Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 95다2227

Wages (임금) Case임금

Decided1996. 05. 10. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (partial win for employer on the diligence allowance issue, partial win for employees on other allowances)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

Employees of a medical insurance association (의료보험조합) filed a claim seeking to have various allowances included in the calculation of their ordinary wages (통상임금). The Supreme Court held that the Medical Insurance Act does not exclude the application of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), and that meal allowances, transportation allowances, physical fitness allowances, and long-service allowances all qualify as ordinary wages, whereas the diligence allowance (정근수당) does not, since it is paid based on actual work performance rather than as a fixed, regular payment. Because the lower court had erroneously included the diligence allowance in calculating the hourly wage, the Supreme Court reversed and remanded the case.

Key takeaways
  • CaseEmployees of a medical insurance association demanded that meal allowances, transportation allowances, diligence allowances, and other benefits be included in their ordinary wage calculation.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that meal and transportation allowances qualify as ordinary wages, but the diligence allowance—which varies based on work performance—does not.
  • LessonOnly wages paid regularly and as a fixed amount qualify as ordinary wages (통상임금); allowances that fluctuate based on performance or evaluation are excluded.
Issues
  • Whether the Medical Insurance Act, as a special law, excludes the application of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) to medical insurance association employees
  • Whether various allowances (meal allowance, transportation allowance, physical fitness allowance, long-service allowance, and diligence allowance) qualify as ordinary wages (통상임금)
Key reasoning

Ordinary wages (통상임금) must be fixed payments made regularly and uniformly to all employees, regardless of individual performance. An allowance whose payment amount or eligibility depends on actual work performance does not meet this requirement, as it lacks the necessary fixed and predictable character. The diligence allowance in this case was paid conditionally based on continuous service over a certain period and varied according to the employee's actual performance record, meaning it was not a fixed wage. Therefore, unlike the meal, transportation, fitness, and long-service allowances—which were paid uniformly and regularly—the diligence allowance could not be classified as part of ordinary wages. The lower court's inclusion of this variable allowance in the ordinary wage calculation was thus deemed a legal error.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The Medical Insurance Act (의료보험법) contains no provision excluding the application of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), and since it differs from the Labor Standards Act in its legislative purpose and the matters it regulates, it cannot be regarded as a special law in relation to the Labor Standards Act. Moreover, none of its individual provisions establishes special rules, as against the Labor Standards Act, concerning the wages, working hours, or other working conditions of employees belonging to medical insurance associations. Nor can Article 25 of the Medical Insurance Act, which provides that "matters necessary concerning the organization and administration of an association, and the dissolution, merger, etc. of an association shall be determined by Presidential Decree," be regarded as prescribing special rules, as against the Labor Standards Act, in relation to the working conditions of employees belonging to a medical insurance association. Therefore, even if the Regional Medical Insurance Association Operating Regulations (지역의료보험조합운영규정) were enacted in the manner alleged in the argument, it cannot be said that the application of the Labor Standards Act, which governs the labor relationship between a medical insurance association and its employees, is excluded by virtue of such Operating Regulations.

[2] The meal allowance and transportation allowance were paid to all employees in fixed amounts each month, and the physical fitness allowance was paid to all employees at 50% or 100% of the monthly basic salary at fixed times; all of these are monies agreed to be paid in return for prescribed work or total work, and since they are fixed wages paid regularly and uniformly, they fall within ordinary wages. The long-service allowance, likewise, was not paid gratuitously irrespective of the quantity or quality of work, but was paid in a fixed monthly amount to those who had reached a certain number of years of service, regardless of their actual work performance, and since it is a fixed wage paid regularly and uniformly, it also falls within ordinary wages. However, since the diligence allowance stipulates "continuous service for a certain period" as one of its conditions for payment, whether the diligence allowance is paid or not ultimately depends on actual work performance, and it therefore cannot be regarded as a fixed wage; accordingly, it was held that the diligence allowance does not fall within ordinary wages.

