 그 산정을 위한 근로기준법시행령 제5조 또는 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제2항 단서 규정에 의한 노동부장관의 정함 내지 고시가 현재까지 시행되지 않고 있으므로 이를 전제로 평균임금을 산정할 수 있는 길도 없으나, 평균임금은 근로자에 대한 퇴직금 등 근로기준법상의 여러가지 급여금 등을 산정하는 기준이 되고, 위 급여금 등에 관한 근로기준법의 관계규정의 취지는 근로자의 생활을 보장하고자 하는데 있으므로, 그 산정의 기준으로서의 평균임금은 근로자의 통상의 생활임금을 사실대로 산정하는 것을 그 기본원리로 하고, 이는 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 각종 보험급여의 산정기준으로서의 평균임금에 관하여도 동일하게 해석하여야 하고, 따라서 이 경우에는 근로자의 통상의 생활임금을 사실 대로 산정할 수 있는 방법에 의하되 그와 같은 방법이 없을 때에는 당해 근로자가 근로하고 있는 지역을 중심으로 한 일대에 있어서 동종의 작업에 종사하고 있는 상용근로자의 평균임금액을 표준으로 삼아야 한다.

다. 노동부장관이 연도별로 발행한 직종별임금실태조사보고서는 근로자의 임금·근로시간 등 제근로조건에 관한 사항을 직종 및 산업별로 조사, 파악함으로써 제반 경제시책과 기업의 임금체계 등의 개선을 위한 기초자료를 제공할 목적으로 조사 보고된 것으로서 임금실태에 관한 일반적인 자료에 불과하여 이를 평균임금을 정함에 있어서 참고 내지 보충의 자료로 감안함은 모르되 바로 평균임금 산정의 기준으로 삼을 수는 없는 것인바, 위"가"항의 경우에 있어서 원심이 통상의 생활임금 및 동종의 작업에 종사하고 있는 상용근로자의 평균임금액 등에 관하여 심리함이 없이 곧바로 직종별임금실태조사보고서의 임금수준을 기준으로 평균임금을 산정하여야 하는 것으로 본 것은 평균임금에 관한 법리오해 내지 심리미진의 위법을 저지른 것이다.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제2항, 근로기준법 제19조, 같은법시행령 제5조

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,200자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 원고

【피고, 상고인】 영주지방노동사무소장

【원 판 결】 대구고등법원 1990.2.21. 선고 88구668 판결

【주 문】

원판결을 파기하여 사건을 대구고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유에 대하여

원심이 원고는 석포제련소 산화철안료 프랜트건설공사를 시공하는 소외 영풍기계공업주식회사로부터 공사일부를 하도급 받은 소외 주식회사 남양계전과 사이에 1986.10.4. 계약금액을 금 2,100,000원 공사내용을 산화철 제2공장 케이블 트레이 설치 및 케이블 포설공사로 하는 이른바 "품떼기계약"을 체결하고 이에 따라 작업인부를 고용하여 위 공사를 하던 중 같은 해 11.16. 11:00경 케이블트레이 교정을 하다가 받침목이 부러지면서 약 3.5미터 높이의 다리 위에서 추락하여 우측종골 복합골절 등의 상해를 입게된 사실, 원고는 피고로부터 산업재해보상보험법에 따른 요양급여보상을 받는 한편, 피고가 산정한 원고의 평균임금 금 13,125원을 기준으로 휴업급여금 및 장해급여금을 지급받았으나, 위 평균임금산정에 불복하여 수차에 걸쳐 진정하던 중, 피고는 당시 위 회사에서 고용하고 있던 전공들에 대한 노임이 1일 금 15,000원인 점을 고려하여 원고에게도 그 금액을 통상임금으로 봄이 상당하고 평균임금이 통상임금보다 저액이므로 통상임금액을 평균임금으로 하기로 하여 그 차액분에 해당하는 휴업급여 및 장해급여를 원고에게 추가지급하는 한편 금 15,000원을 초과하는 평균임금을 기준으로 한 휴업급여 및 장해급여를 지급하지 아니한다는 취지의 이 사건 처분을 한 사실을 인정하고, 원고는 위 남양계전과 품떼기 계약을 체결하여 위 회사로부터 자재를 지급받아 그의 책임과 계산하에 위 공사를 완성하되 도급자인 위 회사로부터 공사전반에 걸쳐 지휘감독을 받게 되어 있으므로 위 품떼기 계약은 고용계약과 도급계약이 혼합된 이른바 노무도급계약이고, 따라서 품떼기 계약금액인 금 2,100,000원에는 원고가 고용한 인부들에게 지출하는 인건비와 경비뿐만 아니라 원고 자신의 임금 및 도급계약으로 인하여 원고가 취득하게 되는 이윤 등이 복합적으로 포함되어 있는데, 원고의 이윤부분은 산업재해보상보험급여의 전제가 되는 임금의 범위 안에 포함될 수 없는 금액이기는 하나, 품떼기 계약금액에서 인건비, 경비와 원고의 이윤 등을 명백히 구분할 수는 없는 실정이므로, 품떼기 계약금액을 전제로 원고의 평균임금을 산출하는 것은 불가능하고, 또한 원고와 같이 노무도급계약의 수급인일 경우에는 시간급, 일급, 주급 또는 도급의 금액이 정여하여진 바 없어 통상임금을 정할 여지가 없고, 피고는 당시 위 회사에서 고용하고 있던 전공들에 대한 노임이 1일 최고 금 15,000원인 점을 고려하여 원고에게 그 금액을 통상임금으로 결정하였으나 그 근거가 분명하지 아니하여 부당하다고 판단하고 있는 것은 모두 옳고 여기에 소론이 지적하는 바와 같은 사실오인 내지 법리오해의 위법이 없다.