Full text (English, AI translation) 10,487 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee]

[Defendant, Appellant] Geumjeong-gu, Busan Metropolitan City Medical Insurance Cooperative (Attorney Cho Hyun-rae, Counsel for the Defendant)
[Judgment Below] Busan District Court Decision 94Na2586 rendered on November 25, 1994

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Panel Division of the Busan District Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.
1. As to Ground No. 1
The Medical Insurance Act (의료보험법) does not contain any provision excluding the application of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), and since its legislative purpose and matters regulated differ from those of the Labor Standards Act, it cannot be regarded as a special law (특별법) in relation to the Labor Standards Act. Moreover, none of its individual provisions establishes special rules, as against the Labor Standards Act, concerning working conditions such as wages and working hours of employees belonging to a medical insurance cooperative. Article 25 of the Medical Insurance Act, which provides that "matters necessary concerning the organization and management and operation of a cooperative, and the dissolution, merger, etc. of a cooperative, shall be prescribed by Presidential Decree," is also difficult to construe as establishing special rules, as against the Labor Standards Act, in relation to the working conditions of employees belonging to a medical insurance cooperative. Therefore, even if the Defendant Cooperative's Regional Medical Insurance Cooperative Operation Regulations (지역의료보험조합운영규정; hereinafter "Operation Regulations") were enacted in the manner argued by the Defendant, it cannot be said that the application of the Labor Standards Act, which governs the labor relationship between a medical insurance cooperative and its employees, is excluded by the Operation Regulations.
The argument based on a different view is without merit.
2. As to Ground No. 2
The diligence allowance (정근수당) prescribed under the Defendant Cooperative's Operation Regulations is paid to all persons who satisfy the payment conditions under Article 106(1) of the Operation Regulations, regardless of whether the employee used annual or monthly leave. Furthermore, in light of the fact that Article 106(2) of the same provision stipulates that the diligence allowance shall be paid at a reduced amount, in accordance with the method prescribed therein, to those who have received a disciplinary sanction of suspension of pay or higher, or a suspension-from-position disposition, the purpose, nature, and payment requirements of the diligence allowance under the Operation Regulations are entirely different from those of the annual/monthly leave work allowance under the Labor Standards Act. Accordingly, if an employee acquired the right to annual or monthly leave under the Labor Standards Act but continued to work without using such leave within the statutory period, the Defendant Cooperative must pay the annual/monthly leave work allowance under the Labor Standards Act regardless of whether the employee received the diligence allowance under the Operation Regulations (see this Court's Decisions 94Da18553 rendered June 29, 1995; 94Da54559 rendered June 30, 1995; 94Da19501 rendered February 9, 1996, etc.).
Accordingly, the court below's determination—that Article 106(3) of the Operation Regulations (deleted by the amendment of April 19, 1990), which provided that "the annual/monthly leave allowance to be paid pursuant to Articles 47 and 48 of the Labor Standards Act shall be replaced by this allowance (diligence allowance)," is invalid, and that the Defendant is obligated to pay the Plaintiffs the annual/monthly leave allowance (which appears to mean the annual/monthly leave work allowance) under the Labor Standards Act, calculated on the basis of ordinary wages, irrespective of the payment of the diligence allowance under the Operation Regulations—is justified.
The argument disputing this point is also without merit.
3. As to Ground No. 3
Article 31(1) of the Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법시행령) defines the ordinary wage (통상임금) under the Labor Standards Act as "the hourly wage amount, daily wage amount, weekly wage amount, monthly wage amount, or piece-rate amount fixed to be paid regularly and uniformly to an employee for prescribed work or total work." Accordingly, in principle, any money or valuables paid to an employee as consideration for prescribed work or total work, which are paid regularly and uniformly, all constitute wages belonging to ordinary wages. Therefore, even wages paid to an employee at intervals exceeding one month may be included in ordinary wages if they are paid regularly and uniformly, and even wages that are not paid directly or proportionally in correspondence to work performed during prescribed working hours cannot be said not to constitute wages paid for prescribed work or total work merely for that reason, and thus cannot be excluded from ordinary wages solely on that ground. However, in light of the legislative purpose of the Labor Standards Act, which guarantees a minimum floor for average wages (평균임금) and recognizes ordinary wages as the basis for calculating premium wages such as overtime, night, and holiday work allowances, and dismissal notice allowances, as well as the function and necessity of ordinary wages, for any wage to constitute an ordinary wage, it must belong to a fixed wage paid regularly and uniformly; accordingly, wages whose payment or amount varies depending on actual work performance cannot be regarded as such a fixed wage and therefore do not constitute ordinary wages (see the above Decision 94Da19501).
Turning to the present case, according to the record, the meal allowance and transportation allowance referred to in the judgment below were paid in a fixed amount every month, and the physical fitness allowance was paid at a certain time at 50% or 100% of the monthly basic salary, to all employees including the Plaintiffs; all of these are money or valuables agreed to be paid for prescribed work or total work, and are fixed wages paid regularly and uniformly, and therefore belong to ordinary wages. The long-service allowance referred to in the judgment below is also not paid gratuitously irrespective of the quantity or quality of work, but is paid in a fixed monthly amount to those who have reached a certain number of years of service, regardless of actual work performance, and is thus a fixed wage paid regularly and uniformly, and therefore belongs to ordinary wages.
However, the diligence allowance referred to in the judgment below, according to the Operation Regulations, prescribes "continuous work for a certain period" as one of its payment conditions, such that whether the diligence allowance is paid ultimately depends on actual work performance; therefore, it cannot be regarded as a fixed wage and cannot be said to belong to ordinary wages.
Accordingly, the court below's determination, which regarded the diligence allowance as constituting ordinary wages and calculated the Plaintiffs' hourly ordinary wages on that basis, committed an error in the legal doctrine on ordinary wages, and this error clearly affected the judgment; therefore, the argument pointing out this error has merit.
4. As to Ground No. 4
Generally, wages must be paid directly and in full to employees, and therefore, in principle, an employer may not set off a claim it holds against an employee against the employee's wage claim. However, where legally mandated allowances or other wages have been overpaid due to a calculation error or the like, and the timing of the exercise of the set-off is reasonably closely connected to the time of overpayment to the extent that it does not lose the substantive character of wage adjustment/settlement, and the amount and method are pre-announced such that there is no risk of harming the economic stability of the employee's livelihood, or where an employee, after retirement, claims wages or retirement allowance that went unpaid during their employment, the employer may set off the claim for return of the overpaid wages as an automatic claim (자동채권) (see this Court's Decisions 93Da28737 rendered October 12, 1993; 93Da38529 rendered December 28, 1993, etc.); accordingly, overpaid wages may be deducted from unpaid wages.
Therefore, in light of the foregoing legal principle, even where an employee claims unpaid legally mandated allowances for a certain period, it is also permissible to set off such claim against, or deduct from, the unpaid legally mandated allowance on the ground that there was an overpayment of other legally mandated allowances during the same period (see the above Decisions 94Da18553 and 94Da54559, and this Court's En Banc Decision 94Da26721 rendered December 21, 1995, etc.). Furthermore, if the provisions of the rules of employment (취업규칙), etc., concerning the method of calculating legally mandated allowances fall short of the minimum standard for wage payment conditions prescribed by the Labor Standards Act and are therefore invalid, the amount calculated and paid according to the calculation method under such rules of employment, etc. cannot exceed the amount of the legally mandated allowance properly calculated under the Labor Standards Act; therefore, if the amount of legally mandated allowance, etc. paid by the employer pursuant to such rules of employment, etc. exceeds the proper amount of the legally mandated allowance prescribed by the Labor Standards Act, the excess portion shall be regarded as having been erroneously paid.
Nevertheless, the court below, holding that where the overtime work allowance and holiday work allowance already received by the Plaintiffs exceed the proper amount calculated according to the standards under the Labor Standards Act, there is no amount to be received for the relevant month, failed to deduct the overpaid portion of such allowances from the unpaid legally mandated allowance amount, etc. The court below thereby misapprehended the legal doctrine concerning the deduction of overpaid wages.
The argument disputing this point also has merit.
5. Accordingly, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination, by the unanimous opinion of the Justices participating, as set forth in the Order.