위와 같은 경우에 관하여 근로기준법시행령 제5조는 같은 법 제19조 및 같은 영 제2조 내지 제4조의 규정에 의하여 평균임금을 산정할 수 없는 경우에는 노동부장관이 정하는 바에 의한다고 규정하고 있고, 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제2항 단서는 근로기준법에 의하여 임금 또는 평균임금을 결정하기 곤란하다고 인정되는 경우에는 노동부장관이 따로 정하여 고시하는 금액을 당해 임금 또는 평균임금으로 한다고 규정하고 있는바, 위 각 규정에 의한 노동부장관의 정함 내지 고시가 현재까지 시행되지 않고 있으므로 이를 전제로 원고의 평균임금을 산정할 수 있는 길도 없으나, 평균임금은 근로자에 대한 여러가지 급여금, 즉 퇴직금(근로기준법 제28조), 휴업수당(같은 법 제38조), 연차유급휴가수당(같은 법 제48조), 휴업보상(같은 법 제79조), 장해보상(같은 법 제80조)과 감급제재의 제한액(같은 법 제96조) 등을 산정하는 기준이 되고, 위 각 수당 및 보상등에 관한 규정의 취지는 어디까지나 근로자의 생활을 보장하고자하는 데 있으므로, 그 산정의 기준으로서의 평균임금은 근로자의 통상의 생활임금을 사실대로 산정하는 것을 그 기본원리로 하고, 이는 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 각종 보험급여의 산정기준으로서의 평균임금에 관하여도 동일하게 해석하여야 하고, 따라서 근로기준법 및 같은법시행령의 규정에 의하여 평균임금을 산정할 수 없을 경우에는 근로자의 통상의 생활임금을 사실대로 산정할 수 있는 방법에 의하되 그와 같은 방법이 없을 때에는 당해 근로자가 근로하고 있는 지역을 중심으로 한 일대에 있어서 동종의 작업에 종사하고 있는 상용근로자의 평균임금의 액을 표준으로 삼아야 한다.

원심은 원고의 평균임금을 우리나라의 임금실태에 관한 가장 객관적이고 정확한 자료로 판단되는 노동부장관이 연도별로 발행한 직종별임금실태조사보고서의 임금수준을 기준으로 하여 산정함이 상당하다고 판단하고 있으나, 위 직종별임금실태조사보고서는 근로자의 임금,근로시간 등 제근로조건에 관한사항을 직종 및 산업별로 조사, 파악함으로써 제반 경제시책과 기업의 임금체계 등의 개선을 위한 기초자료를 제공할 목적으로 조사 보고된 것으로서 임금실태에 관한 일반적인 자료에 불과하여 이를 원고의 평균임금을 정함에 있어서 참고 내지 보충의 자료로 감안함은 모르되 바로 원고의 평균임금산정의 기준으로 삼을 수는 없는 것이며, 만일 이를 긍정한다면 근로기준법 제5조 내지 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제2항 단서의 노동부장관의 정함 내지 고시를 결과적으로 위 직종별임금실태조사보고서로 갈음하는 셈이 되는바, 이는 위 조사보고서의 목적에 비추어 옳다고 볼 수 없는 것이다.

따라서 원심으로서는 근로기준법 및 같은법시행령의 규정에 정하여진 방법이 아니라 할지라도 원고의 통상의 생활임금을 산정할 수 있는 방법이 있는지의 여부 및 그와 같은 방법이 없을 때에는 원고가 작업하던 공사현장을 중심으로 한 일대에서 원고와 같은 종류의 작업에 종사하고 있는 상용근로자의 평균임금액에 관하여 심리하여 원고의 평균임금액을 결정하고 이에 기하여 피고의 처분이 적법한 것인지의 여부를 판단하였어야 할 것임에도 불구하고 이에 이르지 아니하고 노동부에서 발행한 직종별 임금실태조사보고서의 임금수준을 기준으로 원고의 평균임금을 산정하여야 하는 것으로 본 것은 평균임금에 관한 법리오해 내지 심리미진의 위법이 있다고 하지 않을 수 없고 이를 지적하는 논지는 이유있다.

이에 원판결을 파기하여 다시 심리판단하게 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하기로 관여법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 윤영철(재판장) 박우동 배석 김상원

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2016누61985 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정불승인처분취소등
#2
2012두20717 · 대법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정신청및보험급여청구서부지급처분취소
#3
2011누36755 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정신청및보험급여청구서부지급처분취소
#4
2012두19885 · 대법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Correction of Average Wage
#5
2012두18721 · 대법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정신청및보험급여청구서부지급처분취소

Cases citing this decision

98다49357 · 대법원 1999-11-12
Wages (Average Wage Calculation During Unpaid Leave)
97다5015 · 대법원 1999-05-12
Severance Pay (퇴직금) Calculation Case
97누14798 · 대법원 1997-11-28
평균임금결정처분취소
96구242 · 부산고법 1996-07-04
평균임금등에관한처분취소
94다8631 · 대법원 1995-02-28
Severance Pay (퇴직금) Case

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)