Justice Cheon Gyeong-song (Presiding Justice), An Yong-deuk, Ji Chang-gwon (Justice in charge), Shin Seong-taek

【판결요지】

[1] 의료보험법은 근로기준법의 적용을 배제하는 규정을 두고 있지 아니하고 근로기준법과는 그 입법목적, 규정사항 등을 달리하여 근로기준법의 특별법이라고 볼 수 없을 뿐만 아니라 그 개별조항에 있어서도 의료보험조합 소속 직원의 임금, 근로시간 등 근로조건에 관하여 근로기준법에 대한 특칙을 규정하고 있지도 아니하며, "조합의 조직과 그 관리운영 기타 조합의 해산·합병 등에 관하여 필요한 사항은 대통령령으로 정한다."고 규정한 의료보험법 제25조를 의료보험조합 소속 직원의 근로조건과 관련하여 근로기준법에 대한 특칙을 규정한 것이라 보기도 어려우므로, 지역의료보험조합운영규정이 소론과 같은 경위로 제정되었다 하더라도 그 운영규정에 의하여 의료보험조합과 그 소속 직원들 사이의 근로관계를 규율하는 근로기준법의 적용이 배제된다고 할 수 없다.

[2] 식대, 교통비는 매월 일정액을, 체력단련비는 일정시기에 월 기본급의 50% 또는 100%를 전직원에게 지급하여 온 것으로서 모두 소정 근로 또는 총 근로에 대하여 지급하기로 한 금품이고 또한 정기적, 일률적으로 지급되는 고정적인 임금이므로 통상임금에 속하고, 장기근속수당도 근로의 양 또는 질에 무관하게 은혜적으로 지급되는 것이 아니라 일정 근속연수에 달한 자에게 실제의 근무성적과는 상관없이 매월 일정액을 지급하여 온 것이고 정기적, 일률적으로 지급되는 고정적인 임금이므로 통상임금에 속하나, 다만 정근수당은 '일정기간의 계속근로'를 그 지급조건의 하나로 규정하고 있어 정근수당의 지급 여부는 결국 실제의 근무성적에 따라 좌우되게 되어 그것이 고정적인 임금이라고 할 수 없으므로 통상임금에 속한다고 할 수 없다고 한 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 근로기준법 제10조, 의료보험법 제25조

[2] 근로기준법 제19조 제2항, 근로기준법시행령 제31조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1990. 3. 13. 선고 89다카24780 판결(공1990, 882), 대법원 1992. 11. 27. 선고 92다32357 판결(공1996상, 259), 대법원 1994. 8. 23. 선고 94다7553 판결(공1994하, 2503) /[2] 대법원 1993. 5. 27. 선고 92다20316 판결(공1993하, 1861), 대법원 1994. 10. 28. 선고 94다26615 판결(공1994하, 3119), 대법원 1996. 2. 9. 선고 94다19501 판결(공1996상, 857), 대법원 1996. 3. 22. 선고 95다56767 판결(공1996상, 1358), 대법원 1996. 5. 14. 선고 95다19256 판결(공1996하, 1837)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 4,145자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,피상고인】

【피고,상고인】 부산광역시 금정구 의료보험조합 (소송대리인 변호사 조현래)

【원심판결】 부산지법 1994. 11. 25. 선고 94나2586 판결

【주문】

원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 부산지방법원 합의부에 환송한다.

【이유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 제1점에 대하여

의료보험법은 근로기준법의 적용을 배제하는 규정을 두고 있지 아니하고 근로기준법과는 그 입법목적, 규정사항 등을 달리하여 근로기준법의 특별법이라고 볼 수 없을 뿐만 아니라 그 개별조항에 있어서도 의료보험조합 소속 직원의 임금, 근로시간 등 근로조건에 관하여 근로기준법에 대한 특칙을 규정하고 있지도 아니하며, "조합의 조직과 그 관리운영 기타 조합의 해산·합병 등에 관하여 필요한 사항은 대통령령으로 정한다."고 규정한 의료보험법 제25조를 의료보험조합 소속 직원의 근로조건과 관련하여 근로기준법에 대한 특칙을 규정한 것이라 보기도 어려우므로, 설사 피고 조합의 지역의료보험조합운영규정(이하 운영규정이라 한다)이 소론과 같은 경위로 제정되었다 하더라도 위 운영규정에 의하여 의료보험조합과 그 소속 직원들 사이의 근로관계를 규율하는 근로기준법의 적용이 배제된다고 할 수 없다.

이와 다른 견해에 선 논지는 이유가 없다.

2. 제2점에 대하여

피고 조합의 운영규정 소정의 정근수당은 근로자가 연·월차휴가를 사용하였는지 여부에 상관없이 운영규정 제106조 제1항의 지급조건을 갖춘 자 모두에게 지급되는 것이고, 또한 같은 조 제2항에서 감봉 이상의 징계처분을 받은 자나 직위해제처분을 받은 자에 대하여는 그 규정의 방식에 따라 정근수당을 감액지급하는 규정을 두고 있는 점에 비추어 위 운영규정 소정의 정근수당은 그 지급목적이나 성격, 그 지급요건이 근로기준법상의 연·월차휴가근로수당과는 전혀 상이한 것이고 따라서 근로자가 근로기준법 소정의 연·월차휴가권을 취득하였음에도 법정기간 내에 이를 사용하지 아니한 채 계속 근로를 하였다면 위 운영규정 소정의 정근수당을 지급받았는지 여부에 상관없이 피고 조합은 근로기준법에 따른 연·월차휴가 근로수당을 지급하여야 할 것이다( 당원 1995. 6. 29. 선고 94다18553 판결, 1995. 6. 30. 선고 94다54559 판결, 1996. 2. 9. 선고 94다19501 판결 등 참조).

그렇다면 원심이 "근로기준법 제47조 및 제48조의 규정에 의하여 지급하게 되어 있는 연·월차휴가수당은 본수당(정근수당)으로 갈음한다."고 규정하고 있는 운영규정 제106조 제3항(1990. 4. 19. 개정으로 삭제)의 규정은 그 효력이 없다고 하여 피고로서는 원고들에게 위 운영규정 소정의 정근수당의 지급과는 관계없이 통상임금을 기준으로 한 근로기준법에 따른 연·월차휴가수당(이는 연·월차휴가 근로수당을 의미하는 것으로 보인다)을 지급하여야 한다고 판단한 것은 정당하다 할 것이다.

이를 다투는 논지도 이유가 없다.

3. 제3점에 대하여

근로기준법시행령 제31조 제1항은 근로기준법 소정의 통상임금을 "근로자에게 정기적, 일률적으로 소정 근로 또는 총 근로에 대하여 지급하기로 정하여진 시간급금액, 일급금액, 주급금액, 월급금액 또는 도급금액을 말한다."고 규정하고 있는 바이므로 원칙적으로 근로자에게 소정 근로 또는 총 근로의 대상(對償)으로 지급되는 금품으로서 그것이 정기적, 일률적으로 지급되는 것은 모두 통상임금에 속하는 임금이라고 할 것이다. 따라서 근로자에 대한 임금이 1개월을 초과하는 기간마다 지급되는 것이라도 그것이 정기적, 일률적으로 지급되는 것이면 통상임금에 포함될 수 있는 것이고, 소정 근로시간의 근로에 직접적으로 또는 비례적으로 대응하여 지급되는 임금이 아니라 하더라도 그것이 소정 근로 또는 총 근로에 대하여 지급되는 임금이 아니라고 할 수 없으므로 그런 사유만으로 그 임금을 통상임금에서 제외할 수는 없다 할 것이다. 다만 근로기준법이 평균임금의 최저한을 보장하고 시간외, 야간, 휴일근로수당과 같은 할증임금, 해고예고수당 등을 산정하는 기준이 되는 통상임금을 인정하고 있는 입법취지와 통상임금의 기능 및 필요성에 비추어 볼 때 어떤 임금이 통상임금에 해당하려면 그것이 정기적, 일률적으로 지급되는 고정적인 임금에 속하여야 하므로 실제 근무성적에 따라 지급 여부 및 지급액이 달라지는 임금은 이와 같은 고정적인 임금이라 할 수 없어 통상임금에 해당하지 아니한다 할 것이다(위 94다19501 판결 참조).

이 사건의 경우를 돌이켜 보건대 기록에 의하면 원심 판시의 식대, 교통비는 매월 일정액을, 체력단련비는 일정시기에 월 기본급의 50% 또는 100%를 원고들을 포함한 전직원에게 지급하여 온 것으로서 모두 소정 근로 또는 총 근로에 대하여 지급하기로 한 금품이고 또한 정기적, 일률적으로 지급되는 고정적인 임금이라 할 것이므로 통상임금에 속한다고 할 것이고, 원심 판시의 장기근속수당도 근로의 양 또는 질에 무관하게 은혜적으로 지급되는 것이 아니라 일정 근속연수에 달한 자에게 실제의 근무성적과는 상관없이 매월 일정액을 지급하여 온 것이고 정기적, 일률적으로 지급되는 고정적인 임금이라 할 것이므로 통상임금에 속한다고 할 것이다.

다만 원심 판시의 정근수당은 위 운영규정에 의하면 '일정기간의 계속근로'를 그 지급조건의 하나로 규정하고 있어 정근수당의 지급 여부는 결국 실제의 근무성적에 따라 좌우되게 되어 그것이 고정적인 임금이라고 할 수 없으므로 통상임금에 속한다고 할 수 없다.

그러므로 원심이 정근수당을 통상임금에 해당하는 것으로 보아 이를 토대로 원고들의 시간급 통상임금을 산정한 것은 통상임금의 법리를 그르친 위법을 범하였다 할 것이고 이는 판결에 영향을 미쳤음이 분명하므로 이 점을 지적하는 논지는 이유가 있다.

4. 제4점에 대하여

일반적으로 임금은 직접 근로자에게 전액을 지급하여야 하므로 사용자가 근로자에 대하여 가지는 채권으로서 근로자의 임금채권과 상계를 하지 못하는 것이 원칙이나 계산의 착오 등으로 법정수당 등의 임금이 초과지급되었을 때 그 행사의 시기가 초과 지급된 시기와 임금의 정산·조정의 실질을 잃지 않을 만큼 합리적으로 밀접되어 있고 금액과 방법이 미리 예고되는 등 근로자의 경제생활의 안정을 해할 염려가 없는 경우나 근로자가 퇴직한 후에 그 재직 중 지급되지 아니한 임금이나 퇴직금을 청구하는 경우에는 초과지급된 임금의 반환청구권을 자동채권으로 하여 상계할 수 있다 할 것이므로( 당원 1993. 10. 12. 선고 93다28737 판결, 1993. 12. 28. 선고 93다38529 판결 등 참조), 초과 지급된 임금을 미지급 임금에서 공제할 수 있다 할 것이다.

따라서 위 법리에 비추어 근로자가 일정 기간 동안의 미지급 법정수당을 청구하는 경우에도 같은 기간 동안 다른 법정수당의 초과지급 부분이 있음을 이유로 미지급 법정수당과 상계하거나 미지급 법정수당에서 초과지급 부분을 공제하는 것도 허용된다 할 것이고( 위 94다18553 판결, 위 94다54559 판결 및 당원 1995. 12. 21. 선고 94다26721 전원합의체 판결 등 참조), 그리고 법정수당의 산정방법에 관한 취업규칙 등의 규정이 근로기준법에 정한 임금의 지급조건에 관한 최하한에 미달하여 무효라면 그 취업규칙 등의 산정방법에 따라 계산하여 지급한 금액이 근로기준법에 따라 정당하게 산정한 법정수당액을 초과할 수는 없는 터이므로 사용자가 그 취업규칙 등에 따라 지급한 법정수당액 등이 근로기준법 소정의 정당한 법정수당액을 초과한다면 그 초과 부분은 잘못 지급된 것이라 할 것이다.

그럼에도 불구하고 원심은 원고들이 이미 수령한 시간외 근무수당 및 휴일근무수당이 근로기준법상의 기준에 의하여 산출된 정당한 금액보다 많은 경우 당월에 지급받아야 할 금원이 없는 것으로 된다고 하여 미지급 법정수당액 등에서 위 초과지급된 수당 부분을 공제하지 아니하였는바, 원심은 결국 초과지급된 임금의 공제에 관한 법리를 오해하였다 할 것이다.

이를 다투는 논지도 이유가 있다.

5. 그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 다시 심리·판단케 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 천경송(재판장) 안용득 지창권(주심) 신성택

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
90다카14758 · 대법원 1991-06-28
Wages (임금) Case
#2
2018다296472 · 대법원 2025-01-23
Wages (Ordinary Wage Dispute)
#3
95다56767 · 대법원 1996-03-22
Wages
#4
2008가합10118 · 수원지방법원 성남지원 2009-07-10
Wages, etc.
#5
2020다247190 · 대법원 2024-12-19
Wages [Case concerning whether regular bonuses conditioned o

Cases citing this decision

99다10806 · 대법원 2000-12-22
Severance Pay Dispute (퇴직금)
97다28421 · 대법원 1998-04-24
Allowances, etc.
97다18936 · 대법원 1998-01-20
Severance Pay (퇴직금) Case
96다38995 · 대법원 1997-07-22
Wages (Case No. 96Da38995)
95다24074 · 대법원 1996-06-28
연월차수당지급

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)